We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN El Rancho
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our stay was great. I was a little hesitant when booking my reservation as the price was so much less than other hotels / motels in the area. I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the rooms were and the overall appearance of the property. It is very apparent that management and staff care about the property. Staff were pleasant and very helpful and the rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. Great value!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank pal0810a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We are so pleased that you were pleasantly surprised by us! We take great pride in keeping our property clean and offering the best that we can in customer service. We hope that you will come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    184
    71
    27
    30
See reviews for
164
242
32
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I go to many different places for motorcycle rallys and most of the time the rooms are OK. I really liked this place so much. The rooms were perfectly clean and the service made sure we had everything we needed to make our stay easy. I would never think of this motel chain as a great place to stay but this is an exception to the rule. Everyone that took care of us during our stay was very friendly. We brought our pets and we were given a doggie basket with treats and towels and treats for the doggies and suggestions for pet friendly restaurants in the area. In short everything was exceptional and I definitely would recommend this place to ANYONE who is in the area. I am not the type of person who posts reviews usually yet this place...just had to. Don't hesitate for one second to stay here. AWESOME

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAXJONZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We are so glad that you choose to stay with us for your rally this year! We are glad that you had such a good time and we hope that you will come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
316 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I decided to stay for one night at this hotel based predominately on TripAdvisor reviews. I was travelling down the California coast via PCH and was looking for a nice place to stay overnight. The hotel is the older traditional hotel/motel single level courtyard type hotel. It is conveniently located one street over from the PCH, very easy to find.

Check in was relatively quick and convenient even though it was somewhat busy with no vacancies that evening. My room was very basic but clean with a king bed, desk, table and bathroom with shower stall (no tub). The bed was comfortable and slightly on the firm side.

The hotel grounds were well maintained with an outdoor pool. The pool is large enough and there are several loungers and table with chairs available as well. Towels can be obtained from the front desk.

Because of the courtyard arrangement, noise can somewhat be a problem. Noise from kids playing in the pool to people arriving and leaving from their rooms can be somewhat distracting. However, when it came late in the evening the noise was significantly diminished and most importantly ambient noise from adjoining rooms was minimal.

On a side note, I was travelling by motorcycle and they were quite welcoming. After a long ride I was looking for a decent, clean, comfortable room for a good night's sleep. This hotel provided what I was looking for. I departed early in the morning so I did not have an opportunity to sample the breakfast that is provided.

Overall great location and value.

Room Tip: All the rooms are on the same level with the hotel configured in an "L" shape. All rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterCheeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope that you come and visit us again and stay for our yummy waffle bar at breakfast! It is a real treat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel was okay. The breakfast was good, cereal, hard boiled eggs, juice, waffles you make yourself, patty sausage, and some fruit. The bed was a tad soft and the room was acceptable. The woman at the front desk was extremely friendly and knowledgeable, but she is retiring soon after many years. The decor was overwhelming, done in red, white and blue but it seems they have a different theme every month. There is even a notebook with pictures of all the different themes from the past. Each room did have a dvd player and there was an extensive list to choose from in the lobby. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tab555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
We are sad that you did not feel there was anything special about staying with us. We think that offering such a wide selections of DVDs is special and the extra care that goes into decorating our lobby is special. We do hope that you will give us another try to exceed your expectations on another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have been going to Morro Bay for over 50 years and, since discovering El Rancho a few years back, I would not care to stay anywhere else. It's a wonderful spot! The staff is always cheerful and helpful (last Christmas one of them, Keith, even taught me to make wonderful bows for my packages). The lobby, breakfast room and grounds are always decorated delightfully for whatever the season. Most rooms have a nice view of "The Rock" and in the early, quiet hours you can hear the ocean. Parking is plentiful and simple. The rooms are clean and the amenities quite nice. While I choose not to travel with my dog, the folks at El Rancho are very pet friendly and to me that says a lot about the people. Try it - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turbotud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
We are so glad you found us too! We always try and offer the best customer service and are thrilled when we are recognized for it! We hope that you come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Upon check they gifted me with a bottle of champagne, cookies and candies. Hundreds of DVDs available for free viewing during your stay if you decide to not go out and explore. Great sunset seating on the front lawn and you can enjoy your wine while watching the sunset too. The staff was exceptionally helpful and knowledgeable about the area. There is so much to do in around Moro Bay. Go, go, go!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed our Graduation celebration! We agree that the sunsets from our property is quite spectacular. We do hope that you come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is not a flashy, hipster hotel. It's a quaint throwback to a simpler time (think 1960s classic motor hotel) and is wonderfully equipped with everything you need, including Wifi, flat panel TV, microwave and refrigerator in every room. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean, and the staff is genuinely friendly and concerned about you having a enjoyable stay. The owners have gone to great pains to make sure the paint is fresh, the flowers are blooming in front of every room, and that your every need is considered ahead of time. You notice this when you enter your room and see the little "goody bag" with bottles of water and granola bars inside. It's a thoughtful little touch, and the more visits you make to this property, the more of these little things you notice. The front office is always decorated to within an inch of its life for each holiday. The tissues are fan-folded "just so", and if you get one of the "dog friendly" rooms, there's a little basket with a towel, a sheet to put over the bedspread, and a few dog treats for your furry friend. We could easily afford to pay three times the price for a hotel, but we CHOOSE to stay here because it exceeds all of our expectations and does so at a "friendly" price.

Room Tip: Stay in the 200s and go to dinner at Taco Temple down the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We take great pride in keeping our grounds beautiful for our guests to enjoy and lobby festive! We hope that you come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
581 reviews
1.4 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
821 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
661 reviews
1.2 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
318 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN El Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Property: BEST WESTERN El Rancho
Address: 2460 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-1552
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN El Rancho 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN El Rancho!Escape to this Morro Bay, California hotel offering comfortable and affordable accommodations near Hearst Castle, Morro Bay Beach and Cal Poly University. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN El Rancho where guests will receive personalized customer service, quiet accommodations. Newly refurbished, this California Best Western hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions, shopping and dining options in and around Morro Bay. Guests staying at this Morro Bay hotel will enjoy single story accommodations with well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board and free high-speed Internet access. Dining is made easy with the hotel's complimentary breakfast and a restaurant right across the parking lot as well as 2 patios for our guests' use. The outdoor heated swimming pool(SEASONAL) provides a great place for guests to unwind and refresh.enjoy the sunset view from our garden area. For added convenience, the BEST WESTERN El Rancho offers large vehicle parking.There is no better lodging choice than the BEST WESTERN El Rancho when visiting Morro Bay. Located midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, guests at the hotel will have convenient access to a variety of area attractions including views of the Pacific Ocean. Spend an afternoon touring nearby Hearst Castle or San Luis Obispo Mission, exploring Morro Bay Rock, biking or hiking through Morro Bay State Park or enjoying some beach fun at Atascadero State park. Cal Poly University and Cuesta College are both located close by making the BEST WESTERN El Rancho ideal lodging when touring the campus or visiting friends. The caring staff at the AAA-3 Diamond BEST WESTERN El Rancho is ready to ensure an enjoyable stay in Morro Bay, California. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN El Rancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Rancho Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing