We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Shasta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Shasta City KOA
Oroville, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Okay, but....”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Day one of a 22 day, 4500 mile trip: hot day, but fortunately, we got a great shady spot. Sadly, it was one of very few shady spots in the entire park. They had large logs in front of the store for sitting...but, got up and had tree sap on our shorts from the overhead trees dripping. Looking further, all the outdoor chairs surrounding the office, laundry, etc., also had the pitch on them. Had to take my laptop to the game room, since Wifi was not available at our site...although advertised. Laundry room was very, very small; old machines. Located in the break room for employees, where their time sheets were kept. Staff seemed unprofessional in discussing matters around customers (since the laundry room was right there behind the desk. Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    19
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
26
13
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The location is great. The train is constant but it doesn't bother us much. Live in one of the cabin with our little family. Cabin is great. Everything is clean, and there's lots of storage space especially when we stayed there for a week. The staffs were friendly. We got there when it was sweltering hot and our doggy needs a swim. Asked the front-desk staff and immediately she recommended a lake 15 mins away and gave such excellent instructions.

Will be back next year.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the train, this is an excellent location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kyanhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Yes there are a couple trains at night, but, overall they didn't bother us too much. Great location, close to town. The forest side with tent camping is wooded with fire rings grills and a picnic table at each site.. honestly the RV side looks pretty set up and I think it's probably a great RV site. It's a great two day tent spot close to town. If you are a lite sleeper the trains passing might bother you though...Extra bonus points for the camp grounds clean bathrooms and showers and friendly peeps run it. It's

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Tent sites close to train tracks, with loud passing trains at least twice/night, can seriously compromise one's sleep. Bathrooms were subpar. Tent sites have no electrical outlets or wifi. Better to find another campground or just stay in a motel

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fchris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mount Shasta hotels

Washington State
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We tent camped here and were absolutely thrilled. It's immaculate, friendly, park-like, quiet, and has everything you'd like in a camp place. Even a laundromat! Cabins, too, for those who want them. The tent sites are apart from the RVs, and we found the sparkling clean showers a huge treat. We would recommend to anyone. The only down side is the sound of trains passing in the night but it was not at all bothersome. Wholeheartedly recommend without reservation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScissorsAndPens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

What a nice place to stay. For being so close to the freeway, it seemed like your in a National Park. The accommodations were clean. Grounds well kept. The manger and staff were very polite and extremely helpful when my car battery died. We felt safe with the other campers there. Lots of area to walk our pets. (big lot on the opposite side of the office). Town was 5 minutes away with great food and drink. Oh yea the train- wasn't a bother. Slept like a baby.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My wife and I have traveled throughout the US and Canada and have tent camped in every condition imagineable - from wilderness to RV parks. So we may have more experience than some reviewers. Now in our 60s, we recently bought a 13 foot Scamp travel trailer and started visiting KOAs. On our most recent trip in far northern California (an area we are very famiar with) we sayed at Mt. Shasta KOA for three nights.. We cannot say enough about Mount Shasta KOA. Friendly and extremely helpful staff. Very clean. Very well stocked store. Convenient to all local attractions - including the mountain itself. I would recommend this KOA to anyone. As XC skiers and snow shoers we will likely return this winter to to use this KOA as a base for exploration of the mountain.

As to the negative comments on this website: some people are negative by nature. They will never be happy with anything. When people moam about unpaved roads or dust I suggest they find something real to worry about.

Gerard F. Roney
San Jose, CA

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerard124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Shasta hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
Best Western Plus Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
956 reviews
1.4 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
66 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#6 of 9 in Mount Shasta
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Swiss Holiday Lodge
Swiss Holiday Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mount Shasta
52 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
#2 of 9 in Mount Shasta
207 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mount Shasta Resort
Mount Shasta Resort
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Shasta City KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Shasta City KOA

Property: Mount Shasta City KOA
Address: 900 N Mount Shasta Blvd, Mount Shasta, CA 96067-9749
Region: United States > California > Mount Shasta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Mount Shasta
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Mount Shasta City Koa Hotel Mount Shasta
Mount Shasta City KOA California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing