We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, great wifi”
Review of Hotel Vue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vue
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Clean, comfortable, great wifi”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed in one of the king suites, and the room was generously sized, with a desk comfortable for sitting at for a few hours, plentiful outlets by the bed for recharging various electronics, and, as a welcome surprise, a small refrigerator. Somewhat oddly, the sink was outside the bathroom, with no towels near at hand, nor a place to hang one after you grab it from the bathroom. That said, the sink and its mirror had good lighting, which I found helpful during my morning shave.

Most surprising of all was the stunning speed of the free wifi. I've acclimated to getting crappy wifi whenever I stay in a hotel, but in this case I was able to stream some TV shows from Netflix at peak evening hours with no problem at all. Oh, yeah, and I was able to get some work done, too.

I will stay here every time I come to Mountain View if they have a room available.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    80
    30
    12
    7
See reviews for
61
36
25
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona City, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Wow..let me digest how excellent and attentive the staff and manager are..they made me feel welcome by greeting me by my name which I love ..great customer service. .my checkin and check out was memorable great rooms I must say loved everthing about rooms and amenities. .housekeeping excellent..I wud recommend this place to anyone coming over..cannot miss that die for friendly manager Avinesh Gounder you are the reason why I would definitely share this place with friends n family's. ..keep that excellent professional personality...can we clone Avinesh as need some of him in hotels here in Arizona. ..all the best Hotel Vue

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millsfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a Friday night and was greeted by very friendly staff. I was informed that the entire hotel was renovated and was pleasantly surprised for what I got at the price I got. I stayed in room 214, the superior king room. I would recommend this place seeing as it is a great deal for what you get. I wouldn't be surprised if they raised their prices soon. But regardless, the super friendly staff sold me on this place. I commend all the workers that made my stay pleasant.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank instantoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We experienced a real dive the night before and thus, were determined to find something much better the night we booked Hotel Vue. It was pure luxury in comparison and despite the ability to hear the girl's conversation in the next room, once I knocked a couple times she was quiet and we were all able to sleep very well. I liked the bathroom toiletries which didn't wreak my hair and felt for the price this was a very good place to be near Facebook and Google headquarters. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is par for the course and hit the spot. The rooms were very nicely appointed. Don't tell too many others because we want to be able to stay here again and not have it booked up.:)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I spent two nights at the Hotel Vue last month and found it to be a good hotel, but the found the service to be the most noteworthy part. I really appreciated the breakfast, which I thought was just fine. I didn't eat the eggs, but the oatmeal and fruit was tasty.

The two gentlemen at the front desk that I interacted with were both very helpful. The first person was super helpful about the shuttle bus going to the Google Campus, and the second helped me track down a nice place to run. I appreciated it a lot!

One thing though, we were told we could walk downtown to the main street where all the restaurants are. It's actually quite far, so if you decide to do it, wear your comfiest shoes!

Also, the hotel was nice and quiet, which I really appreciated as it is on a relatively busy street, and I was unsure if that would be the case.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryjomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I picked this because of price and proximity to my kids as well as a supposedly renewed property. In this case I got less than I paid for.

The hotel has been "renovated," but what that means is unclear, except perhaps for the sort of nice vanity sink and a decent bed. The hallways and room have a dark, unwelcoming feel. The room was quite small for the king sized bed.

The hotel has no lobby to speak of, a Spartan breakfast area, and a tiny front desk staffed by people of varying professionalism--one at a time, which means that if the staff person is off doing some chore nobody is at home. The parking is very limited, and the rear parking lot was extremely--dangerously--dark. When I was there the room key did not open the back door, which is out of sight from the front desk. The options were (a) pound on the door; (b) arrive to find it totally open to all and sundry. When I remarked that that was not so safe, the staffer responded that it was necessary because the keys don't work in it. Somehow that didn't seem to me to be the most enlightened response.

I was informed by the manager that the rear door problem is being addressed. However that doesn't do much to improve the uncomfortable feel of the property. El Camino is sort of a roller coaster as to hotels, and this one was definitely a low.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillionMiler966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I had to spend a night in Mountain View and found a good price for this hotel. It's well-run. Wifi works well, room was clean and spacious, and the breakfast in the morning was as good as anything you can hope for (steelcut oatmeal and fresh fruit were better than the instant eggs and bacon). I also appreciated the water at the front desk and the cookies in the afternoon. My only complaint was that the A/C wasn't as strong as I wanted it, but I opened my sliding door and enjoyed the cool breeze from the outside.

Room Tip: I got a room facing away from the road. I imagine this is more desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
0.8 mi away
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zico
Hotel Zico
#4 of 18 in Mountain View
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Strata
Hotel Strata
#1 of 18 in Mountain View
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
#3 of 18 in Mountain View
566 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
929 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mountain View - S Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vue

Property: Hotel Vue
Address: 64 W El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mountain View
#4 Family Hotel in Mountain View
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vue 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a new boutique hotel in Mountain View, California - the vibrant heart of Silicon Valley. Hotel Vue is an intimate, contemporary hotel with a blend of high-tech amenities and warm hospitality that make you feel right at home in the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mountain View
Hotel Lodge Mountain View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing