We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Forest”

Shasta-Trinity National Forest
Sherman Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Forest”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

While I only drive up as far as Bunny Flats, the drive through the forest was spectacular. Many people were enjoying mountain biking on steep trails as I drove in; then others were gathering in the parking lot for a hike (overnight? several days?).

Shasta mountain herself was playing coy that morning, clouds covering first one part then another, but the show was fascinating. Would love to go back and hike farther in.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    13
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely gorgeous”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My husband and I drove through and viewed Mt. Shasta and it was gorgeous. It was in mid march and the weather was beautiful. There were several towns surrounding it a with a variety of options for lunch. No souvenir shops or decent lodging though. Overall it was worth the detour we made to drive out and see it though.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mrsboe_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Majestic Beauty”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

The views here are some of the most beautiful in all the world of mountains. Mt Shasta herself is the most majestic of all!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“awesome place to back pack!!”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

the trinities are a very special place to visit. I love to go backpacking. this place is so beautiful. the solitude when I get in the back country is like nothing I've ever known. Bears, cats,bats you name it. has it all. icy high mountain lakes crystal clear...peaceful

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Lots of places to camp and play. Go to the lake, Hike. Have a picnic. Lots of things to do! Try fly fishing in the river!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank earnestxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shasta-Trinity National Forest also viewed

 

Been to Shasta-Trinity National Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing