We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better beach hotel than neighbors”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Better beach hotel than neighbors”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel succeeds in looking very English. Wife liked the floral print wallpaper, bedspread and the canopy bed. The room was quirky in layout, perhaps another English trait. We were a suite but the living room was a chair and small table, the bathroom was in the hallway to the bedroom and then the bedroom which was a conventional bedroom. Great view of the Rock which is the dominant feature of the Morro Bay seashore. Great friendly staff. Free DVD loans. Free wine tasting every afternoon. Good breakfast. Two blocks to the restaurant district, lots of seafood! Sandy beaches a short drive or long walk. Hotel was far better looking than the neighboring mom and pop motels. All in all a find. If I found myself in Morro Bay again I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dennis2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    197
    65
    23
    20
See reviews for
145
334
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here as a stopover during a road trip and I'm so glad we did! Lovely welcome from Linda the twinkly eyed receptionist, we had a fantastically spacious and clean room...well rooms really as it seemed more like a suite! Breakfast was great...I do agree with previous comments about the eating area not being big enough but apart from that it was all good!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We are a family of 4 that stayed 1 night in a 2 queen bed room at the Ascot Suites on our way between LA and Monterey.

WE JUST LOVED OUR STAY.

First, we had had a long day with morning in LA and the road up to Morro Bay. When we got to the hotel at 17h45, they were having their nightly free wine tasting of a local winery wines that finished at 18h00. By the time we had checked in, the tasting was over but the lady at the reception desk told us they would wait for us and then let us take a glass each up to our room - VERY APPRECIATED.

As for the room, it was perfect. Beautifully decorated classical look, extremely clean, gas fireplace in room, very comfortable beds, coffee maker in room, balcony with view of the rock, ........

Finally, we were tired and decided to stay in the room that night. There is a DVD player in the room and you can get free DVDs at the reception desk from a selection of over 100 movies in all genres.

Morro Bay is highly touristic but in very good taste. There are a few small shops, very good restaurants and the walk along the fisherman warf is magical with the rock in the bay and the sea lions sleeping on the boyes in the bay.

PS Please vote as helpful if you like this review

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MICMERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was a great hotel, very friendly staff, and really nice rooms.
There was no restaurant or bar in the hotel, but there was not far to several other.
Breakfast was good, however the dining room seems a little small for the number of guests.

We will be back some day

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Murieta, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My husband and I happen to stay here by chance. We have always stayed at another hotel in Morro Bay and found that it had been sold. We decided to see if Ascot Suites had an opening and how fortunate we were that it did. Within 5 minutes after going to our room, we decided to stay 2 nights. What a wonderful, warm, friendly and accommodating facility. The wine reception each evening was a perfect way to meet other guests and learn of several excellent places to dine for dinner. Breakfast in the morning was a perfect way to start off our trip up the coast to San Simeon. The room was charming and the tub - oh my, a perfect way to end the day with your own spa. You can be assured that we will be staying there again. I forgot the patio on the roof top to watch the sunset and the place was an easy walk (for an old person) to the wharf.

Room Tip: We didn't have room service, so I can't speak to that, but the food for breakfast was wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This is a decent little hotel. The amenities are good, location great, the beds are quite comfortable, housekeeping and general maintenance excellent, and the people are friendly.
I'm pretty sure someone's great grandmother decorated this place though. The decor is beyond outdated and simply atrocious. A design update, making it at least reasonably tasteful, is sorely needed. This hotel has all the makings of a very nice boutique hotel save, of course, the tasteless design. There is also an exterior window between the shower and room. I have no idea why this ridiculous feature is remains, but drywall and tile could provide an easy, inexpensive fix.
There was a family with small, very loud children. The hotel did not appear fully booked, and yet I wound up in the immediately adjacent room to be woken at 3am by a screaming child. Poor judgment/experience at the desk, thanks.
All in, not great, not terrible. Meh...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Napaguy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern california
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This is our third stay at Ascot Suite. The rooms are large, but not really suites. Room is clean and bathroom is good size. The room is quiet (although our last night, the VERY amourous couple next door woke me up twice with their bed banging against the wall. The wine reception is nice. Not top notch wine, but not bottom either. The breakfast was okay, but the breakfast room is TINY. Free, adequate parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlysgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
832 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Inn at the Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Inn at the Rock

Property: Ascot Inn at the Rock
Address: 260 Morro Bay Blvd, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2151
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ascot Inn at the Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover coastal charm and European elegance at Ascot Suites, walking distance of restaurants, shops and galleries, while enjoying the historic beauty of a relaxing getaway to the California Coast. Choose from accommodations with whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, classic furnishings and modern amenities such as cable TV and coffee service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ascot Inn at the Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Morro Bay
Ascot Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing