We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the price ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We took this one as a value deal on booking.com. It is a very basic motel however our room was freshly painted and was very clean. The pillows were very uncomfortable. We couldn't get our basin tap to run anything other than cold water. Our neighbors in adjoining rooms were very noisy. We didnt bother with breakfast which was limited in choices. Considering the price we paid it was reasonable.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank happyday59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
There are newer reviews for Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here for a one night getaway. The room was clean and attractive. There is a small refrigerator and a microwave, which was great. The mattress was comfortable and the room was well- maintained, though there was a small leak in the toilet. The customer service was top-notch and the price was quite reasonable. The rooms are small, but they get the job done. This property is a bit far from the main shopping area. I would recommend this motel for one or two night stays.

Room Tip: We were in the room furthest from the office. You might want to get a room that is closer to the of...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyLordHeuksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Only planned staying hear one night in transit and liked it so much we stayed an extra night! This place is full of American charm - a classic motel, clean, tidy, with a fabulous view of Morro Bay and Morro Rock - you can watch the sunset behind the rock from your room. Great value and a must stop off destination if you are driving Highway 1. We preferred it here to our stay in Monteray Bay.

Room Tip: Try and get a room upstairs.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbhems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a little difficult review to write. I did like this place, but there were small things I didn't like. This motel is advertised with rooms being 500 sq ft. Our room was not 500 sq ft and was on the small side of an average motel room. So this put me off a little from the beginning.
The owners are very kind and everything is adequate and 'homey'. Very clean and very comfortable beds (which is very important). Linens were nice. Bathroom was a good size. There was no air conditioning which isn't mentioned in their discription.
Good location, however, when one leaves Embarcadero Road, there is a hill to climb - so I'm not so sure about everything being within walking distance. Parking is very tight.
Other reviews mentioned that if you like it quiet, get a second floor room. Yes, do that. We were on first floor and the people walking upstairs were louder than we were. With all of this being said, I wouldn't object to staying here again, but I would look for comparable places and pricing now that I know a little bit more, before I made a final decision.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyDaizePHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

You can't beat those prices. Friendly staff, clean rooms with everything one could expect for such a cheap price. We paid more than twice as much for lesser accomodation in San Francisco. Breakfast was very simple but good and I personally prefer to have breakfast in a cafe somewhere else anyway when staying in motels. A+++ would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wobble64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

First I want to say I am a hotel snob, the first thing I always worry about is if the place will be clean my husband even as to make sure I have not packed any cleaning products in my case before we set off on holiday. So I was so worried about staying at this Motel, why did I even worry this place is super clean on our trip this time we stayed at six different hotels/motels and by far this one had the cleanses shower head, ok it's not super modern with 100% Egyptian sheets but it's clean clean clean. The owner and his son are also really friendly. Thank you Sandpiper Inn for a lovely stay! :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank den-rick71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This motel was inexpensive (for Morro Bay) and clean. The staff were friendly. The location is good for someone who does not want to be where all the action is. Everything, including tourist attractions, was within walking distance (for a moderately active adult). The walls are thin, so bring earplugs. Otherwise, a good value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
459 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn

Address: 540 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#17 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: £45 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn is centrally located in a quiet downtown area. Less than a mile from the Museum of Natural History, which is located in Morro Bay State Park. This Morro Bay, CA hotel is 30-40 minutes from Hearst Castle and 15 minutes from California Polytechnic State University. The San Luis Obispo County Regional Airport is 12 miles away. There is never a shortage of things to do in Morro Bay. Visitors will enjoy browsing boutiques and shops, or playing golf at the Morro Bay State Park on a world-champion course. Discover a coastline of clean dunes, or paddle down a silent estuary and spy on beautiful and rare birds. The beach, fishing and kayaking are within two blocks of the hotel. Free Continental breakfast. The Morro Bay Sandpiper is a clean and affordable property. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. Special discounts are available for nearby restaurants and complimentary tickets to the Morro Bay Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Morro Bay
Econo Lodge Morro Bay
Morro Bay Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing