We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue, kind of like a little carnival”

Shoreline Amphitheatre
Attraction details
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great venue, kind of like a little carnival”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Saw Depeche Mode here in late September and altho I have lived in Bay Area for 40 years had never been. Cool venue with carnival midway style concessions as you enter. Also, a large outdoor bar and scattered picnic tables. In the seating ares, we sat in the very last row of reserved seating (in front of the lawn area, and I highly recommend this as it is easy to exit and enter because you are next to a wide walkway. The acoustics are a little flat but is a fun atmosphere. Driving in and parking is a real drag - we took a cab. On the way there, not so bad altho we had cabbie drop off us off about 3 blocks from entrance as it was easier to walk. On way out, we had to walk about 5-6 blocks before we found a line of cabs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank vincent p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    42
    20
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
santa barbara
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Stay off the LAWN”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We went to the Jason Aldean concert and chose the lawn.. Big mistake. Small video monitors, poor sound quality, cant even see people on the stage it is so far away. The lawn itself is so steep it is uncomfortable to stand or sit in a lawn chair. The 20 or so port-a-potties were so inadequate this part of the venue should be shut down by whoever allows them to foist this on the public. There is one bar with huge lines and $12 beer!

I'd consider going back to try the up front seating but the lines were so long to get in and the traffic so bad getting out it would not be worth it.

The concert dropped one artist without explanation or refund, started an hour late and there was another boring hour between the remaining two acts.

There are much better places to see good shows. Stay away from this poorly planned mob scene

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lousy sound system”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We attended the Keith Urban Fuse concert. He is a fantastic musician and performer. Sadly, the venue was terrible. The sound system was awful. I don't know the technical terms, but I could feel what I assume is the bass vibrating through the concrete, the chairs, and pounding my heart. Very uncomfortable. This effect was way worse during Little Big Town's opening act. All the other reviewers' comments about nightmare parking, bumper to bumper traffic starting well before the exit off-ramp, and chaos at the entry gate are true. It took us about 1-1/2 hours from the stopped traffic on the highway to one of parking lots. I wouldn't recommend this venue for a concert. If you do go, be sure to get tickets for a real seat and not the lawn.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Urban_Ursine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollister, California
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Bit Pricey”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We went and saw a festival here, the second stage was in the sectioned off cement parking lot....it was hot with the sun coming off the black top and there wasn't a lot of shade or lawn to take recluse in...

The security at the gate made us take the lids off our water bottles due to security issues, but if you bought water form inside the venues, you were handed a bottle with a lid.

The amphitheater was clean and the bathrooms were orderly. And there were enough stalls for everyone.

Beer was expensive, and food was WAY overpriced.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AmyJune H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“TRAFFIC!!!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

SUCH A BUMMER! Took us longer to get into the venue than the actual concert we were trying to attend.:(...& this was allowing a what should of been a 15 minute drive that ended up taking 2 hrs to get into Shoreline!!! Its been like 10 yrs since I've been to Shoreline, but something is wrong with this picture!?! I get a bit of traffic happens with big concerts, but What happened?!? They have to have figured out how to move traffic by now???? serious bummer. Some folks around us walked in during the last 3 songs:(:(:(

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HR V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shoreline Amphitheatre also viewed

 

Been to Shoreline Amphitheatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing