We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonably priced but dreary.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finlandia Motel & Lodge
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mount Shasta
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced but dreary.”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We had Unit One with a kitchen which was fairly well-equipped though the rings on the cooker had suffered from previous occupants' use. There was no air con -just a big fan that made a great noise. The large refrigerator was useful though a little cracked. For complete freshness and comfort some things needed renovating we thought. Only one housekeeping visit in four days. The rest of the motel accommodation looked more modern.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poetryeuropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    16
    12
    8
    8
See reviews for
17
16
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We checked out this place based on reviews from here and yelp. We got the pine room, one of the deluxe and it was very nice. $110. We came too late to check out the sauna. The check-in staff was very sweet an helpful

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maybeperhaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The Finlandia has always been the place for us to stay with our dogs as we visit Mt/ Shasta. The staff and owner are friendly people who have always been helpful and welcoming to guests.

We usually visit Shasta around Thanksgiving but this year 5th in a row) we are planning to stay over Memorial day weekend and do some fishing.

Rooms are perfect size, clean and comfortable

Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbailey90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Shasta, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Yes the Finlandia has an excellent Sauna and Hot tub however you mention a pool? Don't know what you were smoking or dringing but the Finlandia does not have a pool and never has had one, and second of all you do not need to get the Sauna key a day early it is stated on line and when you check in it is by appointment only so if you just pick a time it is ready and availble. I stay there all the time and thought the rooms in the lower part might be a little old fashion they are nice and the Delux rooms are very nice and updated and i have been to most motels in Mount Shasta and Finlandia is one of the lowest in price besides a few dives i would never think of staying in. And i have never had any problem getting ahold of anyone sence they changed the phone services they used to have.

Room Tip: Room 25 which is a one bedroom apt off by it self very quit and private room 22 view of the Mountian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tami D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed here twice and enjoyed the sauna both times. The rooms had a distinctly hotel smell, which made it unpleasant. I thought it was overpriced. Ok, that's LInda speaking, for myself I have to start down the street, first visit to Shasta. it was midnight and we stopped at the Seven Eleven. I got a burrito and put it in the microwave and it exploded. That was truly dramatic. So by the time we got to Finlandia I thought we were in good hands. One touch I liked at the hotel was matching paintings above the beds. And yes, the sauna was very good though Linda almost passed out. Ok, back to you hon. The staff is cordial once you get ahold of them. The keys to the sauna seem to reside somewhere down the road.
The swimming pool looks like it hasn't been used since 1978. Will we go back? Bill again... I must say that the morning we got back on the road, we asked and got directed to the Black Bear Diner. Wow. Wow. There was this mob of old ladies eating all kinds of stuff. And then when the waiter, who is the owner's son checked on us because he forgot to put in our order, and knelt by Linda, she looked over and saw this guy kneeling there and screamed really loudly! Then she looked back and he was still there and so screamed again. Then I got pissed and asked him to back away from the table. Anyway, he comped us our breakfast which was really nice. Back to you hon. In conclusion, our stay at the Finlandia was traumatic, though it's not your fault. We might be your perfect customers.

Room Tip: be sure to ask for the sauna the night before
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleBo12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I was looking for a 2 bedroom suite in Mt. Shasta for my family to stay a couple of nights and Finlandia had the best value. We had a wonderful time. The room was large and comfortable and had the feel of a cabin in the woods. It was clean and in a quiet area in the back. The beds and pillows were comfortable. I really appreciated that it had a microwave and a refridgerator as we were able to eat in the room for several meals. We didn't try the Sauna, but I did really enjoy the hot tub. If you are a light sleeper like me, be aware that the heater comes on and off all thru the night. It is not super loud, but it could be annoying to some. Also we could hear the people next door moving around and showering, etc. in the morning before we were ready to get up. Both of these issues were easily solved with the use of ear plugs - I never leave home without them! The only other thing that could be a little better is the towels are small and thin and there was only enough for one each, which if you are using the hot tub in the evening and a shower in the morning it wasn't enough. This was easily solved by asking for extra towels, which they happily provided. Or you could bring some beach towels yourself for use in the sauna. Overall I am very pleased with our stay and that I didn't have to spend alot of money to take my family on a vacation to Mt.Shasta. I definately recommend it and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJH79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights. The room was comfortable and clean. The shower was not entirely clean. The furniture was old but the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Shasta
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
Best Western Plus Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
0.5 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#6 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Swiss Holiday Lodge
Swiss Holiday Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
4.8 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
#4 of 6 in Dunsmuir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
#2 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlandia Motel & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlandia Motel & Lodge

Property: Finlandia Motel & Lodge
Address: 1612 S Mount Shasta Blvd, Mount Shasta, CA 96067-9453
Region: United States > California > Mount Shasta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mount Shasta
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Finlandia Motel and Lodge, located in beautiful Mount Shasta, California. We are proud to offer you free wireless internet, access to a spa, Finnish sauna, and complimentary coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finlandia Motel And Lodge
Finlandia Hotel Mount Shasta
Finlandia Motel Mount Shasta
Finlandia Motel & Lodge Mount Shasta, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing