We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel is very good, but it could be great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western San Marcos Inn
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
GreenLeadersGold level
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The hotel is very good, but it could be great.”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights here during Morro Bay's Harbor Festival weekend. We purchased a room with a King-sized bed w/city view. The room has lots of nice amenities: Balcony, ceiling fan, wireless internet, coffee pot, microwave, mini-fridge, hairdryer, ironing board, hangers, HBO, etc...There are also built-in shampoo, conditioner, and soap dispensers in the shower. The shower was nice because of the adjustable shower head and decent water pressure. However, the bathroom was small. Bonus: Double sinks and mirrors make it easy for a couple or a family to get up and around. There is NO AIR CONDITIONING in the hotel rooms. Normally in Morro Bay it is cool. This weekend it was exceptionally warm, and because heat rises...Well, let's just say my husband was less than ecstatic about the lack of A/C after hoofing it up the hill from the Embarcadero. For what we paid for our room, A/C seemed like a no-brainer. We were surprised not to have an option. The hotel offers a nice continental breakfast that is more than adequate. Wine, cheese, and crackers are served between 5pm - 7pm for hotel guests. It's complimentary with the purchase of your room. The spa is large. Parking is convenient. With A/C put in the rooms and a tad bit of sprucing up this hotel could be rated five stars. Recommended.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IdaSlapter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
We were happy to read you liked the amenities we offer. We apologize for the lack of air conditioning, it was hot that weekend even for us locals. We hope you'll give us another try as we are upgrading all our bedding and window treatments. Call us direct for the best rate and exact room type you want.
Regards,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    161
    81
    43
    19
See reviews for
117
224
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at his place one night at the end of October. The night was hot, there was not A/C in the room, and the street outside was loud at 2:30 AM and then at 4 AM. So, I filled the feedback form at bestwestern website describing this experience. The e-mail I got said, in part, the following: "The weekend you arrived it was unfortunately the hottest of the year. Otherwise it stays at a cool 63 degrees usually year round which negates the need for A/C. Sorry about your luck."
That e-mailed was signed: "Sincerely, Mohammed E. 05232 Property Front Desk Clerk
BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn"

You decide if you'd chance your "luck" by staying at this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank Beer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
We appreciate your feedback and take it seriously. The whole town was full on that last week of September, hence the noisy streets. You are correct we do not have air conditioned rooms, we do offer fans upon request. We apologize that your stay was less than what you expected or what it should have been. We wish you pleasant journeys.
Sincerely,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reedley, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was a great hotel to stay at! The hot tub was awesome with a fantastic view of the Morro Bay rock, and also a block away from the main strip of Down town! The rooms are clean and look newly remodeled. The complementary wine and crackers in the evening where also a plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thanks for the lovely review. The spa is perfect after a day of walking on the beach. We'll be here for you on your next trip to our beautiful area.
Happy travels,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south amboy, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel location is perfect for viewing Morro Rock. We arrived just before sunset, in time for the managers reception (wine and cheese) which was a nice touch, and got to see the sunsetting from the hotel. The hotel was clean, the staff friendly and the complimentary breakfast was good. I liked the breakfast sandwichs. I would recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
We were so pleased to read of your pleasant stay with us. The Manager's reception is one of our favorite times of day. We are happy to know you enjoyed it also. Come see again and be sure to call us directly for the best rate and exact room type you want.
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilot Hill, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

First of all I would like to say ...the staff here is exceptional! Very friendly, courteous, and helpful.
PROS:
Great staff
Excellent location
Good breakfast
We loved the wine and cheese in the evening...big plus!
Walking distance to town
Views
CONS:
Dated furniture
Dirty carpet
Uncomfortable beds
Dirty jacuzzi

Room Tip: View of the bay...a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RondaFulster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. We've had a very busy summer and notified maintenance regarding the carpets. We are in the process of getting new mattresses and our hope is you'll give us another try when your in our area.
Regards,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California, Usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The San Marcos Inn, Morro Bay Ca. Is a great place to relax and take a load off. We have stayed at The San Marcos many times over the past few years, and have never been disappointed. It is not the newest Motel in town, but it is very well kept. The rooms have always been spotless, and the price is fair. The location is perfect, one block form The Embarcadero, and a short walk from all of the best restaurants in town.
They have a good breakfast, and a wine and cheese happy hour. Both included with your room. I would recommend the San Marcos to anyone visiting the Central Coast of California.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
We love to hear from our repeat guests. You'll notice some upgrades the next time you visit.
Till then, happy travels.
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This our 5th time staying at the San Marcos Plus Hotel, walking distance to great resturants , Where you will find great food, So many different varities of shops, Art musums , Boat harbor and A big fishing fleet, A place you can spend time to explore the Morro Rock. We always come back Lois Propersi

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Lois1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for the kind review. You said it all for us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Regards,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
365 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western San Marcos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western San Marcos Inn

Property: Best Western San Marcos Inn
Address: 250 Pacific Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2261 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#16 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western San Marcos Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western San Marcos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus San Marcos Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing