We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you're over 60, fine if you're not...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

At first I thought we had accidentally wandered into a residential home for older people. The chintzy decor and cheesy atmosphere gave us many giggles. This is not a hip hotel! However, having got over that, we enjoyed the big spa bath (with window into the bedroom), the large bed and the convenient location: great for wandering down to the restaurants and bars on the Embarcadero. Breakfast was free: juice, coffee, eggs, make-your-own waffles etc.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank omi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

This hotel is wonderful!! The awesome room, concierge service and an amazing staff member named Colleen. There is a complimentary wine hour in the evening , breakfast in the morning, they made dinner reservations at an amazing restaurant. The room was beautiful with jacuzzi tub, fireplace with a beautiful view of Morro Rock and the harbor. A nice bonus was the rooftop garden!! Sssh don't tell anyone, it's our secret.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Betty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

After being on the road for 2 days we arrived here and felt very relaxed soon. Our room was on the 3rd floor in the turret corner. It had a gas fireplace, a view of the harbor, seating area, and a large tub/shower. Our king bed was a four poster that had a step stool to help get up into it....and also, more importantly, very comfortable. Parking was available in a covered garage. It is located across the street from the visitor's center and a block from the stairway to the embarcadero. Be sure to drive or walk out to the Morro Rock. The only problem we had was the hot water would run out sporadically but not often.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jav9206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

the room was great, overall treatment was fine. view wonderful. disappointing that a personal item, (a Samsung Notebook) was removed from our room and the results have been at best , disappointing. Upon realizing that the item was missing, the staff was at best half baked and uninterested. They were not helpful even after pleading with them. They would not return phone calls. Even one last visit prior to our leaving the area they had to be asked three times to check the lost and found. This has been reported to the local police, I would say : do not leave anything in your room that you don't want to see be taken. What else can I say. I don't want to accuse anyone but the item was in my luggage when I got there, missing after two nights.

Room Tip: try to get a room facing the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Otterwerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hotel has nice large rooms, decorated like something from Murder She Wrote era, then again Morro Bay is almost kinda like a Cabbot Cove. We stayed here on a Monday and after travelling around the town, checking out around 6 or 7 other hotels first we happened upon this little gem. The hotel had everything we needed, plus a few extras, fridge, fireplace, four-poster bed, big tub (with a strange window that looks back into the bedroom), free wifi, breakfast (while it was only okay) and cable tv. Visited the bars around the town and the locals are very friendly and up for chats and pints. Met some very nice people there. All in all while the Ascot suites aren't perfect they do try very hard to be better. Morro bay is very small and this hotel, like most hotels in the town, within walking distance of everything.

Could be fun for a kinda retro style romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Other reviews suggest some rooms have noisy A/C outside the windows, so ask first if mild noise keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lockie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Why is this called Ascend? Should be called Descend, there is no pool or gym or hottub and no it's not on the water. The breakfast is not even as good as a Comfort Inn. The rooftop garden/deck has a nice view of urban decay and trash.
The interior as others have mentioned is dated to about 1988 and done by a grandmother.
Don't bother with their free wine in the afternoon it's cheap and awful .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vdubfixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Perfectly located for walking around Morro Bay harbor. Just two blocks from the main strip you can easily get to where you want to go without a car. The free wine tasting and breakfast were both great and made staying there a plus. The decor of the room is a bit outdated, but that really is our only complaint. Overall a pleasant stay and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms next to employee only areas if you don't want an early wake up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
861 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Inn at the Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Inn at the Rock

Address: 260 Morro Bay Blvd, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2151
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: £100 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ascot Inn at the Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover coastal charm and European elegance at Ascot Suites, walking distance of restaurants, shops and galleries, while enjoying the historic beauty of a relaxing getaway to the California Coast. Choose from accommodations with whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, classic furnishings and modern amenities such as cable TV and coffee service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ascot Inn at the Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Morro Bay
Ascot Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing