We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Fresno, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Clean rooms and good location”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We got this room last minute when our plans changed all of a sudden. We got a really good price. The rooms were clean with a microwave and refrigerator in them. The room was pretty spacious. The property was quiet. Location was good and within walking distance to the restaurants and water. We were pleasantly surprised and would definitely go back for another stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lzzc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    163
    93
    26
    13
See reviews for
102
184
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mojave, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I was greeted with a smile (By the manager and his son). The father introduced he and his son to me... The room was comfortable and clean. I went there to relax and refresh my attitude...My stay was enjoyable and relaxing. I've stayed here many times because this is a quality establishment. It is close to the stores, shops, and restaurants in town and on the embarcadero. The continental breakfast is always convenient and all staff members are always nice and polite.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone...

Room Tip: I've stayed in many of the rooms....Enjoyed them all....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Excellent choice for the tourist or traveler on a budget or not. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room clean and comfortable. Free wi-fi. Quiet location but only 2 blocks from the main walking street. Loved hearing the sound of Sea Lions and no vehicles. We use lodging for sleep and shower only. This was perfect. Recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Older construction so soundproofing not up to snuff. Enjoyed walking downtown and was pet friendly. Close to embarcadero and waterfront. Rooms were clean and taken care of. Staff was very friendly and sincerely interested in our stay. Continental breakfast was a little thin on choices but the coffee was good.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crestline, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were here in October 2013. It is a short walk to the Embarcadero Street, shops and Main Street. The room had a king size bed and a great view of Morro Rock. The walls were a little thin, we could hear our neighbors sometimes. Continental breakfast very basic. Muffin, coffee, tea and cereal. Bed was comfortable and a clean room.

Room Tip: This hotel is the furthest from Main Street....4 blocks. The other hotels cost more, but this was s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GR8_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I are looking for a place to stay next weekend and found this site on Yelp. Decided to go online and check out their website. Found a room that shows for the exact date we are arriving with the amount of $59.99 for a Queen bed. It showed "contact us" to book it. So, when my husband and I called to book the room, we were told that the rate is actually $129. We told him that their website is showing a different rate. He argued that we were probably looking at the wrong date when my husband specifically told him it's for "next Saturday". He insisted that the rate was $129 and that he had not had the chance to change it yet. So, when we told him that they were falsely advertising their rate, he said, they weren't and that he just "hasn't changed that rate online". This is one of the worst phone service we have experienced! If a staff/owner cannot be trusted, how can you trust the hotel itself?! Will never stay here & we will definitely tell all our friends who visit Morro Bay to avoid this place as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank r_car19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Good location, but not so good stay. Couldn't sleep because the walls are very thin and we could hear the upstairs guests moving around and people talking all night. The bathroom grout and caulk wasn't very clean either and the room smelled funny.

Room Tip: Not worth the money at all. Was disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
486 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
681 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn

Property: Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn
Address: 540 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#17 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn is centrally located in a quiet downtown area. Less than a mile from the Museum of Natural History, which is located in Morro Bay State Park. This Morro Bay, CA hotel is 30-40 minutes from Hearst Castle and 15 minutes from California Polytechnic State University. The San Luis Obispo County Regional Airport is 12 miles away. There is never a shortage of things to do in Morro Bay. Visitors will enjoy browsing boutiques and shops, or playing golf at the Morro Bay State Park on a world-champion course. Discover a coastline of clean dunes, or paddle down a silent estuary and spy on beautiful and rare birds. The beach, fishing and kayaking are within two blocks of the hotel. Free Continental breakfast. The Morro Bay Sandpiper is a clean and affordable property. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. Special discounts are available for nearby restaurants and complimentary tickets to the Morro Bay Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Morro Bay
Econo Lodge Morro Bay
Morro Bay Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing