We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
GreenLeadersGold level
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Pleasant hotel in good location, within walking distance to restaurants and Morro Rock. Our room overlooked the parking lot; better view would be the rock.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Thank you for posting your review. We do have rooms with an awesome ocean view. Call us direct for the best available rate.

Best regards,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    155
    77
    42
    18
See reviews for
115
214
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
120 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

This place was in a nice location close to the Embarcadero and Morro Rock. Checked in late and was a little hard to find since it was in a more residential area. We stayed on the weekend so the town was nice and quiet, plus it seemed like the town was tranquil to begin with anyway. The reception is in a separate small building to the rear of the main building. The parking is also located in the back.

The main building has in interior courtyard/atrium with elevators in the middle and stairs off to the sides. The room was a decent size with a king size bed, small table with a chair, TV console with old school TV, and a couple of nightstands. The decor is outdated and basic. The bathroom is also basic and simple. This was really just a place to crash. Their pool is quiet small and really felt more like a large jacuzzi because it was nice and warm and had a couple of jets were you could just sit and got massaged by them.

The best part about the stay was it was so close to the bay and the Rock, but really any accommodation in town is close to the Rock. Enjoyed the tranquility, but think I might try some other place next time just to see what else is around.

Room Tip: Try to get a room looking out towards the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
The Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn was happy to read you enjoyed our 10x16ft. hydrotherapy spa. We are continuing to upgrade our decor and hope on your next trip to the Central Coast you'll let us once again provide you with comfortable accomodations.
Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

My mom and I arrived one afternoon and drove around looking for a vacancy. And came across this place. My mom went in and booked and they were able to get us a great ocean view room. It has a very quirky closed in center court. the room was nice and clean and the balcony had an amazing view of the rock. Would deffinently stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again...join us for our expanded deluxe breakfast and complimentary wine and cheese every evening from 5-7.


Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We spent one night in Morro Bay.
Actually we didn't make any room reservation in advance, we just drove to some motels and asked for a vacant room. Finally we decided to go for the Best Western and didn't regret this decision!
After we talked to the receptionist, she gave us 20$ off the regular room rate.
Our room was spacious, very clean and even had a balcony! The bathroom was also very clean!
We used the motels jacuzzi downstairs and it was quite relaxing!

If you should ever happen to stay in Morro Bay, I can recommend this motel to you because it's delivering good value for money!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeR1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
The Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn was so happy you chose to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the states.

Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

My husband and I stayed her for one night on a Tuesday. We were allowed to check in early. The guy at the front desk was friendly and got us checked in quickly. The room was a little pricy, but expected because of the location. When we got in the room it was clean and pretty large. All rooms have balconys. We both enjoyed the hot tub which was rather large. We did not check out the complimentary wine and cheese in the evening, but thought that was a nice touch. We did make it down to the free breakfast in the morning. There was a pretty good food and juice selection. All in all we enjoyed our stay here, and will most likely stay here again next time we are in Morro Bay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H_Rod88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We were very happy to read of your pleasant stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again and will have breakfast ready for you.

Best Regards,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcaastle,Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

The only 3 stars about this hotel is the price. We booked it through 'Hotwire' as a 'too good to publish hotel name'... now I know why. This hotel is dated and tired looking. The bed covering in our room was marked and stained. The toenails on the floor were disgusting. The hotel staff were good, pity they have to work in such a poor quality establishment. Knock down and rebuild as the location is fine if you like vacationing next to a power generating plant.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ba771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
We at the Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn were sorry to read of your unsatisfactory stay with us. We appreciate you bringing your issues to our attention as your critique helps us to better serve our guests in the future. We would like to state however that the power plant is actually across town from us. Nevertheless we wish you many happy travels.

Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

I dont know why this hotel is rated 20. we stayed at this hotel for one night in january 2012.
The staff was welcoming, the room was clean and big and the location was great!
The free wifi worked great and we loved the design of the place...

the only problem we has is with the shower that didnt work well, but we talked with them and they said that they had a problem with the water in the morning. I am sure it is not like that every day.
It was a great stay with a great value!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeredMBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Thank you for posting the review of your stay with us. We are expanding our breakfast service and look forward to serving your lodging needs on your next visit to the states.

Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn
Address: 250 Pacific St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2261
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#16 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus San Marcos Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing