We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop over spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shasta Starr Ranch B&B
Ranked #2 of 8 Mount Shasta B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Bill was very gracious to accomodate my family for one night last minute on our way to Oregon. We were greeted in the driveway before we even made it out of the car! A super friendly and professional staff toured us around this lovely home & made sure we were comfortable. The room we were in was HUGE, as was the bathroom, especially considering the age of the home! I felt like we were visiting Grandma's home in the country, which was ideal for us!

Bill and his staff were very knowledgeable about the area and gave us a few options for local dining. They also had some menus from local places in the foyer, which I thought was a great idea! They also directed us to the nearest Lake Siskiyou trail for a morning hike.

The breakfast served made us feel spoiled...nice linens and china, home made crepes stuffed with fresh strawberries and apples, they were delicious!

Oh, and yes, the view from the vernanda is amazing! The only drawback to our stay was that we couldn't get the parrot to speak!

Room Tip: If travelling with more than two people, they have a room with a sleeper sofa in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tclearyn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2011

This B&B is just outside of Mt. Shasta. The rooms in the main house are large, well appointed with very large private bath. The view of Mt. Shasta from the front porch is truly amazing. I have never seen the mountain from this viewpoint before....it looks huge! The owners are very helpful and pleasant. The breakfast was outstanding.

Room Tip: All four bedrooms in the main house are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diana2949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Beautiful house and and the porch has a lovely view of mt shasta. Rooms are clean with nice furnishings. Bed was average. Low quality towels and just a few. The window is in one corner of the room without a view. Small room air conditioner is noisy but keeps bedroom cool but bathroom quite warm. Breakfast was basically scrambled eggs, potatoes, fruit, and 1/2 a polish.
Owners and employees quite gracious. Surprisingly a lot noise from I-5 if windows open.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbieSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

This large B & B has character, antiques, a talking parrot, a sweet resident German Shorthair pointer named Daisy, absolutely accommodating host/owners (Bill and Mary) and huge gourmet breakfasts. It's in the heart of fishing and hiking country on the edge of the tiny town of Mt. Shasta with snowy Mt. Shasta itself looming 14,179 feet above you. We stayed in a separate 2-bedroom cottage with a full kitchen, woodstove, free Wi-Fi, porch with a swing and a stunning view of the mountains. Mary and Bill - the nicest, friendliest people -- greeted us as we walked in the back door of the main house every morning, through their huge country kitchen and into the dining room for a filling, delicious breakfast. This is a great place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Balanceandjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Dust bunnies on the floor, lowest quality soap/shampoo/lotion products...not worth the money. If you want breakfast the "way you like it", then, ASK! Otherwise, you will get whatever they fix. We had scrambled eggs with canned mushrooms and spinach (frozen?). Other guests were asked how they wanted their eggs. Coffee was to be ready at 7am but was not turned on. The house is in need of repair. Bill and wife are very nice innkeepers but the owners don't put the money in to the place. I would have thought the owners would have above average soaps and shampoos but they were Motel 6 quality.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Guatemalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2008

Everything about this B&B was fantastic, the location, the room, the breakfast. Bill the owner was so welcoming and helpful we found it hard to leave! If you don't have a car the town and the beautiful views are only about a 20 minute walk away, and the rooms are so cosy its great to stay here after a long day outdoors. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank amber78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2008

Finding this inn was an absolute bit of luck. From six hundred miles away, I had to arrange for the stay of our large and multi-generational family with their various accommodation needs--all traveling from afar to attend a funeral. The innkeepers could not have been more amazing, helpful and caring. They went above and beyond our expectations and provided a comfortable oasis for us during a most difficult time.

Our family will forever be grateful to them for their kindness, warmth and exceptional service. I look forward to returning for a leisure visit when we can more fully enjoy the lovely grounds and beautiful inn.
The location is convenient and yet close to town and all the surrounding beauty of Mt. Shasta.

Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatureFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Shasta
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
0.9 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
79 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#7 of 9 in Mount Shasta
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
McCloud Hotel
McCloud Hotel
#1 of 3 in McCloud
203 reviews
10.1 mi away
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
1.3 mi away
Swiss Holiday Lodge
Swiss Holiday Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mount Shasta
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shasta Starr Ranch B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shasta Starr Ranch B&B

Address: 1008 W a Barr Rd, Mount Shasta, CA 96067-9465 (Formerly Mount Shasta Ranch Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mount Shasta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Shasta
Price Range: £101 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shasta Starr Ranch B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Northern California, 2-story ranch house offers a rustic glimpse into the past in a historical setting. Built in 1923 by H. D. "Curley" Brown as a thoroughbred horse ranch, the original guest accommodations included the main house and several cottages and bungalows. Present-day guests can still enjoy the unique atmosphere and mood of those early years which are reflected in the Mt. Shasta Ranch Bed & Breakfast. This magnificent home has four spacious guestrooms in the main house, separate carriage house with five bedrooms and a two-bedroom cottage. At the end of the day, sit by the crackling fire and look forward to a large county style breakfast in the morning. We hope our relaxed atmosphere will make you feel at home at Shasta Starr Ranch B & B. We're a gracious affordable alternative to hotels. We look forward to welcoming you. As many of the B & B's long time guests may know Julian and Kachina Starr have purchased the B & B, and as of April 1, 2015, we took over from Bill and Mary Larsen. Bill and Mary have owned the building for 30 years, 20 of which they have run it as the B & B giving it lots of love and hard work. We know many folks will miss them. The Starr's feel honored that the Larsen's chose them as their predecessors and will continue the B & B tradition. The new owners, Julian and Kachina Starr have owned and operated Turtle Rock Resort in Gold Beach, Oregon for eighteen years and will bring their experience to the Northern California B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Shasta Starr Ranch B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Shasta Ranch Hotel Mount Shasta
Mount Shasta Ranch b&b
Shasta Starr Ranch B&B Mount Shasta, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing