We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Married!”
Review of Seal Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seal Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Moss Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ca
1 review
“Just Married!”
Reviewed 10 August 2008

Have stayed at the Seal Cove many times, so it was the perfect place to return to, three days after we were married.

Great place to get away from the world. but close enough to Half Moon Bay that we can go "hang out" when we want.

Morning meal is wonderful; so is the cocktail hour in the afternoon!

Rooms are wonderful, and you can hear the ocean, and on clear days you can see a bit of the coast line. The fireplaces in the rooms are a big plus.

Great staff. We consider them good friends.

  • Liked — The privacy
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank billwcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    60
    13
    12
    8
See reviews for
28
241
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Patterson
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2008

We've stayed at several of the hotels in this chain and have enjoyed them all. However, this one is currently our favorite (we haven't visited them all).

It sits back from the highway (and beach) and is surrounded by trees and gardens with a short walk to the beach and a fine restaurant overlooking the ocean.

Chocolate chip cookies are baked daily with coffee and teas provided.

Rooms are large and comfortable, with fireplaces.

If you need to get away from the rat race - this is great sanctuary!

Sorry about the fuzzy photos - they're from my cell phone.

  • Liked — It was a relaxing, quiet location
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PattersonTravelinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2008

A lovely, first class inn. A gorgeous property with a lovely view, beautiful gardens, excellent breakfasts and afternoon teas. The inn is 2 blocks from the ocean and Fitgerald Marine Preserve, where harbor seals can be seen daily. The staff is friendly and helpful. Excellent restaurants are nearby, though I would avoid the Moss Beach Distillery. I heartily recommend it!

  • Liked — The beauty of the inn and its location.
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mrspippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2008

Seal Cove was a delightful experience! The location was secluded yet we had a great view of the coast. The staff was very helpful and the room was great. We live in the SF Bay Area, so we don't normally go for such a short trip. It was like going 1000 miles away. We had a very relaxing weekend.

Doug

  • Liked — Location & Staff
  • Disliked — No new movies or Cable
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 1CaliforniaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2008

My husband surprised me with a weekend away for my birthday and took me to Seal Cove Inn. This was one of the nicest places we've stayed in. It's tucked away in a cozy little spot, with a beautiful garden in the back yard that you can sit, relax and watch all the birds flock to. The room we had was clean, quiet and romantic with a huge jacuzzi tub, a balcony that looked out over the garden and a fireplace. The breakfast buffet in the morning was very good and included irish oatmeal, granola, fruit and a different type of egg dish each morning. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this to others looking for a relaxing get-away, close to Half Moon Bay, the beaches and trails.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank deborahcooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2008

We wanted to go somewhere that was away from the "Hustle & Bustle" for our Anniversary. We wanted it to feel "special".
Seal Cove Inn was all that and more! When we arrived at the Inn they gave us a tour of the Inn and showed us to our room. When we walked into our room it was decorated with Balloons and a bottle of champagne was chilling on ice. (The champagne was part of the "Celebration Package" they offer, if you so choose), but they went above and beyond what I expected!! Our room overlooked a beautiful garden and we could see the ocean from a break in the trees. It was very relaxing!! The entire Inn gives off a relaxing atmosphere!
They serve Wine and appetizers each afternoon and a wonderful breakfast every morning. Everyone was very accommodating and I look forward to going back to Seal Cove.

  • Liked — Atmosphere, Customer Service!!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tedibeeaarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, FL
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2008

This was our 2nd trip to the Half Moon Bay/San Francisco area in less than a year, both for pleasure. In '07 we had stayed at the Beach House on Cabrillo Highway and enjoyed it. This time we wanted to try something different and found the Seal Cove Inn.

This wonderful Inn offers you quiet, relaxing and premium service for less than what you would pay at the Beach House and Ritz. Maya, the hostess, remembered our names and made us feel more than welcome. The Inn rests about a 5 minute walk from cliffs over looking the ocean and a path that leads down to the beach in a 20 minute walk. The views are spectacular. The beach, at low tide, allowed us to see the tidal pools and explore the sea. The harbor seals were up close and spectacular. We spent several hours each day walking the beach.

The food at the Inn was fantastic both at breakfast and the afternoon tea. The chocolate torte was spectacular as was the artichoke quiche served for breakfast.

The rooms have sitting areas and fireplaces that were so easy to light (they give you a burlap bag filled with tinder that you set on fire). Our ground room floor opened onto a garden with sitting chairs and a partial view of the ocean. I sat and read an entire book with a cup of tea and a blanket the first afternoon we were there.

For the $200 + that we spent, this was the best place we stayed in our 14 day trip to Northern California and British Columbia. I am already planning a trip for later this summer with family.

  • Liked — The ambience of the Inn itself.
  • Disliked — There was only one restaurant within walking distance.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerinFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moss Beach
2.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
929 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
7.7 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
257 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel
7.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seal Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seal Cove Inn

Property: Seal Cove Inn
Address: 221 Cypress Avenue, Moss Beach, CA 94038
Region: United States > California > Moss Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Moss Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seal Cove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 23 miles south of San Francisco, Seal Cove Inn is an exclusive ten-room Half Moon Bay hotel, set apart by its recently completed renovation, dedication to luxurious details, As You Wish concierge services and peaceful, private surroundings. Cypress trees form a graceful arch over the pathway leading from the hotel down to Seal Cove Beach and the breathtaking Fitzgerald Marine Reserve. The inn is ideal for a romantic getaway or corporate retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Seal Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seal Cove Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Moss Beach
Seal Cove Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing