We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Captain's Inn at Moss Landing
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Castroville Motel(Castroville)
View Hotel
El Rancho Motel(Watsonville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Marina)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
154
44
15
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
154
44
15
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea ottersthe main houseb bphil's fish marketbed and breakfastboat trailermonterey baynautical themeelkhorn sloughbed framedouble showersoaking tubsanta cruzfresh fruitromantic getawaymemorable stayeach morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2007

My husband surprised me with a one night stay at the Captain's Inn for my birthday in September 2006. We stayed in a 2nd floor nautical themed suite overlooking the marsh. We were impressed with the originality of the room and the view. It's not your typical view of the ocean one might expect when staying near the ocean, but a view of a marsh with lots of birds which we both found very relaxing. The fireplace and soaking tub were very nice also.

Breakfast was very good. The owner and staff members we came in contact with were very nice and helpful. All in all, a great getaway location we would return to if we need a little R&R.

Our only negatives were small things...Our binoculars weren't working correctly and the cd-player was a low-quality one (making a strange humming noise when we used it). But nothing to keep us from coming back in the future.

I'd recommend staying here for a romantic weekend getaway in a 2nd floor suite overlooking the marsh. There isn't a whole lot to do in Moss Landing. If you are coming as a tourist, I'd recommend staying in Monterey. If you are looking to reconnect or relax--getting away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, the Captain's Inn is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StandingRoomOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2007

After researching approximately 20 B&B's for a location for our 20 person wedding ceremony, we found Captain's Inn. We couldn't have been happier. This one is a true gem.

Everything from the rooms overlooking the estuary to the "boat" where we held the ceremony was perfect. The owners and staff went out of their way to help out and made the entire wedding party feel at home. Their efforts enabled a laid back, relaxing and super fun wedding. Words that don't often go together.

My husband and I have vowed to go back every year to celebrate our anniversary.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKQ29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2007

We stayed at the Captains Inn this March for our wedding. The Captain married us on the deck and Melanie catered our reception.

From the moment we arrived we felt welcome and at home. The location is wonderful with amazing wildlife spotting and a beautiful beach. It is close to some great excursion options such as Monterey and Carmel if you can drag yourself away from the gorgeous setting. Don't miss the Captains wildlife safari which is stunning.

Melanie's cooking is superb - the breakfasts were different everyday and always delicious. The home baked cookies in the room were a particular favourite. Melanie looked after us and our guests so well, none of us wanted to leave. Some of our guests travelled with a small toddler and she was welcomed and accomodated.

The rooms are lovely. We stayed in the Boathouse with some of our guests while another stayed in the main house. Our views were great. The rooms were all spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and provided everything we could possibly need.

The wedding itself was perfect - small details matter a lot and Melanie and the Captain made our day very special. It was relaxed, they were flexible with our requirements and helpful in every way they could be. We organised it from the UK by email and telephone which would be difficult if it weren't for Melanie! Everything was exactly as we wanted it. So many examples of going beyond what would be expected there isn't room to list them here!

I would not hesitate to recommend the Captains Inn for a visit or a wedding.

We will be going back again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank catherineperks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2007

My husband and I were traveling up the California Coast (after a meeting in Ventura) and picked several places to stay (2 nights each). When choosing accommodations we’re usually looking for “bang-for-the-buck” places to stay, thus it was the 25% off the second night offer that attracted use to The Captain’s Inn at Moss Landing. Not knowing anything about Moss Landing, we did a little research and found that it is a wonderful place for nature lovers – the Elkhorn Slough is one of the top birding spots in the United States. It was the photos on the Inn’s website that sold us on The Captain’s Inn – we wanted a view just like the sunset views on the website – and we got it – it was perfect!!!

We stayed in the High Seas room in The Boat House. The furnishings (bed, bedside tables, closet, light above the bed) in the room are all parts of an old boat – the salmon fishing permit for the boat is also displayed in the room. There is a large, deep soaking tub furnished with a toy boat, bath crystals, sea lettuce shampoo, plush robes, and (unlike many places we have stayed) plenty of hot water!! The view from the tub is spectacular.

The windows in the room are designed to maximize the view. There are two wicker chairs in the window bay – complete with two pairs of binoculars, a bird book, and flash cards of the local wildlife. The view is over a harbor (no vessels in this part of the harbor – only critters) separated from the ocean by a sand dune. The windows all open, so you can hear the birds and ocean if you want to -- but with the windows closed the room is silent -- you'd think you were the only people staying there...

The innkeeper, Melanie, was great, very intelligent, down-to-earth, and clearly loves what she is doing. She is a Moss Landing native and clearly cares about the area: the history and future. She arranged our Elkhorn Slough and whale watching tours, and recommended some great restaurants.

The location of this inn is great – harbor, restaurants, tours are all within walking distance.

Other amenities: gas fireplace, cookies left on your bed in the evening, Ethernet web access, small TV with satellite programming, delicious breakfast served in the dining room of the main house, there is a refrigerator in the dining room of the main house for guest use (no refrigerator in the room)

Things to know: there is no “traditional” shower – there is a handheld showerhead in the tub, the TV is very small (but who wants to watch TV while staying here…)

Here is the perfect itinerary -- even if you just have a day to “get away”

Check-in is between 4 pm and 6 pm
1.Be sure you arrive with a cold bottle of Cenral Coast wine in plenty of time to watch the sunset from the wicker chairs sipping your wine
2.Dinner at The Whole Enchilda (fabulous coastal Mexican cuisine)
Next Day:
3.Wake up and watch the critters in the harbor
4.Go for a walk on the beach
5.Have a delicious breakfast prepared by Melanie
6.Go on The Elkhorn Slough Safari tour (this is an absolute must!!!)
7.If you’re lucky enough to have a second night repeat step one, have dinner at Phil’s, and go on the Sanctuary Cruises whale watch

Stayed: February 2007
4  Thank FWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2007

Anyone who loves boats or birds would especially enjoy this place, but even if you don't, it's a fine getaway. We were impressed with the care the owners put into the rooms (we stayed upstairs in the Pelican Beach room of the Beach House) -- the clever decor (a bed atop a boat and pelicans, pelicans everywhere) and the cleanliness.
Melanie explained that she and her husband actually designed the rooms to take full advantage of the slough view. In our room there were floor-to-ceiling plate-glass windows that came together like the prow of a ship -- making the window view almost like a mural. It was fun watching all the kinds of birds, and we even saw otters cavorting. There is a fine view from the lovely big bath, too. Additionally, everything is sparkling clean.
A bonus for us was that it was nice and quiet, so we could appreciate the natural setting.
A very good breakfast is cooked to order every morning, and homemade cookies are delivered in the evening. Melanie has a good sense of humor and really cares that her guests have a good time. And we did!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BeeVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews