We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value & location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
San Diego
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value & location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

Our 2nd story room had a picture-perfect view of "The Rock." We were 3 blocks away from the waterfront that includes lots of shopping and restaurants. If you don't want to/can't walk that far, there is the "Hungry Fisherman" restaurant around the corner. It was delicious and reasonably priced. A continental breakfast was included at the hotel -- it was modest but fresh, i.e., no packaged muffins.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalBMWRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    34
    33
    12
    10
See reviews for
22
53
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

We stopped over in Morro Bay when we went up the coast and stayed in the Econo Lodge for 1 night. It was more than adequate place to stay. The room was basic but very clean. Spacious enough for 4 people (2 adults and 2 kids). Friendly staff. Toast/muffins and coffee available for breakfast. Unfortunately, our room was close to the stairwell and there were lots of noise from the room beside us. Ample parking and close to the water. You could walk directly down to the water and see the rock. The waterfront has some nice shops and restaurants. We had dinner at Hofbrau and it was very reasonably priced and good food. Lots of seafood and they have a hot roast beef sandwich available.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom2kidsMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukiah, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

The rooms are clean and smoke free. However, the bathrooms are small. If you are handicapped don't plan on staying here, no room to turn around with a walker or wheel chair. The commode is too low to the ground for handicapped persons. Make sure that you have your payment in check with this manager.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

We stayed in the Econo Lodge in Morro Bay for 1 night during our road trip from San Francisco to San Diego. We chose Morro Bay simply that it was equi-distant between Monterey and Santa Barbara. The Econo Lodge was a pleasant surprise - very clean and quiet. I was surprised to read some poor reviews on here so thought I would add our comments even though it is a few months since we stayed. This was only our 2nd stay in a motel and found that we couldn't fault it for the cheap price we paid in March. Breakfast was very basic but adequate to get us going onto the road for the next part of our trip. The location is nice near the rock and enjoyed the beautiful sunset (albeit from the roadside). We walked into the 'town' for dinner that evening and found the area to be quiet and feel safe. Unfortunately the town was perhaps too quiet and we didn't have any restaurant recommendations - all the restaurants were extremely quiet and we ended up eating in one called The Flying Dutchman which was terrible - some of the worst food we have tasted. However, we did have a long-awaited glass of Californian Rose wine which was lovely and a good price. We stayed in Morro Bay simply to rest our heads and the Econo Lodge was perfectly adequate for this. We would probably not stay in Morro Bay again as we passed nicer towns on the way to Santa Barbara, however if you do find yourselves here and do not set your expectations too high for a cheap motel you should be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knottsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

Stayed with my parents both in their 70's, father is handicapped so we requested a handicapped room, hotel manager said the one and only handicapped room was occupied.. bathroom was completley handicapped unfriendly, toilet very low, father could not use it, had too buy a $35.00 raised toilet seat at the nearby RiteAid. Room was average somewhat small, nothing special, continental breakfast was cold pastry and watered down coffee. Not bad for just a few nights, don't expect too much!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddy909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
166 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

Definitely the most horrible hotel we stayed at during our trip in California! And the most expensive as well!

The place was depressing. It was dirty (stains on the sheets, chairs and carpet) and it was loud (cars and other guests). The only kind of good thing was that there was hot water for a shower!

And the breakfast was just as bad: the stale cereal were competing with moldy toast, warm orange juice and watery coffee...

We were expecting an 'economy' hotel, but nothing that bad!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heodeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Morro Bay hotels

camarillo ca
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

1100 Main st, Morro Bay. Only real complaint, the very noisy pipes when the toilet is flushed!! Sleepy seaside town..very dark at night, room was in walking distance of the waterfront. We were told pets allowed, after reservation made..she mentioned 15.00 fee...we took our little dog anyway, at the desk, I saw on the sign in, No Pets Allowed, too late..I could not cancel reservation so I had to sneak my little quiet dog in..he was well behaved, no accidents and I left a room tip to feel better about sneaking him in. You must drive to get to the Morro Rock or rent a bike, the sand was like silk. Truly beautiful little sea town...did a little shopping. Visited the art gallery. Ventured to nearby Los Osos and wow the area coast and forest are something else. Tiny office, the Continental Breakfast is toast, coffee,cereal, orange juice. Nice staff. Plenty towels. mini fridge . Close to places to eat.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CnDCamarilloCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay View Inn
Bay View Inn
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn
Fireside Inn
#23 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1100 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of Morro Beach. This Morro Bay hotel is just minutes from area attractions like Hearst Castle, Mission Plaza, Morro Bay State Park and Cuesta College. The San Luis County Regional Airport is 18 miles from the hotel. This Morro Bay hotel provides guests with amenities like free coffee. Business travelers will appreciate access to a fax machine. King Rooms are available. In addition to standard amenities, some guest rooms come equipped with microwaves. All rooms have refrigerators and cable television with HBO. Some rooms have a bay view. Parking space limited. Pet accommodation 30 USD per stay per pet. Maximum of 10 lbs or less. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Morro Bay
Econo Lodge Morro Bay
Econolodge Morro Bay
Morro Bay Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing