We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western El Rancho
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Morro Bay(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Masterpiece Hotel(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor House Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayfront Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$154
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Tradewinds(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundown Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$90
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Estero Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$250
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (589)
Filter reviews
589 results
Traveller rating
248
201
78
30
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
201
78
30
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmexican restaurantsingle storywafflessan simeonshort drivehearst castlethe breakfast areafront officecentral coastceiling fanview of the oceanrooms are cleanbed was comfortablechecking inconvenient locationmorro rockgreat place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
358 - 363 of 589 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This Hotel was wonderful. We were driving up the coast to San Francisco and stopped on the way up. We had never really been to Morro Bay before and wished we could have stayed there for a few days. Next mini-vacation will most likely be at this Hotel and checking out Morro Bay. It is a little off the main area, which is just fine for us. I can see this hotel being good for kids (next time we will bring ours). I love the litlle grass area, swinging bench, the flowers and cleanliness of the grounds. The rooms were on the smaller side, but I knew that going in so I wasn't surprised.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern E, Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely response. We take great pride in our outdoor area and are glad that you enjoyed visiting us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I visit the area in september and this hotel was the only one not too pricy. It was still pretty expensive, 130 a night for an hotel out of downtown. There's not much to do in Morro bay. The hotel was clean and a good size, no ac. The breakfast room was too small for an hotel this size, only six smalls tables. The internet was high speed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank domper63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern E, Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

We are thankful you took the time to review our hotel. We appreciaite all your positive feedback...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My sister and I just stayed one night at this quaint and lovely hotel but wish we would had made arrangements to stay longer!! Our room was darling and very roomy and came with a treat basket for Margie's dog!! how thoughtful :) The staff were very helpful and kind with smiles on their faces at all times..... The beds were the best I have ever laid in at a hotel etc....I've stayed at some fancy places in the past and hands down these were most comfortable!! Plenty of places for Fido to use the "potty" and this hotel even provided "mutt mittens" for you to pick up after your dog was done......we of course brought paper but it was nice to have that available :) Loved the outside swings and BBQ area to relax in and it was so quiet at night.....the small traffic we did hear helped lull us to sleep....we even slept with the windows all open, that is how safe we felt :) For an older establishment, you will not be disappointed !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ramona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern E, Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

We are so happy you found our place safe and charming.... We pride ourself on making our place a true home away from home.
Please come and visit us again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed one night in August as part of a trip from San Francisco to LA. The hotel is easy to find just off PCH, and I would personally rather stay just outside of the town of Morro Bay for convenience, particularly as we were only stopping the night. We did go into town to eat and it only took 5 minutes to get to,the waterfront.

The lady managing check in was friendly and efficient and we were in our room less than 5 minutes after arriving. The property is an older motel layout which is ideal as parking is right outside the room. Speaking of which, the room was clean, nicely furnished and had two comfortable queen beds. There was also a large flat screen TV, fridge and microwave.

We used the pool which was clean and tidy. There was a good selection of chairs and loungers and a grassy area with plenty of flowers. The owners clearly make extra effort to uphold an above average standard of presentation.

Breakfast the next day was acceptable. Juices, coffee, make you own waffles and a selection of cereals, bread and pastry. Some kind of fresh fruit salad (pineapple, melon etc.) would have been perfect for my tastes and was something we did see at some (not all) of other similar properties we stayed at but for a complimentary breakfast I have no complaints.

Overall, a nice place to stay that I would gladly return to and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quagm1re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern E, Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Thank you for sharing your positive thoughts on your stay with us. We find it rewarding when we recieve a positive review, which as you know is the best compliment we can get. Again thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Overall of our visits to BW have been very rewarding. Good hospitality and service. We always aim to stay at BW for convenience and familiarity. Most of the BW agents are very helpful and respectful. We enjoy the breakfast, check-in and check -out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Oussama A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern E, Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

I would like to thank you personally for taking time to reconize my staff. We here at the El Rancho strive to make our guests as comfortable as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews