We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, quiet, and friendly+++”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Clean, comfortable, quiet, great prices, big safe parking lot, and friendly staff!!! Very close to restaurant, beaches, and shops. Priscilla gave us discount cards to some of the local restaurants, all of her recommendations were great. we were very happy!!! Will stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priscilla K, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and your referrals.

We also have car show here in Morro Bay. It is on the first weekend of May. The website is morrobaycarshow.org. The event is called Cruiisin'Morro Bay Car Show

Hope to see you again. Bye.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

256 - 262 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed overnight en route to San Francisco. Room was delightful! Clean and bright, spacious and comfortable. Had it's own refrigerator and microwave, plus coffee-making facilities. Bed was extremely comfortable. Only a few minutes walk to all the restaurants on the waterfront.
We only stayed one night, but would come again, and can thoroughly recommend The Galley Restaurant. For a Motel, The Sandpiper is above average, with a lot of charming extra touches, and the rate was very reasonable indeed. We recommend it highly.

Room Tip: We presented our AAA card to obtain a discount, but was offered a "view room" upstairs, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvieCostaMesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priscilla K, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Thank you for your stay and also thank you for your prompt review. We are truly appreciative!

So sorry , it took me awhile to respond. Just so many things going on. One minor thing is we replaced the remote in your room. Too bad it wasn't sooner.

We hope you will come back again. Bye.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

My boyfriend and I decided on very short notice to go to the coast before I had to return to school. I searched hotels thru kayak and didn't really like the reviews in the price range I had in mind. So I googled hotels in Morro Bay. I saw the sandpiper and liked the pics and decided to take a chance. What a great place. It is at the south end of main so it's quiet, had a beautiful view from upstairs room with a nice very comfy king size bed. The staff is exceptional, friendly, helpful in every way. I will be going back in a month and won't stay anywhere else. Owner gave us coupons for dining, the place was extremely clean and warm and welcoming. They are also pet friendly. The room was very cute and well decorated, the grounds have beautiful plants. Well worth the reasonable price.

Room Tip: upstairs on north end...great view of the rock and bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drb5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priscilla K, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Your review is AWESOME! Thank you., thank you!!!

Please do stay longer next time.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed at the Sandpiper last year on a return trip from Seattle and loved it so much that we scheduled 3 nights this year and opted for a forth on a whim. Rooms are clean and well decorated with a spacious restroom area, large enough for my small griddle. The owner is a doll, gave us all sorts of coupons for local food and events. The Sandpiper is within walking distance to cute little shops on Main street as well as the Embarcadero and has a fantastic view of Morro Rock.... A definate must stay.... We'll be back next year!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AzevedoFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priscilla K, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Hello!!

I am finally responding to your wonderful review!!!
Maria & I deeply appreciate your review.

I cannot respond to your facebook yet. I don't know how. Maybe next year.

Again, many thanks!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This little motel in Morro Bay does everything right. It offers a great view of the ocean and Morro Rock, perfect little outside tables and chairs for a snack or glass of wine. The room was immaculate with a lovely tile bathroom, perfectly comfortable bed, understated artistic touches, a desk, and a nice little table. All the amenities were provided including a microwave, hair dryer, nice refrigerator, coffee maker, and free WIFI. The owner-manager was lovely woman who knows the area well and happily shares her knowledge. I give it the highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priscilla K, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

I apologize for being so late in responding to your review.

Please do know that your review is very, very important to us and to all the readers.

We can not thank you enough!

See you soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Very basic motel at a very reasonable price. Great place to stay if you're just looking for a clean room in which to sleep without a lot of extras. We spent 2 nights there recently and were very happy with our stay. The manager (Priscilla) gave us excellent advice on things to do in the area. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guestAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priscilla K, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Thank you so much for your review, Senior contributor, WOW!

Your review make us a happy, happy inn operators.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Let me start by saying that if you want Holiday Inn and the treatment there, then don't come to the Sandpiper (Formerly the Rodeway Inn). It is a nice hotel, older but well maintained. The lady who greeted us I think is the owner and was a gem of a sweetheart. We got an upstairs room which was quite small, but we were only staying one night, so no big deal. The room was clean and the bed comfy. The continental breakfast is in a very small room-believe me you cannot fit 3 people in there! and it was just danishes, apples, oranges, bananas, and muffins. We walked everywhere so walked down to Frankie's and Lola's for breakfast.

The only complaint I have is the towels. They are big and thick, but scratchy as all get out--they definitely need fabric softener! Will I go back-YES. The price was worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priscilla K, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Thank you for giving us a GREAT VALUE review , two in a row. AWESOME!! AWESOME!!

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
866 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
#26 of 29 in Morro Bay
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
707 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#13 of 29 in Morro Bay
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn

Address: 540 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#17 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: £45 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn is centrally located in a quiet downtown area. Less than a mile from the Museum of Natural History, which is located in Morro Bay State Park. This Morro Bay, CA hotel is 30-40 minutes from Hearst Castle and 15 minutes from California Polytechnic State University. The San Luis Obispo County Regional Airport is 12 miles away. There is never a shortage of things to do in Morro Bay. Visitors will enjoy browsing boutiques and shops, or playing golf at the Morro Bay State Park on a world-champion course. Discover a coastline of clean dunes, or paddle down a silent estuary and spy on beautiful and rare birds. The beach, fishing and kayaking are within two blocks of the hotel. The Morro Bay Sandpiper is a clean and affordable property. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. Special discounts are available for nearby restaurants and complimentary tickets to the Morro Bay Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Morro Bay
Econo Lodge Morro Bay
Morro Bay Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing