We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stop on our getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First stop on our getaway”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Perfectly located for walking around Morro Bay harbor. Just two blocks from the main strip you can easily get to where you want to go without a car. The free wine tasting and breakfast were both great and made staying there a plus. The decor of the room is a bit outdated, but that really is our only complaint. Overall a pleasant stay and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms next to employee only areas if you don't want an early wake up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    199
    66
    23
    20
See reviews for
147
336
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This hotel is one of the more classy ones in Morro Bay, and their breakfast is to die for! The full scope of food includes everything imaginable and nothing is in short supply. The staff are courteous and they even lend you free DVD's! It is located in a very nice spot within walking distance of the seafront, and the restaurants down towards the Bay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This was a very nice hotel within walking distance to the water and restaurants - very good location. Cute room with comfortable bed. Adequate breakfast in the morning. Wine and snacks in the evening was a nice plus. Very nice to be able to open the windows and hear the seagulls and sea lions. I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank FerndaleGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

priceline gave great deal on this hotel, stayed here for 1 night on our way to Big sur.

very close to Morro bay - walking distance, great restaurants around.

staffs were very friendly, helpful - we asked for top floor room, they accomodated that - appreciate their help!

morning breakfast was good - lot of varieties. rooms were great too, had sound sleep :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sudipk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Poorly maintained-noisy running toilet, moldy window sills. Could hear neighbors walking/talking through ceiling/walls. Positive-decor is retro 2000's, windows open for ventilation, basic breakfast, covered parking, close to tourist area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moke57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Booked through Priceline at a great rate! We were so happy this hotel is waking distance to the water as well as many restaurants. Free breakfast, clean rooms with a view of the ocean and a roof top area. We even checked out a DVD in the evening after walking to dinner. The front desk staff was very helpful in recommending activities. Really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelly p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My husband and I had never been to Morro Bay and I wanted to find a nice place that was somewhat close to shopping areas and to the water. When I found this lovely place on the website at work...I looked into everything about the place and researched the places that would be nearby for walking too. Everything is very close to Ascot Suites.

This is absolutely a wonderful find! We couldn't of been happier with the place....from the front desk staff to the housekeepers. What a wonderful staff! Our room was just beautiful! The decor ...which I knew would be that of English style decor...was amazing! I felt like I was somewhere else! The room was spotless and everything was neat and tidy. We didn't have one complaint....we had a kingsize bed w/fireplace and jacuzzi tub! This was the best!! The view from our window was nothing less than perfect! We could see Morro Rock and it was awesome.

The breakfast each morning was great....many people shot down the items, but when you consider what other places serve you....this was great! Waffles, eggs, biscuits and gravy and the sausages were yummy! Milk, juice, coffee....pastries, toast and more. A lot better than most I've had! And not to forget the wine pour in the evening....that's the best!

We stayed for 5 nights at the Ascot Suites and would definitely stay again! Thank you for a wonderful time in your town!

Room Tip: Our room faced west...and was at the far end of the building...2nd flr...it was the best! Large pict...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
840 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
457 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Inn at the Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Inn at the Rock

Property: Ascot Inn at the Rock
Address: 260 Morro Bay Blvd, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2151
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ascot Inn at the Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover coastal charm and European elegance at Ascot Suites, walking distance of restaurants, shops and galleries, while enjoying the historic beauty of a relaxing getaway to the California Coast. Choose from accommodations with whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, classic furnishings and modern amenities such as cable TV and coffee service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ascot Inn at the Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Morro Bay
Ascot Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing