We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST DEAL”
Review of Alpine Lodge

Alpine Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpine Lodge
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Mount Shasta
Redding, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEST DEAL”
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We were in mt shasta for sking for 2 nites we checked out several hotels for the rate they were awafully high( ripping of people) the we were recommended by a gas station in mt shasta to ALPINE LODGE (formely called the econo lodge).there we foung a suite for $125.00 and it served our purpose and it also had kitchen attached to It was awesome stay and the girl on the desk was so polite and help us a lot.we will surely be back when ever we r in the area.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank motel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    10
    4
    7
See reviews for
7
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

We paid $69, which given the quality of fixtures and fittings (vs. say a Motel 6), was a bit over the odds, but then again, it was well situated in Mt. Shatsa, close to a couple of restaurants (and there aren't many in town that we could see). Guy on the front desk was incredibly polite and helpful and it served a purpose. Internet worked fine and for a one night stay did a job. Would I stay there again? I would try somewhere else if I could get the same room price, but if not, yes. Wouldn't want to stay there more than a couple of nights, mind.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatmansan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2006

My experience got off to a bad start as the reservation that I made was not found by the desk clerk. I indicated that I made the reservation on the Econolodge web site and she nonchalantly replied that she did not know how to log in to the computer to retrieve on-line reservations. Unbelievable! Luckily I was there during a weekday so they had a room available. The room was an average 2* motel room. It was a clean, large upstairs room with a queen bed and a twin bed. It had a lot of amenities: microwave, refrigerator, cable TV, phone, coffee maker, and shampoo. They provide a continental breakfast but it consists of a bag with a packaged pastry and orange juice that you get when checking in. The room was quiet at night but traffic on the main road starts early in the morning and might wake you up. All of the rooms in the motel are fairly close to the road. I only paid $40 for the room which made it a great value and made it easy to overlook the problems with my stay.

  • Tips/Secrets — You'll probably find the best rates on their web site but be sure to call them to check if they have your reservation.
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank giantsfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelowna, BC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2006

We happened to stay at the EconoLodge as our car broke down just in front of it, and we were lucky enough to find - next door !!!- a devoted small garage who made incredible efforts to help us.
A sort of fairy tale ! We spent 3 days there walking the streets of Mt Shasta, a wonderful community (I especially recommend the Berryvale Whole Foods store with its excellent lunch counter).
And what a view !!!
Well the EconoLodge is more or less OK, real old and dirty looking on the outside, but inside it offers interesting features for a family stay and it has a pool. Its rates ($69) were the most reasonable in Mt Shasta. It seems to attract a large number of returning customers who have stayed there every year for the last 20 years or so !
This is very far from a classy place but after all, everything considered, it's a decent value.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Outside condition
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not satay in rooms above the garbage bins !!!
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frenchapache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2006

I and my friends stayed there for 2 nights (7/18&7/19). The frontdesk clerk was very nice, but the room was terrible!!!
We got room #5. As soon as we removed bed spread, we found some bugs on the blanket. We complained to the clerk, but he told us that there should not be any bugs in Mt. Shasta (?!?!). He said we could change to another room for 2nd night. We had to stay #5 for 1st night with bugs, flies and spiders. Bathroom was very old and dirty with old soap and shampoo from the previous guests. All the towels were very very old. There was used tissues under the bed. The first night was nothing but terrible experience. We wanted to move to another place, but guy said there was NO REFUND, so we decided to move to upstairs room #16. This room was a lot bigger and cleaner. There was refregirator and microwave in the room. If you have to stay this place, make sure you will get a room on upstairs!! Very convenient location but do not expect anything from this place!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmurakami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mount Shasta hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 September 2004

We made a reservation in person in May 2004 for Labor Day Weekend. We were quoted $59.00 for a queen bed room because we reserved early. We just called today (9/2/04) to double check our reservation and the desk clerk said the rate would be $89.00 + tax because it was a holiday weekend. The desk clerk made no effort to honor the previous commitment.
We used to be faithful customers of that motel. Never again! We cancelled the reservation and just reserved a room at the Motel 6 just up the road in Weed at the last minute for $55.00 + tax (and they don't even charge us extra for our dog!)

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2004

Booked a reservation at this hotel 2 months in advance and was quoted $59.00. when i checked in the manger said it was $79.00, that i had misunderstood him. Wanted to stay at the tree house hotel but the town was sold-out, busy weekend. Ended up going to Weed, and finding a hotel for $50.00.

Helpful?
8 Thank laxjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Shasta
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
Best Western Plus Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#6 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Swiss Holiday Lodge
Swiss Holiday Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
5.3 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
#5 of 6 in Dunsmuir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
#2 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge

Property: Alpine Lodge
Address: 908 S Mount Shasta Blvd, Mount Shasta, CA 96067-2719 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Region: United States > California > Mount Shasta
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Mount Shasta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpine Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Mount Shasta
Mount Shasta Econo Lodge
Alpine Lodge Mount Shasta, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing