We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a comfortable place with character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shasta Starr Ranch B&B
Ranked #2 of 8 Mount Shasta B&B and Inns
Whakatane,New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“a comfortable place with character”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Some distance out of town so a car is necessary but a very comfortable establisnment with loads of old world charm.Very large rooms and bedrooms in the main building with interesting old world decor .Very relaxing to sit outside on the front porch and watch deer pass by We enjoyed the complimentery white and red wines and the use of the kitchen facilities.This kind of accommodation is ,in our opinion,infinitely preferable to the standard motel offering.

Room Tip: any one of the 4 doublebedrooms in the main building or the 2 bedroom cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    12
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
24
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sherman Oaks, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We are big B&B patrons and have stayed in many old houses that have been converted into inns. Usually the interiors retain many aspects of the original house but the bathrooms and guest rooms are upgraded with a view towards recreating the bygone era. The Mt. Shasta Ranch has a lot of work to be done. Our room in the main house was furnished in what felt like yard sale bargains. The alarm clock, bedside table, and mostly everything on the walls was dusty. The walls are paper thin and we had very loud neighbors that we had to ask to quiet down after midnight. The staff disappear after nine. The bathroom floor had vinyl tiles that were rotten and the shower head was full of crusty deposits. There was no hair dryer and the toilet had a weird handle that was difficult to operate. The stairs up to the rooms were in need of replacement and the breakfast was a burnt empty peach crepe and a chunk of turkey sausage. Not the creative offerings found at better inns. The house also serves as a real estate office and once we checked in we were left to figure things out. No warm and friendly introductions to the other guests or recommendations on what to do. It seemed like the office was more important than the guests. This is more a boarding house than a B&B as they can have up to 35 guests. Also, the history behind the original ranch is totally lost. There are a few photos and a newspaper article in the office. The gentleman was nice but his wife seemed less than happy with it all. This inn has tremendous potential but needs a ton of work. We recommend the Shasta Mount Inn if you are looking for a romantic old home with great food, views and a very hospitable host.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to stay. It is very relaxing. The inn keepers are super nice people and they have lots for guests to do at the ranch and in the area. Hope to use it for a family reunion. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jammingdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I always feel welcome when I arrive and refreshed when I leave. Plus, their prices are more than fair, and the breakfast is delicious! It is quaint and quirky, and probably needs some fresh paint, but the homeyness is enjoyable and the front porch is idyllic.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed for only one night but that one night was so relaxing and comfortable that we just did not want to leave. Sitting out on the open porch with Mt. Shasta in the view was magical and the dinner recommendation was great too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ess0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed three nights for the first time. Feels like home with such a nice hosts, fire place, charming rooms, wonderful breakfast and a beautiful view of Mount Shasta....LOVE IT! Will came again next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeYonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed here for a four nights. It was perfect! The staff was amazing! I went to Mt Shasta to run, relax, hike. I stayed in the carriage house, with access to the main house. Each morning, the breakfast was amazing! I don't eat meat, so I was given vegetarian options! Complimentary wine, tea, coffee, and treat of the day :). The location of the B&B was perfect! 1 mile from Lake Siskiyou, where there's a beautiful 7 mile trail loop. Only a few miles from hiking at Mt Shasta! Stores within walking distance (a mile)! I cannot say enough good about my stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emtheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Shasta hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
Best Western Plus Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
981 reviews
1.0 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
70 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#6 of 9 in Mount Shasta
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Swiss Holiday Lodge
Swiss Holiday Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mount Shasta
53 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Shasta Resort
Mount Shasta Resort
#2 of 9 in Mount Shasta
210 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shasta Starr Ranch B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shasta Starr Ranch B&B

Property: Shasta Starr Ranch B&B
Address: 1008 W a Barr Rd, Mount Shasta, CA 96067-9465 (Formerly Mount Shasta Ranch Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mount Shasta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Shasta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shasta Starr Ranch B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Northern California, 2-story ranch house offers a rustic glimpse into the past in a historical setting. Built in 1923 by H. D. "Curley" Brown as a thoroughbred horse ranch, the original guest accommodations included the main house and several cottages and bungalows. Present-day guests can still enjoy the unique atmosphere and mood of those early years which are reflected in the Mt. Shasta Ranch Bed & Breakfast. This magnificent home has four spacious guestrooms in the main house, separate carriage house with five bedrooms and a two-bedroom cottage. At the end of the day, sit by the crackling fire and look forward to a large county style breakfast in the morning. We hope our relaxed atmosphere will make you feel at home at Shasta Starr Ranch B & B. We're a gracious affordable alternative to hotels. We look forward to welcoming you. As many of the B & B's long time guests may know Julian and Kachina Starr have purchased the B & B, and as of April 1, 2015, we took over from Bill and Mary Larsen. Bill and Mary have owned the building for 30 years, 20 of which they have run it as the B & B giving it lots of love and hard work. We know many folks will miss them. The Starr's feel honored that the Larsen's chose them as their predecessors and will continue the B & B tradition. The new owners, Julian and Kachina Starr have owned and operated Turtle Rock Resort in Gold Beach, Oregon for eighteen years and will bring their experience to the Northern California B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shasta Starr Ranch B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Shasta Ranch Hotel Mount Shasta
Mount Shasta Ranch b&b
Shasta Starr Ranch B&B Mount Shasta, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing