We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming & Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
CLERMONT
Level Contributor
168 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Charming & Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We had downstairs #6. Clean inside and out. The parking area and office are immaculate. Our room was new & clean. Tasteful and sweetly decorated. The pictures on other reviews are accurate. Comfortable bed & pillows, as was all bedding & linens. All in room amenities frig, microwave, soap/shampoo. Lovely fluffy towels. Flat screen TV.
Delightful sweet owners.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzannet938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    159
    87
    24
    12
See reviews for
100
176
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

What a delightful motel. Very clean. Very friendly staff. Excellent location. Quiet. Room 22 has a view!!! Rooms were relatively up-to-date w/ decor and were well-maintained. During the week, they have very good prices. We did not partake of the breakfast so have no comments. In-room coffee, cable TV, and a VERY good mattress. We'd definitely come back here!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 22 - has an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyp33020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

A real typical little American motel. Nice and clean nice and quiet, little fella in reception very pleasant and nice indeed. Possibly the most basic breakfast I have seen to date, two types of cereals and two types of muffins all oddly cut in half...........but the coffee was good.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nazareth9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Because I had spent so much $ at Vegas during the first part of my Christmas holiday break, with a few days of vacation time left, I was looking for a budget trip. I found it with the Sandpiper Inn. The discount was amazing! I booked the inn through Priceline and in total, spent about $45 per night, taxes & fees included! I had no expectations of the place because of the deal I received and the mixed reviews I'd read, but I was more than pleasantly surprised. My 1-queen bed room was clean, roomy, and had a nice big flat screen TV. It also had a coffee maker, a mini fridge, and a microwave, which were the exact amenities I needed. The icing on the lovely cake was the inn staff. The inn is run by a wonderful family. They will make you feel warm and welcome. And best of all, they prepare a continental breakfast for the guests every morning. My room also had a nice wall heater to warm up the chilly winter nights. I only saw one thing that needed improvement, which was the peeling paint in one corner of the bathroom. But of all the positives I experienced at this inn, the paint issue seemed almost minute! As long as you don't hold a 4 or 5-star standard for the Sandpiper Inn, I think you will also be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Book through Priceline, the rate is cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilPebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Very nice place, personnel, owners are very warm and helpful for everything. rooms clean, room designs, decorations are good, furniture is contemporary. Location is also very nice, and calm. Breakfeast is simple but satisfactory.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ogul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

This Inn is budget, for sure. But the interior has seen some recent upgrades and it has been decorated with some thought and love. The owners were really nice checking us in. We really enjoyed the stay.

We felt safe and clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sab I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We like staying in family run motels and this is our third time at Sandpiper. The rooms are nicer than many more expensive hotels and are decorated with a cheery, colorful look. Very clean. They've landscaped beautifully with succulents and created a welcoming, homey feel to the site. Breakfast is ok, typical of American continental breakfast, not great but adequate. We will stay there again and the family is very nice and helpful. Some nice views to Moro Bay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purna333US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn

Property: Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn
Address: 540 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#17 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn is centrally located in a quiet downtown area. Less than a mile from the Museum of Natural History, which is located in Morro Bay State Park. This Morro Bay, CA hotel is 30-40 minutes from Hearst Castle and 15 minutes from California Polytechnic State University. The San Luis Obispo County Regional Airport is 12 miles away. There is never a shortage of things to do in Morro Bay. Visitors will enjoy browsing boutiques and shops, or playing golf at the Morro Bay State Park on a world-champion course. Discover a coastline of clean dunes, or paddle down a silent estuary and spy on beautiful and rare birds. The beach, fishing and kayaking are within two blocks of the hotel. Free Continental breakfast. The Morro Bay Sandpiper is a clean and affordable property. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. Special discounts are available for nearby restaurants and complimentary tickets to the Morro Bay Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Morro Bay
Econo Lodge Morro Bay
Morro Bay Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing