We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carpet from The Black Lagoon”
Review of Motel 6 Morro Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Morro Bay
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Reviewed 9 September 2007

We just got back from our vacation and stayed at this Motel6 for 3 days.The check-in staff was very friendly and very helpful.We booked online and requested a view of Morro Rock,and they gave us an upstairs room with a nice view of it! There was a playground and baseball fields located behind.Close,but not too close.It was still quiet even with baseball games going on every night.You'd have to have your window or door open to even hear them.Our girls really loved the playground(had a lot of neat equipment and was fenced).
The only con was the hosekeeping.Terrible!This is the first motel we've been to that made our feet black from the carpet.A few of our socks looked like we had been walking in the "black lagoon".Also,our 2 yr old had an accident in the bed and we'd taken the linens(sheets & mattress pad) off and put them at the foot of the bed.When we came back that night,they had made the bed without any sheets etc(just the covers) and the soiled sheets were still in a ball on the floor.Of course,the shower stall got filthy from our feet(the carpet) and they never cleaned it.We went to the front desk and they gave us new ones.
Overall though,we'd stay here again.Loved the location and the front desk.Hopefully they will get some better housekeeping help the next time we stay!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tikibycc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2007

I stayed at Motel 6 Morro Bay with my girlfriend this summer in our way down from SF to LA. We were on a road trip all along the coast so we were looking for a budget hotel to sleep during our trip. Even being much more expensive than other motel 6 it was one of the cheapest options we got. It was thanks to TripAd where we read many reviews that we stayed at Motel 6 and it wasn´t wrong. The hotel was ok with a little pool that seemed to be pretty clean and ok. We got our room without any problem and it was in the first floor facing the backyard with had no noise at all. The bed was good enought and the room was clean, the bathroom was a little bit old but also very clean.
It is conviniently located in a short drive to the beach and the main street of the town. It has no breakfast but we had a lovely one in an old bakery near the waterfornt.

Would go back again if we were in Morro Bay.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank redivan666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2007

We stayed in Morro Bay during a very busy weekend and couldn't find anything except a handful of 1-2 star motels. We chose Motel 6 for no particular reason. Yes, its cheap. No, it has no extra amenities. Yes, it deserves the 1 1/2 star rating. But, it was clean, quiet and convenient! And it was a very short walk to a nice beach. I would definitely stay there again, even if there were other hotel rooms open.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pinecohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2007

We come to Morro Bay every year and we always stay at this Motel 6. Its clean,and very close to the beach, which alot of the pricey motels in Morro Bay cant say. Its your basic Motel 6, no frills but who hangs out in their motel room all day while you're down here. Also the staff is very friendly and accomidating.

Stayed: January 2007
Thank shabbycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2006

i would never stay at this motel again, the big problem was the noise. it is right across the street from the high school, a park is right behind it and the freeway is close by.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2CHIHUAHUAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2006

My husband and I were very pleased with this motel. It was very clean and the receptionist was very friendly. It's very basic as every Motel 6 is. The only complaint I might have would be that it's near an industrial area, but it was very quiet. If you are looking for a clean, safe, and cheap place to stay, this is a good choice.

3  Thank Jlboyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2006

This was the 2nd year that we stayed at the Motel 6 during the Morro Bay Winter Bird Festival. Coincidentally, we had the same rooms as last year - two connecting rooms, upstairs, for our group. Once again, the Motel 6 was a perfectly adequate base of operation for our three-day stay. The room is very simple - no pictures on the walls, no amenities beyond soap - but the TV works, the bed is comfortable, the temperature control unit kept the room hot or cool as needed, the location is surprisingly quiet, and we had a view of Morro Rock and the bay from the balcony outside our room. The second night of our stay a very rowdy bunch of people moved into the rooms next to ours and proceeded to make as much noise as they could on the balcony, but, miraculously, at 9:30 p.m. even they suddenly quieted down (hotel staff might have told them to shut up). This motel is incredibly reasonable and we would definitely stay there again next year.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BirdingIsFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
861 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seaside Inn Morro Bay
Seaside Inn Morro Bay
#26 of 29 in Morro Bay
316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
#27 of 29 in Morro Bay
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fireside Inn
Fireside Inn
#23 of 29 in Morro Bay
164 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
308 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay View Inn
Bay View Inn
#21 of 29 in Morro Bay
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Morro Bay

Address: 298 Atascadero Rd, SR 1/Cabrillo Highway at SR 41/Atascadero Road, Morro Bay, CA 93442-1517
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range: £47 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Morro Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Morro Bay is located in a small, quiet town a short distance from bay area restaurants, fishing boats and many small shops. Fine wineries in the area offer tours. Relax in our outdoor pool. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Morro Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Morro Bay Hotel Morro Bay
Motel Six Morro Bay
Morro Bay Motel Six
Morro Bay Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing