We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value; Great Views; A-OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swiss Holiday Lodge
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mount Shasta
Reviewed 21 June 2013

On a quick trip to Northern California from Portland, Oregon and wanted to stay at a moderately priced motel (saving our money for a fantastic dinner at Cafe Maddelena in Dunsmir, down the road). WOW, we found the ideal spot at this motel. Clean, immaculate grounds, friendly staff. Sure, the furniture is right out of a motel movie, but honestly, it's just right for this place. Great shower; comfortable mattress, super Wi-Fi connection. Couldn't be happier for an inexpensive place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

Most of the other hotels were basically asphalt bordered by generic hotel lodging; this place had a nice view (not just an asphalt lot). The continental breakfast, while light, was adequate. Decent lodging at an affordable price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Nice hotel and very clean room but a little on the small side. Fine for two people and wonderful view of Mt. Shasta. Very friendly family that runs the hotel and nice continental breakfast. Would definately stay here again. The room has a coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator but does not have a hair dryer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank suvmomm70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The cost of the room was on par with what we have paid in other motels, the room was clean with plenty of room for 2 people. The breakfast consisted of fresh fruit (watermelon, melon, bananas), hard boiled eggs, toast (bagels & toast), cereal and danishes with coffee, tea, orange and apple juice. A 5 minute walk up the road to a great restaurant/bar. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We paid $71.50 including tax for a newly remodeled room with a King Bed. Out the back window was a clear view of Mt. Shasta and the ever changing clouds and colors. The room is not large, but is adequate for two travellers. A continental breakfast consisting of cereal or packaged Danish was not sufficient to keep us from seeking a restaurant, but for the price, what the heck? The Best Western wanted $139 plus tax and the two clerks at the front counter took phone calls before waiting on customers at the desk, so we found this great deal instead. The Swiss Holiday motel is a bit hard to find, located on old State Route 89 on the south side of town. It has easy freeway access but you can't hear the freeway. The desk clerk at the motel recommended a very good restaurant across the street which serves steaks, ribs and pizza. There is an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub. This is an older motel that has been well maintained and remains attractive.
If you are spoiled by high priced lodging, this may not meet your needs, but we found it charming, quiet, scenic and comfortable.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4, which has a clear view of Mt. Shasta. You may prefer an upstairs room for an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Modestotrekkerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This is an OK place to stay for a night or two. Our room was clean but there was an odor that was more than an annoyance. We left the windows open all night and by morning everything was fine. The beds were comfortable but the room was crowded and noisy. We were next to the office. We did have a view of Mt Shasta from our room. The grounds were well maintained including a large area of grass which would be nice for kids to play. Guests appeared to be young families and older couples. The price is very affordable compared to other options in the area. I would stay there again but I would check the room before I checked in.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TJ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Shasta
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
1.1 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#7 of 9 in Mount Shasta
36 reviews
1.2 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Dunsmuir
Travelodge Dunsmuir
#6 of 6 in Dunsmuir
74 reviews
6.3 mi away
Dunsmuir Lodge
Dunsmuir Lodge
#4 of 6 in Dunsmuir
114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mount Shasta Resort
Mount Shasta Resort
#2 of 9 in Mount Shasta
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Holiday Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Holiday Lodge

Address: 2400 S Mount Shasta Blvd, Mount Shasta, CA 96067-9626
Region: United States > California > Mount Shasta
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mount Shasta
Price Range: £41 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Swiss Holiday Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swiss Holiday Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Holiday Lodge Mount Shasta, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing