We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice B&B, Location is pretty good”
Review of Seal Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seal Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Moss Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
172 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Nice B&B, Location is pretty good”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Seal Cove Inn is a nicely appointed B&B. It was not as charming as we may have wished for, but it was clean and pleasant. To be fair, it was late fall, so the gardens were not in bloom. In terms of location, the hotel is near the ocean but does not have ocean views (there is a hill in the way). However, it is a short walk to the cliffs above the water and a beach, and there are remarkable tidepools there for you everyone to enjoy. We saw seals and other wildlife. The hotel is a bit removed from restaurants, so expect to drive somewhere for your meals.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMZV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    60
    13
    12
    8
See reviews for
28
237
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I shall keep this simple...as the title says..."Run...don't walk"....for a truly wonderful experience !!!

The property....beautiful inside and out, the atmosphere....warm and inviting, the staff....friendly, cordial, inviting, knowledgeable, fun, gracious...the list goes on and on !!

We had a beautiful garden room, tastefully and elegantly furnished without feeling "stuffy"....large bath with the classic touches - everything from a towel warmer to inn-specific soaps and lotions to warm comfy robes !! And, a huge treat on a foggy coastal eve, a wood burning fireplace, ready to go !!

Breakfast was an epicurean treat...strawberry-yogurt parfait, freshly baked breakfast bread, blueberry pancakes, wonderfully crispy bacon and freshly brewed coffee !!! We didn't need to eat again until dinner !!! ( The homemade chocolate chip cookies...."better than Mom's" ;-) and bacon-onion tart...scrumptious !! ) You'll not leave hungry !!!

Thank you Kelly, Jane and the entire staff for making our visit a memorable one......we'll be back !!!

R & T

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roandto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My stay at Seal Cove Inn was a first class experience from start to finish! High ceilings, fireplace, local and wonderful amenities. Breakfast was fabulous. Walks along the beach and in the garden. We had a meeting in Palo Alto and made the short drive for a truly great stay. Thanks Seal Cove Inn!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colleenc503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This property is absolutely beautiful. The location is amazing with lovely walking trails along the ocean. Breakfast was delicious. The staff was extremely friendly. We brought our two young children and the staff went out of their way to accommodate us at breakfast and throughout our stay. We will definitely be back...likely without children next time, as this property is extremely romantic.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganMFog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We were looking for a place near the ocean in SF bay area to stay to celebrate my wife's birthday.
After several unsuccessful attempts to book one of the places I knew in Santa Cruz, Half Moon Bay and Sausalito, I found this amazing B&B. We had a wonderful stay, and are extremely happy that we came there. We stayed in one of their larger rooms, for which we were given a large discount for the last minute booking. The room is really huge with high ceiling, and it is very nicely appointed. The place is extremely quiet and our stay was enjoyable. The area around is fantastic for hiking. You can walk miles and miles along the coast. The trail starts right from the parking lot of the inn. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chimalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braselton, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This property is magical. The grounds are immaculate, staff is attentive,professional and helpful.
Christina, the chef, provides an amazing breakfast. I really enjoy their homemade cookies in the evening and their wine and cheese gatherings in the afternoon.

Room Tip: For seniors the bottom suites are the easiest but the upper rooms have a wonderful porch that views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Excellent stay. If you are looking for a loud, thrill ride stay, drive past. If you have nothing to do, and enjoy that, bring a book and stay here. Quiet, great service, attention to detail, and a great location. Breakfast was excellent. Wine in evening was very enjoyable. Husbands, if you bring your spouse, you get bonus points.

Don't be swayed by previous negative review regarding pet situation. These people are great.

I booked online directly on their site. Easy. If you book on price, stay at a comfort inn. This is a small property, quaint, with a nice garden view. The ocean is an easy walk on a trail that connects to the property.

I will stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ttttggggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal_Cove_Inn, Owner at Seal Cove Inn, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words! We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope we'll see you again next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moss Beach
2.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
7.7 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel
7.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seal Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seal Cove Inn

Property: Seal Cove Inn
Address: 221 Cypress Avenue, Moss Beach, CA 94038
Region: United States > California > Moss Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Moss Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seal Cove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 23 miles south of San Francisco, Seal Cove Inn is an exclusive ten-room Half Moon Bay hotel, set apart by its recently completed renovation, dedication to luxurious details, As You Wish concierge services and peaceful, private surroundings. Cypress trees form a graceful arch over the pathway leading from the hotel down to Seal Cove Beach and the breathtaking Fitzgerald Marine Reserve. The inn is ideal for a romantic getaway or corporate retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Seal Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seal Cove Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Moss Beach
Seal Cove Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing