We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best Italians in town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Don Giovanni

Ristorante Don Giovanni
Reserve with OpenTable
Ristorante Don Giovanni is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 327 Restaurants in Mountain View
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Villa
Transit: One block from Downtown Mountain View Caltrain and Light Rail station. VTA bus lines 34, 35, 51 and 52 stop at the Villa and Castro intersection.
Description: Ristorante Don Giovanni welcomes you to enjoy authentic Italian cuisine on Castro Street in Mountain View, California. The warm and inviting atmosphere complimented by the Italian decor, makes this the place to celebrate any special occasion, romantic dinner, or just a simple home cooked Italian meal. Lunch and dinner menus include: Antipasti, Insalate & Minestre, Pasta, Rotisserie, Panini, and Fish along with an extensive Wine list and Full bar. Let Ristorante Don Giovanni provide you with excellent service and facility for your next event. We offer custom tailored menus that are just right for your breakfast, brunch, lunch, and/or dinner needs. Our facility can provide: TV * VCR * PA SYSTEM WITH MICROPHONES * POWER POINT * OVERHEAD PROJECTOR * WIRELESS MICROPHONE * FLIP CHART STAND/PADS/MARKERS * DIRECT PHONE LINES AND INTERNET ACCESS * MOTEL AND TRANSPORTATION ACCOMMODATIONS
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“One of the best Italians in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I can't say "the best" since I haven't been to all of them, but Don Giovanni is very good. An extensive selection of Italian food, including a lot of seafood, and a good wine list. Nice ambiente and the waiters seemed pretty authentic, too. I had the caprese folowed by pesto penne, the quality was very good but not really mind-blowing. Nevertheless I will certainly come again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    33
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Downtown Favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I love this place. Waiters are charming, good bar, great food. It is a great date restaurant. Call and make a reservation for a booth. It's more romantic. There are always 2 or 3 specials every night. A fish, a meat, and a pasta dish. One time I had a swordfish that was slightly tough, I mentioned it and the waiter whisked it away and brought me their delicious salmon instead. Very nice, no charge. I am always about the creme bruleé and theirs is excellent. You will not be disappointed by any of the pasta dishes. Afterwards walk a couple doors down and get a gelato! too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This restaurant was open on Christmas evening and we had a reservation. The place was getting very crowded but there were 3 tables near us that became occupied after we arrived. All three of these tables had been served their meals, they were finished and paying their bills before we got our food. Every time we tried to get the attention of our waiter he waved us off and said, "Soon." Two of the four in our group ordered the beef filet special of the evening and the other two ordered pasta, nothing that should have required extra time. It took 60 minutes from the time we ordered to the time we were served. Both steaks were ordered medium rare and came out well-done, they were taken back and brought out again and they were cold and purple in the middle. This is when the manager became involved and he brought out perfectly grilled steaks, unfortunately the two of us who had ordered pasta were completely finished eating when the steaks arrived. We ate in shifts. They kept saying they were busy but if you are going to be one of a few nice restaurants opened Christmas evening and you have reservations booked for the entire night, you should have more help or you should have taken less reservations. They gave us a free dessert, it wasn't worth it. Also, at the next table a couple had two young children who were each allowed to watch different movies on their iPads without ear buds. Having to listen to Dora the Explorer during a nice meal is rude. When our children were young we had family conversations at restaurants. What is wrong with parents today? I know this restaurant has good food but the service was nonexistent on this visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Loved this place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Where to go to dine out on Christmas Day...Don Giovanni's. They were sooo busy and by no means was the quality skimped upon. Our waitress was cheerful and gave us the heads up that the kitchen was running slow due to the multitude of diners (greatly appreciated). Everything that came to our table of 6 was excellent. From the bread to the wine and the delicious food, not one complaint. The perfect choice for dining out on Christmas. Can't wait to go back again soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maggiesebastian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Very Busy Christmas Dinner - But Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We had a reservation & were seated immediately. The waitress came right away & alerted us to the fact that they were overwhelmed and our food would NOT be served in a timely fashion. So at least we were warned.

Our wine arrived. After quite awhile I asked for some bread - she was really embarrassed to say they had run out of bread. But said she would try to get them to at least hurry with our appetizers.

Not too long after, the appetizers arrived - along with some nice warm bread. We shared the carpaccio and the "Greek" salad - both were quite nice.

It was still quite some time until our entrees arrived. Everyone kept thanking us for our patience.

My husband ordered mussels as an entree - they were quite small - which he considers more succulent. I had the pesto - but over capellini - which was okay.

Unfortunately, by this time we had lost a lot of our appetite - and I could only eat about half.

The staff were pleasant, the food was fine, and we will probably go back in the future - just not on Christmas Day!! (BTW, they said they had been this busy last Christmas - one would think they would learn!)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Don Giovanni also viewed

 
Mountain View, CA
 
Mountain View, CA
 

Been to Ristorante Don Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing