We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little slice of heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seal Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seal Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Moss Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Seal Cove Inn is so peaceful that it's almost unbelievable. So many details came together to make our stay there one to remember: a late-night stop to the front desk cookie jar for a homemade chocolate chip cookie, the complimentary bottle of wine in our room, a great sleep in a comfortable bed while the sounds of the ocean came through the window and the fireplace crackled, the phenomenally delicious and healthy breakfast...I really could go on and on! Fabulous experience; we will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodexperiencesplz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    60
    13
    12
    8
See reviews for
28
234
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

I guess the new owner has her hands full. Its obvious that she never done this before. Although, she nice but still needs work on her customer service. Talked a lot about herself but didn't care about our needs. Didn't have any knowledge about the trails and resturants around the area. The food was ok it's been better but the cook is trying out new things. We miss the chocolate chip cookies the old cook made. The inn keepers are nice but lack organization maybe do to management. New owner Needs to concentrate on the guest.Rooms are very clean. We Miss the charm of the old management but looking forward to what the new owner can do.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vaca201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed at the Seal Cove Inn since it was part of the Four Sisters Inn collection.

What we liked: The Inn has an English garden which our room overlooked from its balcony. The room was spacious, although it could use a bit of a facelift. Kelly brought us to our room. We found her to be friendly and charming. The Inn is in a secluded location away from the congestion of weekend locations such as Pillar Point.

What we did not like: There was a minimal afternoon tea, and the dessert was the same two days in a row. You had to request soft drinks, and except for Kelly, the staff was not very helpful to outright rude. If you want to walk to restaurants and shops, this is not the location for you.

With all this being said, as of May 17, 2013, this Inn is no longer part of the Four Sisters Collection. Kelly [mentioned above] and her husband have purchased the Inn. So, it appears the issues raised above may be addressed. Being Four Sisters Inns veterans, I tend to think some of the skimping is more due to the Four Sisters management than anything else since we have noticed it in the last year at other of their Inns.

If you are in the Half-Moon Bay area, I would probably recommend you try this Inn again to give the new owners the opportunity to test some of their proposed changes.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 10. There is a balcony, but you would need binoculars and a clear sunny day to glimpse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We arrived at the Seal Cove Inn the night before transfering to the new owners. The transition was smooth and seamless. The new owner, Kelly Dayan, showed us the definition of hospitality. The inn is magnificent, (as stated by numerous reviews), the location is great and the rooms are large and inviting. The new chef, Jason, provides a breakfast each morning that tantalizes your taste buds. The staff was so friendly and helpful, assisting us with last minute dinner reservations and providing information about the local happenings in the area. If your traveling takes you to this area of California, this is an overnight stay that should not be missed.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful and very similar in decor. Some of the rooms on the second floor have balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dede S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
286 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Having visited many areas of CA, we had not been to the Moss Beach/Half Moon Bay area. Not many ways to get there, and if you pick the wrong weekend, it can be a slow trip. Hwy 92 from 280 is a nice drive, unless it is a sunny weekend, as everyone seems to want to go to HMB.

Seal Cove Inn is a lovely property... What we were told it was designed as an Inn, by an owner who traveled a lot and experienced inns. It showed in the spacious rooms, wide hallways and staircases. The building seems French in character and has lovely grounds. It's location is great, as it is not near the fog horn in HMB. You can hear it when in the Seal Cove Inn parking lot, but not in the rooms. If you stay in HMB you are subjected to the fog horn, even at expensive hotels in HMB.

Unlike many inns, the SCI parking lot is large.

I highly recommend this Inn, as the service is great, the rooms are spacious, and the location is serene. It is a short walk to the ocean and some tidepools.

Some things to consider. It is just north of the HMB airport. When the airport is active, it can be a bit noisy. We heard many aircraft take off within a few minutes, and SCI is right in the take off pattern. That was on the weekend, and we didn't hear much during the week.

Second is the heating system. It can be noisy. We meet another couple that changed rooms as the noise was disturbing their sleep. We turned the system way down and it was ok, but we still had some noise during the night.

Highly recommend you stay on the 2nd floor. It is much quieter, and some rooms have a balcony. The fireplaces in rooms are wood burning. The Inn provided a "bundle" of ECOwood, which burns well, but lacks the snap, crackle and pop of real wood...and little smell of wood. SCI provides a complimentary bottle of wine in the minifridge.

SCI location is great. It's easy to get to harborside HMB using side roads (Airport Road) or HWY 1. You can walk to Moss Beach Distillery (o.4 miles). MBD is a VG restaurant on the ocean.

SCI has breakfast every morning, it is meat free, and the artichoke strata is outrageously good. In the afternoon they have a "tea", typically a tea cake, some cheese and assorted items. In the afternoon they have fresh cookies at the front desk.

Overall. the location, accommodations, service are terrific. The food is VG, though I wish there was more variety (e.g. bacon/ham, peanut butter) Not everyone likes oatmeal.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenzoLorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

The Seal Cove Inn is a fabulous place for a couples retreat. The rooms are comfortable and private. They have a fireplace and a great little bag that you can burn. They make for a wonderfully romantic atmosphere, but the fire does not last all night which is nice. The fire burns for about 2 hours.
The food is excellent, but it be warned it is all vegetarian.
The grounds are beautiful; and it is a short walk to seal cove where you often see sea lions basking in the sun. There is also a great avenue of redwoods right on the coast line.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful location. The inn looks like it could be in the south of France. The gardens just outside our door were beautiful. We were warmly greeted by the staff. We took several walks to the beach nearby as well as on the coastal trail which goes from Half Moon Bay to Princeton. We enjoyed the opportunity to meet other people both at breakfast and during the evening nibblies. The chairs in front of the fireplace in our room were a great place to unwind in the evening after going to one of the restaurants in the area. We loved the fact that the inn was so close to San Francisco when it was time to head home. We would certainly recommend staying here. We hope it doesn't change under the new ownership.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurer6469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moss Beach
2.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
2.0 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
7.7 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
7.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seal Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seal Cove Inn

Property: Seal Cove Inn
Address: 221 Cypress Avenue, Moss Beach, CA 94038
Region: United States > California > Moss Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Moss Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seal Cove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 23 miles south of San Francisco, Seal Cove Inn is an exclusive ten-room Half Moon Bay hotel, set apart by its recently completed renovation, dedication to luxurious details, As You Wish concierge services and peaceful, private surroundings. Cypress trees form a graceful arch over the pathway leading from the hotel down to Seal Cove Beach and the breathtaking Fitzgerald Marine Reserve. The inn is ideal for a romantic getaway or corporate retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Seal Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seal Cove Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Moss Beach
Seal Cove Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing