We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View, great location, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western San Marcos Inn
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We got an ocean view room, and the view was awesome. The staff was very helpful in every way, providing reservations for Hearst Castle on a busy weekend, extra towels, and helpful advice about the local businesses. I checked out other hotels in the area while there, and this was the best one. Also, they had soap and shampoo dispensers one the shower wall, which is something I'd never seen before, but every hotel should have.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G. M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

We are so happy to know you had a wonderful stay with us. Your right our ocean view rooms have an awesome view. We look forward to seeing you again.
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn, Morro Bay has a nice small and friendly feel to it. The beds are very clean and comfortable, linens are nice. The balcony, while small, is a nice spot for two people to enjoy the view and relax with a cup of coffee. This Inn is in walking distance to all of downtown Morro Bay as well as the rock itself. Very nice, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank christieleebro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Be sure to call us direct for the best rate and exact room type your looking for.
Happy Travels,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

It is an older property with its own charm--open the sliding door-breath the fresh air and enjoy Morro Bay-It is a beach type of feeling--nothing glitzy--just a good bed--good TV --wireless internet and hosted cheese and wine after 5--this is a town with aging hotels and no reason to change. I have been staying here for many years.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G. M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We hope you'll return to check out the new carpet we'll be installing soon.
Happy travels,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Came to San Marcos Inn with our grand children so they could experience Morro Bay as we have in the years past. Perfect location for Hearst Castle and Montana de Oro State Park and other attractions. After wards they relaxed in the spa. Short walk to restaurants, shopping and candy/taffy shops which they loved. Really glad that we we're able to bring them on this trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank GaryVanNuysCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We are so happy to know of your and your grandchildren's pleasant stay with us. We'll be here for you on your next visit.
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We didn't book up just turned up and negotiated a room price,don't accept the first price as they will haggle.
We accepted the price and immediately offered cheese and biscuits and wine ,which is offered early evening and it was very nice.
Our room was nice with a balcony overlooking the bay and we enjoyed a lovely sunset serenaded by 100 sea lion's honking away.
Breakfast was included and was very good fruit,cereals ,juice and hot croissants and also waffles.
A great place and very nice people,

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJB_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for the lovely review of your stay with us. We look forward to providing you with another pleasant stay on your next visit to Morro Bay.
Regards,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very nice, clean hotel. Would not recommend staying on the "city view" side of the hotel if it is a sunny day as the sun comes in the room very brightly in the morning, making it very stuffy unless the black-out curtains are drawn, again leaving no air circulating. The same would be true on the other side in the afternoon, but the view is worth it. Biggest issue with me was the lack of air conditioning. If you are not used to AC you probably won't notice it. There is a small ceiling fan in the room in a corner, but it didn't do a lot to stir the air. Otherwise, it was a very nice place to stay. Every one of the staff was exceptionally friendly, courteous and helpful. It was not overly noisy and we couldn't hear our neighbors during the fully booked time we were there. Our rooms only had showers, no tubs. The balconies in every room are wonderful. Many nice amenities. The free breakfast offerings were adequate and the coffee good. Mattresses are very soft, which some may like. The rollaway bed was surprisingly very good.

Room Tip: View rooms are so much nicer if you plan on spending a lot of time in your room, but only because of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time bring your swimsuit, we have a hydrotherapy spa that is wonderful after a day of walking around Morro Bay.
Happy travels,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to stop over in Morro Bay, while traveling back to Santa Rosa. Our trip was pre-planned...So, after looking at their web site pictures, of what appeared to be a lovely king room, with an ocean view...we booked a room with Best Western PLUS San Marcos Inn. We noticed, as we pulled in, that the out side of the Motel was somewhat rundown. Our check in went well...front desk staff was friendly, efficient & helpful. Lobby needed upgrading...carpets were old & stained...as were most of the carpets along hallways & in our room. Elevator was dirty. The guest room was small, with a few upgrades...42in TV & Bedding. It was fairly clean & comfortable though, and we appreciated having the Fridge & Microwave. High speed Internet was terrible!!! Very Disappointed in the Ocean View (which we paid extra for)...it was Obstructed. All in all...the place was OK...but just average & no better than motel 6...or Days Inn. A "PLUS" Motel it is NOT! This Motel looks nothing like it's portrayed on their web site...is truly in need of up-grading...and definitely not worth the value! I doubt if we'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We appreciate your feedback. We are in the process of installing not only new carpet but new indoor balcony railing as well. The internet issues are being addressed. Unfortunately when the fog comes in there's not much to see. We wish you pleasant journeys and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#6 of 29 in Morro Bay
658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#21 of 29 in Morro Bay
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western San Marcos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western San Marcos Inn

Address: 250 Pacific St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2261 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#16 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: £68 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western San Marcos Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western San Marcos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus San Marcos Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing