We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TRAFFIC!!!”

Shoreline Amphitheatre
Attraction details
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“TRAFFIC!!!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

SUCH A BUMMER! Took us longer to get into the venue than the actual concert we were trying to attend.:(...& this was allowing a what should of been a 15 minute drive that ended up taking 2 hrs to get into Shoreline!!! Its been like 10 yrs since I've been to Shoreline, but something is wrong with this picture!?! I get a bit of traffic happens with big concerts, but What happened?!? They have to have figured out how to move traffic by now???? serious bummer. Some folks around us walked in during the last 3 songs:(:(:(

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HR V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    38
    20
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“AVOID this place like the plague!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We have been travelling to the US for over 30 years and have been to numerous sporting, music and festival events. I have always been impressed with the way large numbers of cars and traffic is managed at these events in America. However, I have never had such a horrendous experience getting to and from this venue for the Depeche Mode concert last night. From downtown San Fran to parking took over 3 hours and there were hundreds of cars still behind us missing a huge part of the show. How there were no serious traffic incidents I will never know. Token gesture at traffic management after the show meant a further 2 hour journey back to San Fran. It's just not worth it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank reevesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oroville, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great place for a concert”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We have now been to a couple of concert here and have enjoyed the experience. We have never had actual seat, so this review will be in terms of that. I will say if the person or group you are seeing is conducive to sitting on the lawn it is actually pretty fun. Get there a bit early and bring some treats to enjoy while you wait. When choosing the spot to put your blanket get somewhere that you can see a screen easily and the actual stage as well. Make sure to choose it standing up, as with most crowds to see you will have to stand. (since everyone in front of you will stand.) Also, factor in the railings into your viewing choice.

As with most outdoor huge concerts the vocals are a bit difficult to hear, but we have found the music in general good. It may vary according to the act.

You can't bring in alcohol, so if you want a libation it will be pricey. (another reason to bring in your own snacks so that does not cost you even more.

I found different sites saying different things about what you can bring in, but we were able to bring in a normal non-lense camera, food in little 6-pack sized soft sized tote ice chests, and water bottles. You may also bring in blankets to spread and low back lawn chairs. Binoculars are also a good idea.

The drawback to the concerts is the time it takes to get out of the very congested area. We parked in the free parking area near the entrance, but it took us about an hour to get out of there. Perhaps the pricey options get a better exit strategy. Just be patient and have something to do as you wait.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gdncd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First time here and will go back..”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Amazing concert venue. People complain about the parking, we purchased a VIP parking pass and it was worth it. Cruised right into the parking lot, tailgated for a while then about 1/2 hour before concert got in line, they were quick getting us in. The bathrooms were clean, lines moved fast. Beer expensive, food too but we ate in the parking lot and had a few beers out there too. We saw Kid Rock here. Getting out of parking lot was a breeze as well. Two turns and a short distance and we were on the freeway. The parking pass was well worth the money..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DCarpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty, Missouri
Level Contributor
232 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“4th of July exciting!!!!!”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Enjoyed the 4th there listening to the San Francisco Symphony and then watching fireworks. Fabulous spot for families. apparently accommodated 22,000 of us without a hitch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank GGMaSue19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shoreline Amphitheatre also viewed

 

Been to Shoreline Amphitheatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing