We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Left The Wine On!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western El Rancho
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Upon check they gifted me with a bottle of champagne, cookies and candies. Hundreds of DVDs available for free viewing during your stay if you decide to not go out and explore. Great sunset seating on the front lawn and you can enjoy your wine while watching the sunset too. The staff was exceptionally helpful and knowledgeable about the area. There is so much to do in around Moro Bay. Go, go, go!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern E, Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed our Graduation celebration! We agree that the sunsets from our property is quite spectacular. We do hope that you come and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is not a flashy, hipster hotel. It's a quaint throwback to a simpler time (think 1960s classic motor hotel) and is wonderfully equipped with everything you need, including Wifi, flat panel TV, microwave and refrigerator in every room. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean, and the staff is genuinely friendly and concerned about you having a enjoyable stay. The owners have gone to great pains to make sure the paint is fresh, the flowers are blooming in front of every room, and that your every need is considered ahead of time. You notice this when you enter your room and see the little "goody bag" with bottles of water and granola bars inside. It's a thoughtful little touch, and the more visits you make to this property, the more of these little things you notice. The front office is always decorated to within an inch of its life for each holiday. The tissues are fan-folded "just so", and if you get one of the "dog friendly" rooms, there's a little basket with a towel, a sheet to put over the bedspread, and a few dog treats for your furry friend. We could easily afford to pay three times the price for a hotel, but we CHOOSE to stay here because it exceeds all of our expectations and does so at a "friendly" price.

Room Tip: Stay in the 200s and go to dinner at Taco Temple down the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlene744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern E, Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We take great pride in keeping our grounds beautiful for our guests to enjoy and lobby festive! We hope that you come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have stayed here several times, most recently with two friends visiting from Ohio. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff is always friendly and the rates are reasonable. Will definitely stay again when visiting that area of the CA coast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern E, Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

We always love it when our guests come back and visit! We hope that you will be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We only stayed one night, but the location, cleanliness, and service were top notch! Rooms are ample in size, equipped with small fridge and microwave. Continental breakfast is served every morning ( they even have a waffle iron), and it's a short drive to morro bay restaurant and shopping area by the water.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissPTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern E, Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We did recently add different fruit toppings and whipped cream for our delicious waffles! We hope that you come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel makes the best of what it's got. It is presented well and has the feel of a good quality family run establishment. The staff are extremely friendly and some of the facilities are above those normally found in a place at this price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern E, Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope that you come and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We came here for a little "staycation" with our pooches. Overall we're quite pleased: HWY access is easy, the dog beach is just up PCH, and there were treats for both people and pups.

I always keep an eye out for pet friendly lodging when I travel; I wish more places were like this. Service was great, and the room was clean. Rooms are a bit small (the building is clearly from an era before super-sizing). Who wants to be cooped up anyway when the beach is right there?

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Ifurita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern E, Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

We are so glad that you choose us for your stay-cation! We always welcome our four-legged friends and we hope to see you again soon, maybe for a longer stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We chose this hotel for a quick one night stop off whilst driving down a Highway 1 from San Francisco to Los Angeles - the choice was made based on price and trip advisor reviews - and we weren't disappointed!

The reception isn't strictly 24 hours, but they do offer an out of hours check in after 10pm. We arrived around 9.45pm and the gentleman in the office was very friendly and extremely helpful.

Our room had a single queen bed but they also offer twin queen and king rooms. It was small but very cosy, well decorated, clean, and had much better than average toiletries etc. We got a great nights sleep.

Breakfast is free and is served in the lobby/office - which is amazingly decorated according to the season! It makes the small room really come alive, and actually having proper ceramic plates and mugs was lovely. The food was great too, waffles with fruit, sausages, toast etc.

The hotel also has a pool, and BBQ facilities, we didn't use either but they would have been very welcome if we were staying longer. There's a laundry area too.

Would definitely return if in the area again, and would recommend to anyone looking for a convenient stop off point on Highway 1.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank savagenoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern E, Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on our lobby decor! We are very proud of how we like to dress up our lobby with different themes about each month and we are always excited when our guests enjoy it! We hope that you come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
658 reviews
1.4 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
865 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
505 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
#24 of 29 in Morro Bay
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western El Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western El Rancho

Address: 2460 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-1552 (Formerly BEST WESTERN El Rancho)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: £57 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western El Rancho 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN El Rancho!Escape to this Morro Bay, California hotel offering comfortable and affordable accommodations near Hearst Castle, Morro Bay Beach and Cal Poly University. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN El Rancho where guests will receive personalized customer service, quiet accommodations. Newly refurbished, this California Best Western hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions, shopping and dining options in and around Morro Bay. Guests staying at this Morro Bay hotel will enjoy single story accommodations with well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board and free high-speed Internet access. Dining is made easy with the hotel's complimentary breakfast and a restaurant right across the parking lot as well as 2 patios for our guests' use. The outdoor heated swimming pool(SEASONAL) provides a great place for guests to unwind and refresh.enjoy the sunset view from our garden area. For added convenience, the BEST WESTERN El Rancho offers large vehicle parking.There is no better lodging choice than the BEST WESTERN El Rancho when visiting Morro Bay. Located midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, guests at the hotel will have convenient access to a variety of area attractions including views of the Pacific Ocean. Spend an afternoon touring nearby Hearst Castle or San Luis Obispo Mission, exploring Morro Bay Rock, biking or hiking through Morro Bay State Park or enjoying some beach fun at Atascadero State park. Cal Poly University and Cuesta College are both located close by making the BEST WESTERN El Rancho ideal lodging when touring the campus or visiting friends. The caring staff at the AAA-3 Diamond BEST WESTERN El Rancho is ready to ensure an enjoyable stay in Morro Bay, California. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western El Rancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Rancho Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing