We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flys in the Pots”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mount Shasta Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mount Shasta
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Flys in the Pots”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We recently rented the 2 bedroom Chalet. The location is beautiful! Yet the chalets are managed incredibly bad. We rented the chalet specifically because we like to cook. We soon discovered it to be a poorly equipped kitchen. The oven was falling apart, no dishwasher and only the most rudimentary kitchen gadgets available. It is a bit hard to make pasta and bake cookies without pans, cookie sheets and colanders. The lazy housekeeping staff did bring me 2 pots. When I opened the pots they had flies and cobwebs. We stayed three nights and the most we got out of the lazy staff was one made bed and some fresh towels. Then the staff left an envelope for a tip....Yikes! At 235.00 buckaroos a night it should have better service. We did love the layout of the chalet but next time for this price we will rent from V.R.B.O.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hisfollower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    83
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
46
101
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We checked-in pretty late, but we had informed earlier about the late checkin.
The 2 bedroom chalet we stayed at, was super cool. It was very homely, clean and well maintained.

There is plenty of seating, a neat fire place, plenty of utensils in the kitchen.
However, the beds were not properly done when we requested house-keeping to clean up the rooms. The linen was all haphazardly tucked in.

Apart from this...no other complaints. Will definitely go there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

If you like fresh air, hiking, fishing, golf or just the great outdoors, this is the spot. From almost everywhere, you have a beautiful view of Mount Shasta. The living quarters are two minutes away from the lodge located amidst the pine trees. Wonderful smells in the morning. The room was not yet renovated, but comfortable nonetheless. Comfy king bed with a large spa tub in a spacious room. The newly renovated rooms (I got to see one) are beautiful. And the massages in the spa are the best. Great place to go get yourself rejuvenated. Golf course is beautiful and more challenging than one might think. Dining is good, especially as you sit looking out at the mountain. Getting ready for our next visit.

Room Tip: Get a renovated room. They are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palmdesertdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near Birmingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I am English, so I see this beautiful place through those eyes. Mount Shasta is one the 7 sacred locations in the World according to Buddhist tradition. Okay, that already makes it special. But add to that the secluded, luxurious wooden chalets on the side of a lake in a pine forest and you have all the spiritual enchantment and peace in the world. This place is just breathtaking.

The resort is also a golf haven, but I didn't go there for that, so can't comment on it. The hotel staff are the height of impeccable service, with catering and facilities which are perfect. Not too ostentatious, but still of high quality. Just wonderful service!

I have no hesitation in recommending this 100% to the nervous English traveller who wants to see America but finds it all a bit overwhelming. Here it is small and friendly and you could certainly go there alone, as I did.

It was tranquil, healing, restful and special. What more can I say...

Room Tip: Perfect for first time visit to America
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

For golfing, family reunions and/or mountain adventures, Mt Shasta Resort is lovely. The mountain view is spectacular, and the lodges comfortable and nice. We stayed in a chalet with a queen sofa bed and a queen in the bedroom which comfortably hosted myself, my two little kids and a family friend (kids and I slept in bedroom, she in sofa bed). The chalet was quite comfortable, though I'm going to ding them for their room service. We arrived to a half cleaned cabin, with stains in the bathroom and some garbage from the last guest, which was a little gross. However, when we called it in the manager was hugely apologetic and gave us a discount off of the tab. Unfortunately the next night housekeeping still missed a few things so i think they need to fix the cleaning issue. The chalets are located a bit far from the lobby and restaurant, so a car is definitely required (not walking distance from chalets to the lobby/restaurant). Would have preferred if they called that out on the website while booking. Nothing is in walking distance; not the lobby/restaurant, golf links or the town center, so a car is definitely a must.

Also, the wifi connection in the chalets (though impressive that they even had it all all) was VERY spotty. I was not able to connect to my company's intranet at all. The manager told me they are working on this so this may be fixed in the future. If you want to work during your trip, I'd reconsider at this time since connection is so poor.

However, other than those few things, the resort is nice and compared to some of the other places I drove by in the town, I'd recommend it. Staff is super nice and when we complained about a few things they were highly apologetic. Standard here seems higher than other resorts/hotes in the area, and the town/area itself is magical. In spite of the poor housecleaning, the chalets are really nice and a great spot for a family reunion (which actually took place while we were there; neat to see!).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie_Traveladvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2010

I went there with extended family for the memorial day weekend. We stayed in a lake view chalet (2bed 1.5bath). We were 6 adults + 1kid. The place was big enough for us, kitchen was well equipped. The lakeview isn't much of the view. The food from the restaurant in the club house (where you check-in) was good and portions were pretty big. The place is near most of the local attractions. Must see Castle lake. Nice hikes also close. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vizboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

I made a reservation for a few days in February 2010 for a weekend of snowboarding. When you book online, they tell you at check-out that there is a cancellation fee of 10%, but I booked nonetheless, since we had no intention of cancelling. Then the unforeseen happened and my son fractured his wrist, forcing us to postpone the trip. I called Mount Shasta Resort 10 days before our reservation date to reschedule for two weeks later, but they still insisted on collecting the 10% cancellation fee! They didn't care that it was a medical emergency and they didn't care that I wasn’t cancelling but rescheduling. The unhelpful receptionist even checked with the manager, and he/she insisted on collecting the fee. Needless to say, I canceled the whole thing and I hope the 10% was worth it for them.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hongerhond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Shasta
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
Best Western Plus Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
1.3 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.3 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#6 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Swiss Holiday Lodge
Swiss Holiday Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
9.6 mi away
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
1.5 mi away
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
#2 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Shasta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Shasta Resort

Property: Mount Shasta Resort
Address: 1000 Siskiyou Lake Blvd, Mount Shasta, CA 96067-9482
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mount Shasta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mount Shasta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Shasta Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of beautiful Mount Shasta is one of Northern California's finest All-Season Resorts. Mount Shasta Resort encompasses all that you could ask for when searching for a place to stay and play. After 18 holes of golf, dine in our beautiful restaurant or relax more casually in our family friendly lounge. Unwind amidst some of the most pristine landscape imaginable in our Chalet accommodations with separate kitchenette, dining room, deck, and living room with a cozy gas fireplace. Be sure to visit the Evergreen Day Spa after a long day of skiing, fishing or golfing, for total relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mount Shasta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Shasta Hotel Mount Shasta
Mt Shasta Resort
Mount Shasta Resort California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing