We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Morro Bay Beach Inn
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here on a roadtrip as it was way to windy and cold to pitch our tent that night which we planned on doing most of the trip. It was late and dark and we just needed a place to sleep. I felt safe having a male with me but being a female I would not stay here alone. The area seemed safe but the doors open directly to the outside which freaks me out. The room was clean, average, we just needed a bed for the night. It was in walking distance of the beach and morro rock and a number of fun restaurants and cafes. They have an ice machine and a very small continental breakfast. Basically coffee/bananas/pastries/cereal. A cheap place to stay if you only need to sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monamkj, Manager at Morro Bay Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

We're sorry for any inconveniences during your stay; our doors remain open during the day for housekeeping. And as for the breakfast, we can only serve standard food that has been approved by the Coorprate office which we provide for free.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at the Econo Lodge on very short notice. From the friendly check in, immaculately clean room and bathroom we were very pleased.

The next morning breakfast.room is very small and that is why didn't give five stars.

The location is a very easy and convenient walk to the wharf, restaurants, and all
The shops. There is even a restaurant immediately behind the motel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor in a corner room. It had a good view of Morro Rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monamkj, Manager at Morro Bay Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,
GM jack

econo lodge
8057725609

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Motel has been remodeled, good job except for shower and tub with mold on caulking. Room was nice and price of $70 for king was ok for area. Right off Morro Rock, short walk to waterfront. Wifi was good, no sleep timer on tv or HD channels. Bed was comfy. Breakfast was not available at 7:15am, they said 7:00am. We had to leave without.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SBrown1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monamkj, Manager at Morro Bay Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,
GM jack

econo lodge
8057725609

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

They charge as much as anyone and the room was painted. That's nice. But mattresses were old, cheap and worn. UNCOMFORTABLE. They save a few bucks, and the guests probably won't come through this town again, so the owner doesn't care. BUT Econo Lodge is below Motel 6 in my book if I have a choice in the future.

I stay in cheap motels and expect nothing but a (1) secure room; (2) a shower and toilet (3) a tv and (4) a MATTRESS/BED THAT IS COMFORTABLE. They FAIL.

AVOID ECONO LODGE!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monamkj, Manager at Morro Bay Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Hi This Econo lodge Morro bay
Sorry ,
you not comfortable hotel mattress. I dontknow Why The All mattresses Is New Came from serta Co 2014 1/10/14. double pillow top elite All so the hotel provide big flat TV 40' All rooms are New remodeling 2014 bathroom is new may you sty different hotel but if you come Agni Econo lodge and sow us room thet you sty hotel give 100% fully refund to you plus 1 night Free sty

Econo lodge Morro bay
GM Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We went to this motel with hope for a remodeled room (we read they were working on it) . Our hope came true, the room (209) looked great and the bathroom was all new. So we had a great night over here. We didnt hear the road.
Breakfast didnt have much choice but there was enough.
It's just a 5 to 10 minute walk down to the beach.
It was conveniently located straight of HWY 1

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlove1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monamkj, Manager at Morro Bay Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for staying at Econo Lodge, Morro Bay and appreciating our service. Thank you for doing business with us, we look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you
jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

If all you are looking for is a good, clean, basic room, this is your stop. They have a TV, fridge, clean beds, towels, and sheets. What else do you need? If you want a fancy room to stay couped up in all day, this isn't your place. If you want a clean place to lay your head after hitting the beach, at a price that can't be beat in town (been going to MB for 34 years) this is your spot.
Great staff, nice view of Morro Rock, and best of all NO BUGS! Bed or otherwise. (I work in Pest Control).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sage H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monamkj, Manager at Morro Bay Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for staying at Econo Lodge, Morro Bay and appreciating our service. Thank you for doing business with us, we look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you
jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We only stayed one night, but would definitely stay here again. The staff was really nice and the room was basic, but great. Nice upgrades to the bathroom, nicely tiled shower area and nice counter area. Lovely tv, good view of Morro Rock from our window. Very clean, good location to the beachfront area (shopping, dinner, coffee). Breakfast isn't anything special, but certainly adequate! Would recommend this to my friends!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monamkj, Manager at Morro Bay Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for staying at Econo Lodge, Morro Bay and appreciating our service. Thank you for doing business with us, we look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you
jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Seaside Inn Morro Bay
Seaside Inn Morro Bay
#26 of 29 in Morro Bay
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#13 of 29 in Morro Bay
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#10 of 29 in Morro Bay
871 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
716 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morro Bay Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morro Bay Beach Inn

Address: 1100 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2006
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range: £39 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Morro Bay Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The morro bay beach inn hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of Morro Beach. This Morro Bay hotel is just minutes from area attractions like Hearst Castle, Mission Plaza, Morro Bay State Park and Cuesta College. The San Luis County Regional Airport is 18 miles from the hotel. This Morro Bay hotel provides guests with amenities like free coffee. Business travelers will appreciate access to a fax machine. King Rooms are available. In addition to standard amenities, some guest rooms come equipped with microwaves. All rooms have refrigerators and cable television with HBO. Some rooms have a bay view. Parking space limited. NO PETS ALLOWED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Morro Bay Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Morro Bay
Econo Lodge Morro Bay
Econolodge Morro Bay
Morro Bay Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing