We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B on our trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shasta Starr Ranch B&B
Ranked #2 of 8 Mount Shasta B&B and Inns
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best B&B on our trip!”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This was the best B&B on our two week trip to Calf/Oregon. The front porch had plenty of seats to enjoy the views. Location was very close to town. You could help yourself to wine or snacks from the kitchen (to enjoy on the porch). Our room was in the main house and very large, your own bathroom, and beds were comfortable. As other reviews mentioned, there was a window air conditioner but we only needed to use the fan. We really liked the entire house, porch, downstairs (played pool), bedroom etc. Breakfast was ok, I think it was served by the host but he never introduced himself. Some of the other guests had dogs which surprised me you could have pets, I would have appreciated if they told us that when we booked (allergies).

Room Tip: stay in the main house, rooms have their own bathrooms and are very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    11
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
23
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

This is the third year that a big group fron Walnut Creek Unity has come up for a week-end of fun and relaxation, hosted by Bill and Mary. Rooms in the main house are huge, with huge bathrooms, all very retro, homey, and comfy. Prices are very moderate. Views from the couches on the front porch are simply indescribable. Relax at the ranch with bocce, pool, ping pong, piano, horse shoes, you name it. Close to the City of Mt Shasta and Lake Siskiyou (nice beaches, boating, patio boats, fishing). Play golf at nearby Mt Shasta Resort Consider reserving the entire place for a spring or fall time slot when the seasons are changing and you can avoid the big crowds. There are 11 bedrooms on the main site and a 2 br creek side cottage nearby. Come and let your spirit soar.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We enjoyed a large room with a king size bed in the main house. The rooms have limited views of Mt Shasta. However, the covered front porch has a great view of Mt Shasta and plenty of chairs and couches to sit and enjoy. Tea, coffee and wine are available at any time during the day for no extra charge. The rooms in the main house are all upstairs. The lower floor of the main house has a dining area, pool table, ping pong table, lots of seating areas and a wonderful fireplace. We were served two different yummy breakfasts the two mornings we were there. Bill was a great host. Loved the dog and parrot. Highly recommended!! We plan on returning to the Mt Shasta Ranch.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CA_Travel_Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This B&B deserves a big praise! The amount of attention to detail can be seen from the lavishly decorated and comfortable guest rooms, living room, kitchen etc. Due to a slight mistake by the staff we were allocated to a cottage on our first night. It had an awesome view of Mt Shasta, most comfortable bed (so comfy we slept immediately after our heads touched the pillow), lovely living room and a swing at the porch. We couldn't ask for more! The second night at the room in the main house had a HUGE lovely bathroom and comfy bed as well. On the whole we were very satisfied with the specialized services (e.g. complementary wine, interesting and healthy breakfast menu, chit chats etc) and recreational facilities (pool table, table-tennis, even a pull-up bar). The only minor discomfort we had were perhaps the shower tap in the cottage (hard to control) and the door locks (tends to get stuck sometimes). Otherwise everything was almost done to perfection. Great place to stay in esp if you're visiting Mt Shasta!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klamath Falls, Oregon, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2012

HIGHLY recommend this place!​ Bill was a great host! Gracious and accomodati​ng. Friendly, but lets you have your space. Tasty, fresh, attractive​ breakfasts​. LOVED the building itself -- the rooms, the decor, the rustic (yet clean) appearance. The view is FANTASTIC! The dining and living areas had ample room. It was everything​ that we hoped for in a Bed and Breakfast.​ VERY inviting! The price was good, and we do hope to go back -- and SOON! I honestly cannot think of anything critical of this place, and we've been to several B&Bs.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Former thoroughbred horse ranch with huge bedrooms and baths in main house. Each room
unique with oriental carpet, one-of-a-kind antique furniture. Run of house. Dining room /kitchen
decorated with vintage china and kitchenware. Staff friendly, helpful. 24-hour coffee/tea and
fresh-baked goodies in the afternoon. Also wine for evening. 75 foot porch with spectacular view of Mt. Shasta, couches to relax, ruminate. At breakfast time, chat with Ahab. He says "hello" in
many different tones. Also "Praise the Lord, Merry Christmas, Meow..." Great health food store
nearby in town. Nice breakfast. REAL cream for the coffee! Privileges to store our food in the
frig. Great sightseeing recommendations from Bill, owner, host, and main chef! Toki Noricks

Room Tip: Rooms in the main ranch house are large, as are bathrooms. And you're closer to kitchen and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tokiko N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alta Loma, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Bill was very gracious to accomodate my family for one night last minute on our way to Oregon. We were greeted in the driveway before we even made it out of the car! A super friendly and professional staff toured us around this lovely home & made sure we were comfortable. The room we were in was HUGE, as was the bathroom, especially considering the age of the home! I felt like we were visiting Grandma's home in the country, which was ideal for us!

Bill and his staff were very knowledgeable about the area and gave us a few options for local dining. They also had some menus from local places in the foyer, which I thought was a great idea! They also directed us to the nearest Lake Siskiyou trail for a morning hike.

The breakfast served made us feel spoiled...nice linens and china, home made crepes stuffed with fresh strawberries and apples, they were delicious!

Oh, and yes, the view from the vernanda is amazing! The only drawback to our stay was that we couldn't get the parrot to speak!

Room Tip: If travelling with more than two people, they have a room with a sleeper sofa in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tclearyn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Shasta
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
Best Western Plus Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
956 reviews
1.0 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
66 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#6 of 9 in Mount Shasta
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Swiss Holiday Lodge
Swiss Holiday Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mount Shasta
52 reviews
10.1 mi away
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
0.9 mi away
Mount Shasta Resort
Mount Shasta Resort
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shasta Starr Ranch B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shasta Starr Ranch B&B

Property: Shasta Starr Ranch B&B
Address: 1008 W a Barr Rd, Mount Shasta, CA 96067-9465 (Formerly Mount Shasta Ranch Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mount Shasta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Shasta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shasta Starr Ranch B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Northern California, 2-story ranch house offers a rustic glimpse into the past in a historical setting. Built in 1923 by H. D. "Curley" Brown as a thoroughbred horse ranch, the original guest accommodations included the main house and several cottages and bungalows. Present-day guests can still enjoy the unique atmosphere and mood of those early years which are reflected in the Mt. Shasta Ranch Bed & Breakfast. This magnificent home has four spacious guestrooms in the main house, separate carriage house with five bedrooms and a two-bedroom cottage. At the end of the day, sit by the crackling fire and look forward to a large county style breakfast in the morning. We hope our relaxed atmosphere will make you feel at home at Shasta Starr Ranch B & B. We're a gracious affordable alternative to hotels. We look forward to welcoming you. As many of the B & B's long time guests may know Julian and Kachina Starr have purchased the B & B, and as of April 1, 2015, we took over from Bill and Mary Larsen. Bill and Mary have owned the building for 30 years, 20 of which they have run it as the B & B giving it lots of love and hard work. We know many folks will miss them. The Starr's feel honored that the Larsen's chose them as their predecessors and will continue the B & B tradition. The new owners, Julian and Kachina Starr have owned and operated Turtle Rock Resort in Gold Beach, Oregon for eighteen years and will bring their experience to the Northern California B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shasta Starr Ranch B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Shasta Ranch Hotel Mount Shasta
Mount Shasta Ranch b&b
Shasta Starr Ranch B&B Mount Shasta, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing