We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth checking out again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My weekend of camping was derailed when it turned out I picked the busiest weekend of the year to go camping and had to get a hotel. A dog friendly hotel at that. I found a WONDERFUL spot in Rockview Inn and Suites! If you were there a few years ago--this in not the same place. The new owners have totally remodeled with the thought of comfort for the traveler in mind. The rooms are spacious, have everything you need, without feeling cluttered. The beds are very comfortable with simple but elegant headboards. The room was quiet. The are within walking distance of both the marina, and the downtown area of Morrow Bay. The new owners are delightful, and committed to your comfort and convenience. The have coffee available always, and I was pleasantly surprised at their free breakfast--cereal, waffles, toast, orange juice, coffee, teas. I will definitely go back and wish them the best of success. A true asset for Morro Bay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

We made this our mid-trip stop right between LA and San Fran. I wanted to find a place that was close to the water, reasonably priced, and had decent accommodations. This is not a 5 star hotel but the owners try their best with what they have. The rooms have recently been updated and consistent. We stayed twice over a 5 day period. I appreciate the effort to make our stay pleasant! You are about 5 minutes from the shops and the water... If you ever consider staying in Morro Bay, CA... Please consider them!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed one night on the 30th of December for a very reasonable $59 for a queen room. Our room was nicely refurbished, had a super comfy bed with awesome pillows. A nice flat screen tv and a decent shower. Everything was clean and well presented. Staff were friendly and helpful. Included in the price was small self serve breakfast - I tried out the waffle machine, a first for me being from the uk - pretty good and the coffee was totally drinkable. There was also cereal and toast available. I was really please with our room and would certainly stop here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katep09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

This was a poor experience in every way, and even as a lower cost option in the area, I'd go elsewhere. The desk staff were not professional in any way, breakfast was one waffle maker and cold cereal, toilet tank was broken, drapery sheers literally torn and rotting, partying teens. There are many motels convenient to the waterfront, stay at one of them, not here.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed for one night on our way to San Francisco in July. We needed a room for 5 so we had the suite (which was a door leading to a small room with the 3rd bed)...although hotel was clean it was very old, beds creaky, toilet clogged once, NO air conditioning (but fans worked ok), breakfast was fine and so was the coffee. We were able to walk to the water in minutes. For $80-$100 i would have been fine with the hotel but they wanted $189 which was not a good value at all as have paid that for really nice hotels in Anaheim. If I had had more time to research i would have stayed elsewhere as it was meant to be just a stop over hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IDmom1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed for 1 night and had no complaints. Our room was compact and clean, the place was quiet all night (a little noisy in the morning with everyone's coming and goings, but it's a motel. What else can you expect?) The bed was pretty comfy and the shower was decent enough. I wouldn't stay a couple weeks but for a night or 2 it's perfect, cheap and in my opinion good value for money. Didn't get up in time for breakfast. Plenty parking and good wifi signal too. Staff we're polite and helpful at all times.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had stayed here before and it was a good experience. Rooms have been redone and the rooms on the 2nd floor have new bathrooms. We were very impressed with the room. The value was exceptional. New bed was comfortable and the pillows were actually usable and nice. Bathroom had all new faucets, toilet, tub and surfaces. We liked the curved shower curtain rod. The only negative was the small and super low toilet that was not easy to use. Maybe that's an ADA thing. But for people of normal height, it's unpleasant. Bathroom floors were a non-slip synthetic stuff that looked like tile. The floor in most of the room was a type of wood laminate surface. Granite counters and table tops. New flat screen TV and cable. The coffee in the office downstairs is OK and always available. We had breakfast across the street at Carla's Country Kitchen. Our room was above the office and we could actually see Morro Rock. Even though it is located at an intersection, the noise was never intrusive. Unless you count the seagull perched on the roof that squawked at us when we walked out to our car, or the distant sound of seals barking from the bay. The family owners are terrific and very anxious to provide good service (like extra towels we requested). The stair steps appear to have been repaired(after reading other reviews) and are easy to use. Bottom line, this is a really good place to stay if you're on a budget and aren't interested in amenities like a spa. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are all new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Seaside Inn Morro Bay
Seaside Inn Morro Bay
#27 of 29 in Morro Bay
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
862 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn
Fireside Inn
#23 of 29 in Morro Bay
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
309 reviews
0.8 mi away
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
#26 of 29 in Morro Bay
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay View Inn
Bay View Inn
#21 of 29 in Morro Bay
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay

Address: 1080 Market Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2010 (Formerly Morro Bay Sunset Travelodge)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range: £48 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morro Bay Sunset Travelodge Hotel Morro Bay
Travelodge Morro Bay
Travel Lodge Morro Bay
Morro Bay Travelodge
Morro Bay Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing