We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent place for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent place for the money”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The property is attractive, the rooms are nice, the price is decent for what you get and the location. The continental breakfast left something to be desired, but I wasn't expecting it so it was a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    81
    55
    11
    29
See reviews for
91
81
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I use a wheelchair and the bathroom and shower was exactly what is needed, with a built in seat to transfer to. The place is kept up nicely(we stayed here before) and is very clean inside and out. The people that run the place are very
friendly. Close to everything.

Room Tip: Wheelchair accessible rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I found this hotel on Priceline, and when I called to check on the pet policy ($10 extra for my dog), the person on the phone offered to match the Priceline price ($45) and took my reservation then and there. When I arrived, a gentleman who was apparently the manager was working the desk, and he was very helpful in recommending a restaurant and providing easy-to-follow directions. My room was clean, spacious, and had up-to-date furnishing. The bed was comfortable, the area was quiet, and I got a great night's sleep. The breakfast buffet was a fairly basic cold buffet, but again, everything was clean, fresh and tasty -- I didn't go away hungry. The location is handy to the freeway without hearing the freeway traffic sounds in my room. The ground were, in my opinion, especially well landscaped, and added to the general atmosphere of a cozy, well-kept inn close to the beach, which in this case is an easy 2 block walk away. I intend to stay here on my next trip to Morro Bay and I can definitely recommend this hotel for very good quality at a great price.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the courtyard, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc_from_Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
201 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The general impression is that this hotel needs a bit of attention and the people running the hotel did not seem particularly interested in the requirements of the customer.
The room we had was fairly large but a little tired.
The inclusive breakfast was poor by any standards and easliy the worst we experienced on a 6 week trip.

Room Tip: Inspect rooms first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimbosmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Morro Bay hotels

goldenjag25
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

My family and I stayed here for a few days over Christmas when we visited family in the area. Given that it was Christmas the rates were very reasonable. We had a suite and it was more than enough room, although I would have expected 2 bathrooms instead of 1. My only real complaint was that the second room was pretty cold even with the thermostat set at the proper temperature. Overall a great value and perfect for families.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldenjag25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My family and I made a trip to Morro bay during the Presidents day holiday weekend. We came into town off hwy 41 and noticed the Morro Shores Inn. We decided to stay here after checking out the rates, which was a great deal for a busy weekend. The man at the front desk was very kind and helped us with dinner plans and what to do in the area. Our room was clean and orderly and we got a great rest after a long day out at the beach. The breakfast was a simple continental breakfast, but more then enough to get us going further down the coastline. All and all it was a great experience and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancyb559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This use to be our favorite hotel to stay in when in and around Morro Bay, but recently the hotel experience has been disappointing. Since the real owners of the hotel have left some fill-ins in charge, service has been unfriendly and horrible. They are not customer service oriented. When they are being asked for anything, it always sounds as if it is an imposition where they have been bothered. After needing to reschedule due to rainy weather in the Morro Bay area- which is not something we could have helped- every phone encounter with the person to work on rescheduling was unfriendly and cold. When unsure on dates, the person stated, "Why don't you call back after you have it figured out," which was so rude. When getting rescheduled, we did not get the room with the king size bed we initially booked and paid for and the one we got had 2 dbls with sink drainage problems. There was also some orange stuff in the freezer from improper or lack of cleaning and someone's left over ice in a bag. The counter top under the mirror was sticky and uncleaned. There were only 2 worn out towels-they definitely need to invest in some new ones. The other room option given was a handicap queen, which should have been reserved for someone who may have needed it and we did not take it for that reason. This hotel use to be a great experience, but back when the original owners were here. Now definitely not a place we would like to return even though we have always stayed here all because the new service has declined due to the front desk people in customer service positions who really don't care. They really need to be replaced. Really hope the original owners return. :(

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bil_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.7 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morro Shores Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morro Shores Inn & Suites

Property: Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Address: 290 Atascadero Rd, Morro Bay, CA 93442-1517
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Morro Shores Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Morro Shores Inn & Suites in tranquil Morro Bay, California. Located off Highway 1, we are a block away from the Pacific Ocean and just a 5-minute drive to downtown. A newly built 29 unit craftsman style motel opened in 2007, The Morro Shores Inn offers some of the best lodging on the Central Coast. The Morro Shores Inn & Suites offers guests with an astounding selection of guestrooms and suites featuring several amenities that are sure to meet your needs. Here at our Morro Bay hotel, you will enjoy a collection of comfortable, designer decorated deluxe rooms or luxury suites, all with free Wi-Fi and 40" LED HDTVs, pillow top mattresses, and balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Morro Shores Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morro Shores Inn And Suites
Morro Shores Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing