We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't believe all the bad reviews...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
GreenLeadersGold level
California
1 review
“Don't believe all the bad reviews...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

I stayed in this hotel over the weekend. I had read all the reviews and was nervous but when I got there it was not how others had described it. Yes, it is a little dated and it is not the best Best Western I have ever stayed in, but the front desk staff was amazing. Since they were the frontline, I relaxed a bit. When I saw the room, second floor balcony, double queen beds, I was completely won over. It was clean, smelled nice and the beds were very comfortable. Yes the walls do appear thin but the noise wasn't that bad and there were a bunch of young men staying there. We had a huge a problem with one of the people in our party and the hotel staff was very courteous, understanding, and compassionate. I will stay here again the next time I am in Morro Bay. I don't believe I have been treated better by any hotel staff and I've stayed in some five star hotels and worked in a four star.
BW San Marcos, thank you so much for everything.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Frequent_Traveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 9 March 2011
The entire staff at the Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn thanks you for taking the time to post your review of the hotel. Our mission is to provide each of our guests with a comfortable and memorable stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to our beautiful area.

Many thanks,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    155
    77
    42
    18
See reviews for
115
214
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

On a planned business trip to Morro Bay I decided to have my wife accompany me and extended our stay through the weekend as kind of a mini vacation. I made our reservations two months in advance so as to hopefully secure a nice room. Upon arrival we were told our room wasn’t quite ready yet and we returned a few hours later only to find that they had us in a room overlooking the parking lot. I asked if there were any other rooms available and was told there were if I was willing to pay an additional 40% up-charge per night.

I am writing this at around 10:45 PM on our first night at the hotel. The noise from the people in the next room and down in the parking lot is so loud that they may as well be right in our room with us. I travel and stay in hotels on business an average of 100+ nights per year and so far this property ranks among the worst I’ve experienced in spite of their AAA 3 Diamond rating. This is only our first night here and I really dread the remaining two. I am truly sorry I didn’t read (and heed) some of the other TripAdvisor recommendations already posted regarding this property.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drncos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 9 March 2011
The Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn would like to thank you for posting a review of the hotel. We were very sorry to read of your dissatisfaction. While normal check-in time is 3:00 pm we do our best to accommodate early arrivals at every opportunity. Unfortunately noise issues are endemic of hotels around the globe; if the front desk had been notified they would have done everything they could to remedy the situation in a professional and timely manner. We would appreciate the chance to provide you with nice accommodations and good service the next time you are planning a trip to the area. Nevertheless, we wish you the best of luck and only pleasurable experiences on your future trips.

Best regards,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Because we could hear people in the hallway, outside our window and on either wall, we decided to find another place to stay. I would not recommend this motel. Very basic, NOT worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loriewebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 9 March 2011
We here at the Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn would like to thank you for your review of our hotel. Our continuing goal is to provide each and every guest with a comfortable and pleasurable experience. We were saddened to read of your dissatisfaction. The hotel provides many amenities such as a deluxe continental breakfast that includes hot waffles, we offer free wine, and sparkling cider served with crackers and cheese every evening, a 10ft. x 16ft. hydrotherapy spa, free wifi and internet access. Our rooms have flat screen tv’s, microwaves, refrigerators and coffee makers. We hope that you will consider us once again as a lodging establishment when planning a trip to the area.

Best Regards,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

We drove down from San Francisco to San Diego and Morro Bay was a good half way point. We got a good price at this Best Western hotel. The room was basic, but large enough and included free wifi internet, as well as a complimentary breakfast. It is located right by the water, and you have a nice view of the rock. Also included complimentary parking onsite.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benmacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 9 March 2011
We here at the Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn thank you for your favorable review of our hotel. We were glad to know that we met your expectations. Our hope is that on your next trip to our beautiful area we can provide another comfortable and pleasurable experience for you. It will also give us a chance to show off some of the upgrades we’ve made since your last visit.

Happy travels,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
271 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

Front desk girl said there were only "bay" view rooms left. She said they were normally $219 per night, but with discount (retired military) it would be $179.

The room is ok, but people on the 3rd floor must be sumo wrestlers. They stomped around late into the night. The cars zooming by right out our window were rude, honking and yelling. I know, I was a kid once too.

There were 2 dueling dogs barking til I fell asleep. One was in a yard and one in someones car. They barked about 3 solid hours.

If we were not so tired and wanting sleep, we would have left. I think they over charged us, as the internet showed these rooms as $108 without the discounts.

Sorry

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABohemianGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
We here at the Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn thank you for taking the time to post your review. We were very sorry to read of your dissatisfaction. June and July are very busy months for us here in Morro Bay and the town is usually full of happy travelers. For future reference the rate of $108 that you mentioned was for a city view room. We would appreciate the opportunity of providing you with nice accommodations and good service in the future. We wish you the best of luck and only pleasurable experiences on your future trips.


Best Regards,
El Morro Masterpiece Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moab
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

From the outside and inside it looks old, and it is. It even has NO AIRCONDITIONNING, which really surprised us. The Wi-Fi went out at 9:30 p.m. and never came back until late in the morning. No guest laundry.
Bad smell from intensive parfume in our room, so we got bad headaches in the morning. No fan in the bathroom/toilet.
Staff was friendly, but front desk only from 8 a.m. to 10 p.m.
Overall, this should not be a Best Western anymore - maybe a Motel 6 or Days Inn...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inca_Owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
The staff at the Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn thanks you for posting your review. Your comments help us on our continuing goal of making a stay with us as thoroughly enjoyable and as comfortable as possible. Guests have been enjoying the upgrades we’ve been making to the rooms and new items added to our complimentary continental breakfast. Stop by and check us out on your next visit through the area.

Best regards,
El Morro Masterpiece Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

The location was very convenient and near the waterfront. We didn't book ahead of time. Staff was pleasant. They had a wine and cheese reception in the evening and waffles for breakfast. We had a "garden view" room with two queens and a nice little balcony off the room. The room felt a little cramped and showing it's age, but adequate. The bed was comfortable enough. There was no bathtub in our room, only a shower. The sink was outside the bathroom and lacked privacy although it was divided from the bedroom. The main problem was the noise factor. I could hear our neighbor blowing her nose. I'm glad we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloMe-oTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, 20 March 2011
The Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn thanks you for posting your review of the hotel. We were sorry to hear of the noise issues. The summer months here in Morro Bay mean lots of happy travelers and our little town fills up. We would appreciate the chance to provide you with nice accommodations and good service the next time you are traveling in the area.

Best Regards,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn
Address: 250 Pacific St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2261
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#16 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus San Marcos Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing