We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's worth the money!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascot Inn at the Rock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's worth the money!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

Although the price was out of our budget, I am sooo glad we booked the room. The suite is beautiful & very accommodating staff. We had a horrible night the night before at another hotel & were shopping for another hotel. My sister & I walked in to the Ascot & expected to be quoted a super high amount but were surprised by a great deal. The front desk lady let us take a look at the room & we instantly fell in love with this suite. The evening wine tasting & morning waffle breakfast were the icing on the cake!! Its about 1 block from the beach, tourist shopping center & the old town shopping stores. I will definitely be booking at the Ascot again. I work at a large hospital in Fresno & have told ALL my co-workers & patients & friends about the great find we made in the Ascot. I recommend the Ascot to anyone & everyone!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nnora68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    191
    63
    23
    18
See reviews for
140
322
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

I know that it's hard to complain after you've enjoyed staying at a particular place, but it's better to be totally honest!!

First, I could never get the high speed internet to work at any time during my four day stay. I did mention it on 2 different occasions to the desk clerk, who said that she reset the router....but, to no avail. I was able, however, to "bird-dog" the net from other businesses in the area, so I wasn't totally "net less"!!

Second, the breakfast was quite nice with an adequate selection.....however, the seating area was far too small for the crowd. They do need to enlarge the seating are, if they are going to keep this amenity.

Besides that, the hotel was wonderful, and if you're able to work around those 2 small issues....the Ascot Suites are absolutely worth every penny of the price!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placentia, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

My husband read many online reviews before finally deciding on this hotel.

We stayed in a Queen Junior Suite. What a large room! Our kids were comfortable and we were comfortable. Our view was towards Morro Rock so we had a pleasant time gazing out the window.

The hotel was quiet and convenient, just 1 block away from Embarcadero along the shore. A free continental breakfast is served every morning, which we enjoyed. However, we wished there would have been some hot food considering how much we paid for our stay! That's the reason why I gave it 4 stars.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, Surrey, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

We stayed at the Ascot Suites as a one night stop off on a road trip from San Francisco to San Diego.
It was a really lovely little hotel, very very floral but that was all part of the charm.

Hotel was spotless, staff were friendly and helpful ,providing maps of the town and recommendations for where to go for drinks and dinner.
We arrived just in time for the free wine tasting that the hotel provides in reception,, it was nice to try some local wines and chat to a few others guests.

We spent the evening along the sea front, we watched the sunset while drinking cocktails and Windows on the Water.

Breakfast at Ascot suites was good , nice selection of healthy and not so healthy options.

Morro Bay seemed like a calm place, which was a nice change from the craziness of the big cities that we visited along our journey.

We would have loved to stay at the Ascot suites for another night but had to continue with our trip. if we went back to Morro bay we would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr&MrB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

My wife and I just spent our honeymoon at Ascot Suites an had an absolutely wonderful time. We stayed in a room with a really nice fireplace and a nice big jacuzzi. And even though we had lots of plans for stuff to do during our time in the Central Coast, we spent a lot of time trying to convince ourselves that leaving our hotel room was a good idea. I won't go into detail, but let's just say that we didn't really get to see a whole lot of Morro Bay.

The staff was really courteous and extremely accommodating. In fact, our only complaint for our time there was the quality of the wine served at their evening wine tastings. We say if you're looking for wine, you're better off just driving up to Paso Robles and making a day of it. Other than that, we highly recommend Ascot Suites to anyone looking for a great place to get away. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeyG061210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

Great value for money - room included breakfast and a wine tasting. Hotel also has a folder listing all the restaurants and their menus. Very easy. Good size, quiet room.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiesinohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

they were great to us..we got an upgraded room with a tub. wine tasting during day was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fricking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
1.0 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Inn at the Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Inn at the Rock

Property: Ascot Inn at the Rock
Address: 260 Morro Bay Blvd, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2151
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ascot Inn at the Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover coastal charm and European elegance at Ascot Suites, walking distance of restaurants, shops and galleries, while enjoying the historic beauty of a relaxing getaway to the California Coast. Choose from accommodations with whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, classic furnishings and modern amenities such as cable TV and coffee service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Ascot Inn at the Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Morro Bay
Ascot Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing