We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check your rate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Check your rate”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Prior to our arrival I sent a mail requesting an ocean view room . Please bear in mind that the hotel is 50% Ocean View, 50% Inland View. Upon arrival I was advised that my mail had been received and I could "upgrade" to a sea view room for $30. I declined. Then it went down to $20, then $15! I can only feel that I was being taken advantage of as I had requested a sea view room when chances are that it was 50/50 of a sea view room. Whilst checking in another person arrived requesting accommodation for the evening. The rate - $40 less than i paid!!!! Having said that the room we opted for after paying the extra $15 had a superb sea view. The spa was good, as well as the early evening cheese and non alcoholic cider. Room was a bit tired. Walls extremely thin. you could here a conversation next door. Shower was rubbish - no tub.TV temperamental and room wasn't the biggest. Balcony good but could only accommodate 2 chairs. Overall the extra fee for the ocean view spoilt what could have been a great stay! It seemed that he guy on reception was trying to score points on his colleague! Seemed that the receptionists were competing against each other for 'extras'. It's a shame as this could have been a great hotel result.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrWWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
We are happy to know you enjoyed the beautiful view from your room and that you also enjoyed the spa as well as the cheese and cider. We recomend calling us directly to book a room for the best rate and exact room type you want.

Regards,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    156
    77
    42
    18
See reviews for
115
215
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
YORBA LINDA, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Beautiful room with ocean view, but walls are paper thin...hard to get a good night sleep. Close enough to the beach to hear the seals bark. Beautiful décor and very clean and staff was great. I would stay again but I would bring some good earplugs. Seals were not as loud as the other guests unfortunately. Ask for third floor rooms

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
We apologize for the noise. When summer hits and we fill up it can get noisy. Come back and see us in the fall when things are quieter. Call us direct for the best rate and exact room type.
Happy Travels,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

In our first visit to Morro Bay, we chose to stay close to the waterfront in the Best Western San Marco Inn.

The establishment is well-located close the waterfront and its attractions - a full service shopping center with fast food establishments is close by to the north-east about six blocks.

We were satisfied with our stay and the hotel amenities. They offer an afternoon cider and cheese reception and an adequate breakfast - both complimentary. The rooms are located on two floors - half with ocean views and half with inland views of some unbecoming neighbors' yards. The hotel grounds and facilities are well-kept and clean.

While this is not the spot nor hotel for enjoying your room or the nearby area, it is quite nice for an overnight stay. Consider also - with the layout of Morro Bay harbor and the waterfront, most of the establishments do NOT have a much better view or environment.

Room Tip: If your are going to spend much time in your room -- do ask for an ocean-fronting room with a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CostaRicaBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
We were happy to read that you enjoyed the view from your room. It's hard to beat. Our location is great for walking to excellent dining and ocean access. Come see us again.
Happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helsinki
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Morro Bay is a charming, quiet city, especially off-season. I fell in love with the rock and managed atually to see the famous Falco Peregrine, of which the city is proud of, for a reason. We managed to get a room with a rock- view, and the sunset was astounding. Thats really the only part of the hotel that make it stand out. Otherwise very average. The daily happy-hour was nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jussi t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Come and see us again. We promise the rock will be here for you.
Happy travels,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston
Level Contributor
138 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Rocked up late afternoon with a coupon which was honoured...many places don't. Unpacked then joined others in lobby for complimentary wine/cider and cheese. Generous quantities of both.....recommend the cider even though it's non alcoholic! Went for a walk down to the waterfront. What a great place. Plenty of restaurants and great views especially when the sun set. Room was good, bed and pillows ok. Breakfast next morning better than expected. Young guy in reception was genuinely welcoming. Would visit here again without doubt.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauncestonUpnabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay with us. We hope to once again provide you with excellent accomodations and superior guest service.
Regards,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stopped for a night on the way back to SoCal from San Francisco. There are 5 of us, so it seemed very small.

It was even close to morro bay shops, but I just didn't care for it too much.

Our room was very dark feeling during the day, and when we closed the curtains at night there were threadbare sections that let some light in.

I suppose it would be nicer if we didn't have our kids. The room was very very stuffy after a few hours, but too noisy to keep the slider open.

I liked the best western el rancho better.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jadec12341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We regret we were not able to meet your expectations. However we are in the process of upgrading all our window treatments and bedding. Nevertheless we wish you pleasant journeys.
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Platte, Nebraska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

What a nice, cozy place to stay. This inn had nice amenities, and was a very short walk to the waterfront. After having stayed in a lesser motel on the way up the coast, this motel was a delight with a wonderful staff, clean room and a beautiful view from our balcony. We were very pleased with the value of this motel.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Huskerfamily318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
We are so happy to know you had a pleasant stay with us. Next time bring your swim suits so you can enjoy our hydrotherapy spa after a day of walking on the beach.
Happy travels,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn
Address: 250 Pacific St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2261
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#16 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus San Marcos Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing