We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“doggie friends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN El Rancho
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“doggie friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

loved this little motel in Morro Bay, great dog welcoming motel, they did not distain our pooch and had a welcome basket for him...close to beach (driving) and has great restaurants on the embarcadero.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for talking the time to share all your positive thoughts. We strive to make all our guests happy as well as their family (pets)....Please remember us again if you come to visit Morro Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    181
    71
    27
    30
See reviews for
161
240
32
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had never taken our dog on a trip before. This was a very good experience. The staff was helpful and the room was clean. It has a nice area of grass for the dogs and nice seating area for their owners. It was less expensive than some of the other hotels in the area. The beach is right across the street and it is walking distance to a few great restaurants and the grocery store.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 712sharif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff is grateful for your wonderful comment. We hope you come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

On a rambling 5 day road trip w/ no particular destination in mind, my girlfriend and I found ourselves in Morro Bay w/ her dog. A few phone calls later we had a room on a rainy Thursday night at the BW El Rancho. The property is dog friendly and they pamper your pet w/ a welcome basket of treats and assorted items useful for your stay. There is plenty of lawn space and area where your dog can play or go for a walk. The room was nicely appointed w/ everything one needs for an overnight stay. This was my first trip w/ a dog and in the past I've stayed in hotels where when I've gotten to my room there's a strong odor of "pet" permeating the room. Not here. Our room, although designated for pets, smelled fresh and clean…and the room was very clean. I don't remember exactly what we paid but it was very reasonable. The also served a somewhat limited, but adequate, continental breakfast and w/ a couple of dog biscuits for our pooch…it was perfect.

Room Tip: There's a pool available for when the weather is warm and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for stopping to stay with us on your trip! We always love having four legged visitors too! We hope that you come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Springs, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Comfortable, clean nice rooms and we can bring our pet with us. Definately a great place to stay. The hotel is convenient to a number of locations, i.e., Morro Bay, Cayucos, San Luis Obispo, gorgeous beaches. Right off Highway 1, but very quiet.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay... PETS are always welcome.. See you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanger, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Very nice for the price! Hotel room was very clean and cozy. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Liked the fact that it was pet friendly. Great breakfast and coffee. Will be going back soon. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabitha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our property. We are always happy to hear about our happy guests and their Pets... See you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palos verdes, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

easy in easy out. very very clean and organized. cool view of beach across highway one. many really great local places to eat nearby. Situated in the heart of "North Morro Bay" is an asset to this motel. If you are spending a quick weekend enjoying the many things to do in and around the Central Coast this motel is convenient and affordable and clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed visiting us in Morro Bay! We hope that you come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Good accommodations, for us (wanting a super comfortable King size bed) and great accommodations for our doggie. Our dog loves to run on the beach but does not enter the water so the large tiled bath shower and hand held shower would make it easy for anyone to bath their
fury companion. An extra towel for the dog was provided along with a sheet for the top of the bed if the pet likes to sleep on the bed. We brought our dog's bed, along with food & water bowl.
We had a fabulous time. Convenient area to do early AM or PM doggie walking on the property.
We will return. Loved the GALLEY SEAFOOD RESTAURANT.

Room Tip: Mid week is probably more quite and rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share all your wonderful comments. We do value each and every guest and are always grateful to receive positive feedback .. We hope to see you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
1.2 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN El Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Property: BEST WESTERN El Rancho
Address: 2460 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-1552
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN El Rancho 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN El Rancho!Escape to this Morro Bay, California hotel offering comfortable and affordable accommodations near Hearst Castle, Morro Bay Beach and Cal Poly University. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN El Rancho where guests will receive personalized customer service, quiet accommodations. Newly refurbished, this California Best Western hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions, shopping and dining options in and around Morro Bay. Guests staying at this Morro Bay hotel will enjoy single story accommodations with well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board and free high-speed Internet access. Dining is made easy with the hotel's complimentary breakfast and a restaurant right across the parking lot as well as 2 patios for our guests' use. The outdoor heated swimming pool(SEASONAL) provides a great place for guests to unwind and refresh.enjoy the sunset view from our garden area. For added convenience, the BEST WESTERN El Rancho offers large vehicle parking.There is no better lodging choice than the BEST WESTERN El Rancho when visiting Morro Bay. Located midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, guests at the hotel will have convenient access to a variety of area attractions including views of the Pacific Ocean. Spend an afternoon touring nearby Hearst Castle or San Luis Obispo Mission, exploring Morro Bay Rock, biking or hiking through Morro Bay State Park or enjoying some beach fun at Atascadero State park. Cal Poly University and Cuesta College are both located close by making the BEST WESTERN El Rancho ideal lodging when touring the campus or visiting friends. The caring staff at the AAA-3 Diamond BEST WESTERN El Rancho is ready to ensure an enjoyable stay in Morro Bay, California. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN El Rancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Rancho Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing