We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morro Bay Treasure.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western San Marcos Inn
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The San Marcos Inn, Morro Bay Ca. Is a great place to relax and take a load off. We have stayed at The San Marcos many times over the past few years, and have never been disappointed. It is not the newest Motel in town, but it is very well kept. The rooms have always been spotless, and the price is fair. The location is perfect, one block form The Embarcadero, and a short walk from all of the best restaurants in town.
They have a good breakfast, and a wine and cheese happy hour. Both included with your room. I would recommend the San Marcos to anyone visiting the Central Coast of California.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

We love to hear from our repeat guests. You'll notice some upgrades the next time you visit.
Till then, happy travels.
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

This our 5th time staying at the San Marcos Plus Hotel, walking distance to great resturants , Where you will find great food, So many different varities of shops, Art musums , Boat harbor and A big fishing fleet, A place you can spend time to explore the Morro Rock. We always come back Lois Propersi

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Lois1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for the kind review. You said it all for us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Regards,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We enjoy visiting Morro Bay and whenever we do, we stay at the San Marcos Inn. Very nice rooms, close to harbor and excellent restaurants, nice touch of free wine and cheese each night in lobby and an adequate breakfast (very good waffle).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Nice to hear from you again. We're happy to know you enjoyed your stay. We'll be here for you on your next visit.
Happy travels,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We like staying at this hotel as it is just two blocks from the Embarcadero and one block of the main street, Morro Bay Blvd. It has great views of Morro Rock. The staff are helpful and the rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rudy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

We love to hear from our "Valley " repeat guests. We are glad to know you enjoyed yur stay. We'll be here for you on your next trip to the coast.

Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The view is very nice, you can see the Morro Rock from the balcony. Walking distance to the Bay Area. The sea lions were loud but funny and nice to see. Restaurants and shopping stores. We highly recommend the French Bakery and fish bones Resturant.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Samar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Thank you for the nice review. We hope to see you again the next time you are in our area.

Happy Travels,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Prior to our arrival I sent a mail requesting an ocean view room . Please bear in mind that the hotel is 50% Ocean View, 50% Inland View. Upon arrival I was advised that my mail had been received and I could "upgrade" to a sea view room for $30. I declined. Then it went down to $20, then $15! I can only feel that I was being taken advantage of as I had requested a sea view room when chances are that it was 50/50 of a sea view room. Whilst checking in another person arrived requesting accommodation for the evening. The rate - $40 less than i paid!!!! Having said that the room we opted for after paying the extra $15 had a superb sea view. The spa was good, as well as the early evening cheese and non alcoholic cider. Room was a bit tired. Walls extremely thin. you could here a conversation next door. Shower was rubbish - no tub.TV temperamental and room wasn't the biggest. Balcony good but could only accommodate 2 chairs. Overall the extra fee for the ocean view spoilt what could have been a great stay! It seemed that he guy on reception was trying to score points on his colleague! Seemed that the receptionists were competing against each other for 'extras'. It's a shame as this could have been a great hotel result.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrWWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

We are happy to know you enjoyed the beautiful view from your room and that you also enjoyed the spa as well as the cheese and cider. We recomend calling us directly to book a room for the best rate and exact room type you want.

Regards,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Beautiful room with ocean view, but walls are paper thin...hard to get a good night sleep. Close enough to the beach to hear the seals bark. Beautiful décor and very clean and staff was great. I would stay again but I would bring some good earplugs. Seals were not as loud as the other guests unfortunately. Ask for third floor rooms

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

We apologize for the noise. When summer hits and we fill up it can get noisy. Come back and see us in the fall when things are quieter. Call us direct for the best rate and exact room type.
Happy Travels,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#21 of 29 in Morro Bay
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western San Marcos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western San Marcos Inn

Address: 250 Pacific St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2261 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#16 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: £67 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western San Marcos Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western San Marcos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus San Marcos Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing