We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Little Hideaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seal Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seal Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Moss Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Charming Little Hideaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The Inn is just lovely,The Staff are just lovely,The location is just lovely,The Food is just lovely,The Views are just lovely....
We stayed here in August 2013. What a wonderful little retreat, secluded but not so secluded so as to feel isolated.
The grounds of the Inn are so well kept and just beautiful to look out on of a morning.
Within walking distance to the Moss Beach Distillery for dinner/drinks.
The breakfast is second to none.

The ladies at reception and the staff we met were so very welcoming, firendly and knowledgable!

Look forward to visiting again one day!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeordie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    60
    13
    12
    8
See reviews for
28
234
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Neuchatel, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I spent two nights here with my fiancé just before Christmas, and we loved it so much.

Highlights include the cookies that they leave out for guests (all were delicious!), the home-cooked breakfast (especially the raspberry muffins) and delicious coffee, the beds (which I think were the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The sheets were incredible and I must know where they come from so that I can buy a set), and the morning run along the bluffs (to Mavericks and back was just perfect). I also love that they have hair conditioner and towel warmers in the bathrooms. And last but not least, the ladies at the reception were all incredible and service was impeccable.

It is a short drive to San Francisco and also to Half Moon Bay - an absolute must-visit, if only to eat a lobster roll at Sam's Chowder House. The only thing to look out for is that there are not a ton of late-night dining options in the area (and the inn does not have a restaurant), so don't put off dinner until 10pm like we did one night.

Overall, a wonderful experience and we can't wait to come back next time we are in the bay area!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericaineEnSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here in mid September 2013. It is a nice inn. The location gets a lot of fog so not really a sunny vacation spot. It was cool and foggy most of the 3 days we were there. Nothing the inn can do about that. The breakfast and afternoon refreshments were excellent. We felt there was plenty of food - particularly the breakfast. The room was spacious with a nice fireplace. There were a few signs of aging in the room decor and the bathroom in particular. It was all clean though. The nearby town of Half Moon Bay was quaint. Really good italian restaurant (It's Italia) there that the inn recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveltime392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Wow! The Seal Cove Inn was truly excellent!

We live just an hour away, so lucked out getting a one night, doggie-friendly room. I called at 3:30 on Friday afternoon, and there we were checking in by 5:00 p.m.

The grounds are amazing, even in November, there were still so many flowers. I really appreciated this.

The interior is TOP NOTCH beautiful. I notice every gorgeous detail. All the common areas are simply perfect.

It looks like some updates have been made to the room - the bed has a pretty upholstered headboard, the sheets were super soft, the room was a good size, big bathroom, and I loved the sliding glass door to the garden, but more updates are still needed such as wall-mounting the TV and getting rid of the TV cabinet.

Breakfast at the Seal Cove Inn was above and beyond fantastic. I do believe that bagel, cream cheese and smoked salmon was the best I ever had. I LOVED the Peach Bellini, and the stuff French Toast was wonderful. We kept our little dog in her crate just outside the Breakfast room, in the living room.

The Inn has direct access to the Bluff Trail which was a big reason why we were interested in this hotel. Also loved walking through the cute surrounding neighborhood.

It was ALL great, AND WE ARE GRATEFUL for their doggie-friendly policy! The owners and staff were are wonderful too.

Very well done, Seal Cove Inn!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTown4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Tucked off the road just north of HMB, we only had the opportunity to spend a quick night at this quaint inn. We chose it to get closer to SFO airport and it was just under 30min drive away. We were able to enjoy a brief walk around the grounds. There is a marine preserve and walking path within two blocks, it was rather cool so we did not linger long, but it was fun to view some harbor seals for a while. The room was comfortable, bath is just a bit dated. I wish we could have spent an extra day or two.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gulfcoasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Our first visit to this inn on a visit to the place where we began our family. It was wonderful. Everyone was friendly and welcoming. Food was great. this is inn is right by the Fitzgerald Marine Reserve so morning walks are fabulous. I just can't say enough about how wonderful this place is. I guess I will just say we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Views from balcony rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buxtoncp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meeker, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

After traveling in and out of the San Francisco area for the last year, this is the place to stay. Great rooms, walking paths, seals on the beach, personal care, quality chefs, and gardens to enjoy. A perfect California experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilbourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moss Beach
2.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
2.0 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
7.7 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
3.5 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seal Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seal Cove Inn

Property: Seal Cove Inn
Address: 221 Cypress Avenue, Moss Beach, CA 94038
Region: United States > California > Moss Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Moss Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seal Cove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 23 miles south of San Francisco, Seal Cove Inn is an exclusive ten-room Half Moon Bay hotel, set apart by its recently completed renovation, dedication to luxurious details, As You Wish concierge services and peaceful, private surroundings. Cypress trees form a graceful arch over the pathway leading from the hotel down to Seal Cove Beach and the breathtaking Fitzgerald Marine Reserve. The inn is ideal for a romantic getaway or corporate retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Seal Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seal Cove Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Moss Beach
Seal Cove Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing