We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western San Marcos Inn
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My wife and I stay at this hotel 2-3 times a year. It's an older hotel but so are all the other hotels in Morro Bay. We have found it to be clean and the staff very friendly. My only complaint is that they don't serve breakfast until 7:30, 6:30 would be much better for those who want to get an early start. You'll find golfing less than 5 min's away at Morro Bay G.C. and 15 min's at Dairy Creek G.C. Morro Bay GC has ocean and bay views from almost all the holes, a must play. If your into fishing Verg's Landing has trips daily, wether permitting, call and check there scheduals. They have all the gear to rent if you don't have any. After a day of golfing, shopping or sightseeing you my want to go to the historic Bay theater 2 1/2 blks away. After the movie 3 1/2 blks to the embarcadero for diner. Try the Hofbrau or Dutchman both really good.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are nice but city view rooms a little cheaper.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryVanNuysCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G. M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

We thank you for your review regarding your stay with us. There are many things to do here in Morro Bay and we were happy to read that you had a good time.
Happy travels,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
There are newer reviews for Best Western San Marcos Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

very clean - friendly staff - close to EVERYTHING - room was very comfortable and breakfast was ok -needed more fruit choices but great grab and go - wine/cheese evenings is a nice thought. Great local farmers markets, shopping and a ton of activities within walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Cindy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We are so happy to read of your enjoyable stay with us. We'll be here for you on your next trip to Morro Bay.
Regards,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

It has been several years since I've stayed here and was very surprised that the hotel has not had any updating since that time. While the location and pricing was great, the hotel's shower, stuffy room dated décor was not. Staff was not very friendly

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, ask for the third floor and ocean view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cals503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. In the past two years we have added granite counter tops, flat screen TV's, cornice boxes along with new window treatments, new bedding and we'll be receiving new lighting soon. We hope you'll give us another try the next time you visit our area.
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

1) Room got very warm and there was no air conditioning. 2) Water splashed out of shower stall. 3) Breakfast pastries were not fresh. 4) Some of the front-desk staff was not friendly. 5) Charged extra to extend check out time by 1.5hrs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Mustafa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Management has been notified of your check-out experience and will review it with staff. We do not have air conditioning, being located at the beach it would hardly ever be used. We receive our pastries daily so are a bit confused as to why they were not up to par. We hope you will visit our area again and perhaps give us another chance to exceed your expectations.
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 8 night in early February. We originally booked for 1 night and found the hotel to be very comfortable and they offered a reduced rate if we extended our stay. The hotel was very fairly priced and very clean and well maintained and offered off-street parking and an elevator for the upper floor rooms. We were in a room that did not overlook the water but were on the other side of the hotel from the view rooms. We did view some of the hills and part of the city and had a small private deck outside of our room. The hotel is very convenient to walk to the waterfront area restaurants and activities.
The staff members we met were very helpful during our stay and provided good information about sights in the area. The room was well cleaned every day and we were always provided with nice towels and other toiletry items.
We especially enjoyed the spa which was clean and always running well. The wine reception from 5-7 pm was nice as they offered 2 white wines and one pink (white zinfandel?). I wish they would have offered a good red wine for those who would prefer another choice. There were cheeses and other snack items that were also good at this reception.
If we return to the area we will return to the Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oregon_Coast_Duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for the lovely review. We look forward to your next visit.
Happy Travels,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Loved the front desk staff, the food, the spa and the service. Great location! The only thing was a glitch in the billing. I got a great rate but was double charged on my bank statement 3 days later. It was an error.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lydia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

We are so happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Call us direct for the best rate and exact room type for your next visit.
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This hotel is a great value. The bed is comfortable; the breakfast is great; and we always love the hot tub! It is an unusually big hot tub and in-doors so that you can use it regardless of the weather. You cannot beat the price for what you get.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

We couldn't have said it better ourselves. Thank you so much. We'll have the spa hot and ready for your next visit.
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#11 of 29 in Morro Bay
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Serena Inn
La Serena Inn
#13 of 29 in Morro Bay
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western San Marcos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western San Marcos Inn

Address: 250 Pacific Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2261 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#16 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: £83 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western San Marcos Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western San Marcos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus San Marcos Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing