We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Explore Central cost from the Captain's Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Captain's Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Moss Landing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pacifica Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Explore Central cost from the Captain's Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2007

Since our first stay at the Captain’s Inn a few years ago, visiting the Inn has become an annual event for us. I have stayed in much more expensive B&B and hotels that were not as well maintained or as comfortable as the Captain’s Inn. We have visited the Inn during the off season (near Christmas) and busy season when find a room in the boat house required some date juggling on our part.

Captain Yohn and Melanie and the rest of there staff make you feel right at home (or better yet home-away-from home). The breakfast that Melanie prepares each morning during your stay is worth a visit to the Inn

IF you plan a visit to the Central cost I highly recommend a visit to the Captain’s Inn at Moss Landing

wrg@wgunkel.com

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank WGunkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    38
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
14
141
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2007

Lucky to find this hidden jewel - room was cozy, Melanie was awesome, breakfast was unique and bountiful.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Googoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enterprise, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2007

The only reason I gave this property a 3 circle was because of the bed. I found the bed to be so uncomfortable that I did not even want to stay a second night. I was ready to book a room at the Ritz Carlton in Half Moon Bay- at whatever price! But my husband wouldn't let this happen, so we stayed the second night. The night previous to staying at the Inn we stayed at a cheap $40 a night motel and received the same quality of mattress. I just expected more out of the bed for $200 a night. Besides the bed I found the property to be very nice. The two person clawfooted tub was very romantic and probably the only reason I stayed another night. There was a deck with chairs that you could sit at and watch the widlife. The surroundings were very peaceful and much appreciated. It was just a bummer about the bed.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank TLWTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2007

My wife & I have been coming to Captain's Inn for three years now. We enjoy the MOTOGP races at Laguna Seca Raceway & the Inn is a wonderful 20 minutes down the coast. Melanie also set us up w/discounted rates at the Blackhorse/Bayonet Golf Course which has some incredible ocean views from some of the Tee boxes. AND, Captain Yon pilots the Elkhorn Slough, a most wonderful wildlife exhibit tour on a pontoon boat with harbor seals, otters and sea lions, and numerous bird life abounding. Two great restaurants within walking distance, and the ocean too. The environment is so quiet & peaceful at night, and the sunset into the ocean is awesome! This is a place we will continue to return and enjoy the company of Melanie and her staff.
Boyd & Nani Urie
Las Vegas, Nevada
burie@acclaimmti.com

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank bdendad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2007

Moss landing...... now here's an interesting place. If you're coming to see the town or enjoy the beach, this is not the place for you (town is a fishing port, beach had one dead sea lion & 2 dead birds on our visit). If you're passing by on PCH1& want a unique night in a room contructed of old boat parts (creaky bed for you romantics!) & enjoy watching birds, seals & sunsets, with a few bottles of Napa or Paso Robles wine, soaking in a big bath for 2, then make a stop instead of the bigger hotel chains. Small, charming (although we felt slightly reprimanded for not using the front door to enter as we'd parked around the back, only to be told we should only ever use the back door from this point on anyway!!). Bring some goodies from a deli, your camera, binoculars (they are provided if you forget) & switch off for a few hours to watch the wildlife pass you by.

  • Liked — The unique rooms & great views
  • Disliked — Moss landing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mot1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2007

My husband and I spent two nights at Captain's Inn. We stayed in the Pelican Beach, one of the 2nd floor boat house rooms overlooking the slough. The view was fantastic! We enjoyed watching wildlife from the floor to ceiling windows. The bed was very comfortable and the soaking tub was relaxing (again, with a great view of the slough and wildlife! ). Melanie made delicious 3-course breakfast and was fun to talk to. She made some excellent sight seeing recommendations of Monterey, Big Sur and McWay Falls. We highly recommend going on the Elkhorn Slough Safari and then renting a kayak to experience the slough at your own pace. We can't wait to come back!!!!

  • Liked — view of the wildlife from the room and the friendly innkeepers
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosalia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2007

My husband surprised me with a one night stay at the Captain's Inn for my birthday in September 2006. We stayed in a 2nd floor nautical themed suite overlooking the marsh. We were impressed with the originality of the room and the view. It's not your typical view of the ocean one might expect when staying near the ocean, but a view of a marsh with lots of birds which we both found very relaxing. The fireplace and soaking tub were very nice also.

Breakfast was very good. The owner and staff members we came in contact with were very nice and helpful. All in all, a great getaway location we would return to if we need a little R&R.

Our only negatives were small things...Our binoculars weren't working correctly and the cd-player was a low-quality one (making a strange humming noise when we used it). But nothing to keep us from coming back in the future.

I'd recommend staying here for a romantic weekend getaway in a 2nd floor suite overlooking the marsh. There isn't a whole lot to do in Moss Landing. If you are coming as a tourist, I'd recommend staying in Monterey. If you are looking to reconnect or relax--getting away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, the Captain's Inn is a great place to stay.

  • Liked — View / relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — Little things not working correctly
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StandingRoomOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moss Landing
6.8 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
13.5 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
13.6 mi away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
14.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
14.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Inn

Property: Captain's Inn
Address: 8122 Moss Landing Rd, Moss Landing, CA 95039-9617
Region: United States > California > Moss Landing
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Moss Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a romantic and cozy getaway, we are the place. In the evening, you can capture the beautiful sunsets from your room in the Boathouse or on one of the 2 decks. The waterfront view is breathtaking. There is always an amazing array of wildlife including sea otters, birds, harbor seals and wild turkeys nearby. You can take a brisk walk on the local sandy beach or take a relaxing stroll through our little community. Almost everything in our community is within a short walking distance. We are located in a very peaceful and relaxing setting. Away from the hustle and bustle of the nearby cities. We are centrally located between Monterey and Santa Cruz, 1 block off Hwy 1. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Captain's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s Hotel Moss Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing