We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wildlife on the Monterey Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sanctuary Cruises

Sanctuary Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore Monterey Bay year-round with a marine biologist aboard Santuary, a beautiful boat that is only booked to 80% of her capacity for a more personalized passenger experience. We run longer trips with fewer passengers. We really care about the environment and run 100% local biodiesel. Knowledgeable, warm owner/operators engage and enchant. Responsible captains who don't crowd the animals but ease into the area, which often results in fantastic sightings. We have a great device for avoiding seasickness. Located in Moss Landing at the heart of the Monterey Bay & beginning of the submarine canyon for awesome sightings. We are the boat the locals prefer and the National Marine Sanctuary recommends.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Prunedale, California
1 review
“Wildlife on the Monterey Bay”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Sanctuary Cruises is an eco-friendly business which respects the wonderful wildlife located in the Monterey Bay Marine Sanctuary. I appreciate all that the crew did to educate and entertain my friends and me during this fabulous trip.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teacherbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    44
    6
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE!!”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Went out with SANCTUARY CRUISES - Captain Cory & Marine Biologist Bonnie were the best. Boat was small so everyone got a good view. I have been on several Whale Watching Cruises and they were most definitely THE BEST.

On a side note I would discourage anyone from going out with Nancy Black of Sea Wolf II. She crowded the animals to the point that people on our boat were waving her away! Very disrespectful and possible illegal. Plus the boat was big and very crowded.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank LEBLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unprofessional and completely out of sync”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We were booked for a 10am cruise with this company. Obviously at this time, they are the only company doing whale watching tours. The young girl who was checking us in made us wait for 2 hours telling us that there was an issue with the battery of the boat and that it might or might not happen. She never gave us a clear indication until after 11am. The Captain seemed to not care to even come out and apologize to the 20+ people waiting at the dock gate, he gave no explanation and the girl/biologist was left to defend him. How does this company call themselves eco-friendly but seems to be completely people-UNfriendly !!! It was a complete joke, we asked for refund (might take a week,as per her) and went with another company (which was also not at all good), but we saw the sanctuary boat at 3pm...which means they fixed their "battery issues".

You guys need to hire smarter people, where were the real owners of this boat??? I came to meet the expert biologist, not some random graduate who could not answer a single question about the cruise itself. Many tourists seemed to have come from foreign countries...and it was a gorgeous day as well, but Sanctuary Cruise blunder spoiled it all for us !!!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tigerphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Sanctuary Cruises, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
We beg to differ with your appraisal of our staff's performance. They are professional and highly qualified and we are proud of them. It was a rare instance when both Mike and Dorris were away (the first time in three years in fact). We very rarely have mechanical issues due to our stringent maintenance regime for the Sanctuary. You experienced the only day in the past three years that we had to delay a trip due to a mechanical problem. We apologized and offered you a full refund, which you received. You were able to get aboard another boat the same day, yet you were still unhappy. Those who waited the 90 minutes and went aboard the Sanctuary had a marvelous trip that day. It is too bad your day was "ruined", even though we did our best to make things right for you. Our almost solid five star reviews tell the real story of a Sanctuary Cruise whale watch trip. We are sorry you did not wait and give us a chance to show you our superb customer service experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Whale watch with the best”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

If you're planning to go whale watch on the central California coast, go with Sanctuary Cruises. I have taken several trips with this company over the past 3 years and have always had a great experience. No one can promise sightings every trip but they routine find whales, dolphins and other wildlife. They do offer "whale checks" if you don't see any whales. Owner marine biologist Doris is a dedicated professional striving to educate as well as amaze. The unique location at Moss Landing affords easy access to the deep waters of the Monterey marine sanctuary. The company is committed to sustainable ecotourism, using biodiesel to fuel their boat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SShinkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome time”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Would highly recommend this. Saw a ton of humpback whales & sea lions along with birds, nettles, & sea otters. Even saw an orca whale. Crew very knowledgeable about marine species and made it an outstanding outing. Can't say enough positive things about the experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank msdruid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sanctuary Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Sanctuary Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing