We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Mountain View
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Stayed there for one night for an interview in Mountain View.
The place claims of "High-speed Free Internet", but it proably was not fast enough to allow my gmail to open let alone google maps etc. etc.
The staff could not help me much in this regard, result being I had to sit on Cafe's at Castro Street to avail the free wifi !!
The room was clean though!
They do not have any reception/ loby area as such.
The mcrowave in my room was non-fucntional.
They had those soap/lotion dispensers instead of small samples. It turned out, they had filled soap in one of the lotion dispensers which I hated the most!!!!
No gym etc.
Its good to keep the expectations low !

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niks03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn Mountain View
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2013

The rooms were clean. The location is convenient to everything in the area. Used them for a last minute trip to San Jose and most every other was booked. With advance planning, I'd be less likely to stay here again. Again, not dirty, not too noisy being on El Camino, but I've stayed in Hampton Inns across the country at a fraction of the price and those locations were considerably better than this hotel.

Room Tip: Register online, I think I was able to get a coupon somewhere for this hotel
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FritziinTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Was in town for work purposes, needed two nights and was cheapest I could find in area because I was on my own dime. Figured the $99 rate was decent for area but would probably pay more next time for better room. Staff was nice and I'm sure they work hard but need to pay more attention to detail. Parking lot well lit with security cameras. Room appeared clean until I had time to notice some things like the extra security door lock was broken off. If it's not needed remove it or repair it just don't leave it broken. The small table next to the bed was mostly broken. I sat down to eat some take out and when I put my arms on the table it tilted towards me almost causing my items to slide off onto my lap. I looked underneath to find the mount was mostly cracked. I also noticed a huge bloody buger on the base of the same table..... Almost made me lose my dinner. Found a dime size old blood stain on the carpet between the vanity and the bathroom door. I would have asked for another room but a sign on the counter when I checked in said they were full. Since I was there alone and only there 2 nights, I just lived with it but told the clerk at the counter on check out. He did not have a name tag so I don't know his name, he shook his head like he heard me but didn't seem to be too concerned. Acted like he didn't speak English very well but communicated fine with me when I first checked in. Otherwise room was fine.

Room Tip: Check room for cleanliness details before unloading car.....
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank champ1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed there because my husband has a summit pretty close in the area.
The service is Ok the only thing that I dislike is that in the 2 rooms that we had, one has a broken coffee machine and the other one the microwave. I called to report this and during the days that we stayed that was'nt fixed.
Also in the second room (that was far from the reception) the internet signal was just awful, it did'nt work at all, we mentioned this at the reception too and it wasnt fixed either.
My point is, if you are paying for something and it´s average, the good things looses their value and the bad stand out, I wouldnt mentioned all the flaws if the people there just care a little to change a simple coffee machine or checked for the internet.
I think service is not one of the chain priorities.

Room Tip: close to the reception!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Triptips_SCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

Rooms were OK, beds and pillows were low grade but manageable. Service was not so great. We asked for a few extra pillows and we are STILL waiting to get them.

Breakfast was a joke. Stale wrapped pastries (if you can call them that). Old coffee and a juice option.

Probably won't go back

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viper19692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Have to say I have just returned to the UK after a 6 nights stay in this hotel. The quality for the price is good. Room was clean, bed was extremely comfortable, better than most in UK hotels which I use on a regular basis. Room maybe a bit cramped but only because of fridge ,microwave large television and table and 2 chairs as well as large bed. Yes sometimes hard to get attendant at desk but they always came eventually. Ideally situated close to all amenities in Mountain view. Would recommend as a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEpsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This is listed as a business friendly hotel... Well when you pull up at 9pm you will notice there is not a lobby - rather a door bell and a window. This is a terrible first impression of a "business friendly hotel". Then with serious language barrier and a thick piece of glass between us- we (my co worker and I - 2 separate rooms) were given 2 keys and decided we would look at a room and decide if we were staying- well we opened the door to the first room to find someone sleeping in the bed! Again, not truly a business friendly hotel! We returned to the door bell and window- to finally get rooms without company. The rooms arent as bad as the outside or the door bell or the guy behind the glass. However the light in the bathroom flashed all night! Old tube tvs and small. "Free cont. breakfast" LOL.. No coffee, and wrapped pastries which I think date back to the 70s. Never again!

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BiotechCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvimilpitas, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mountain View, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Thank you for posting your review we appreciate your business. Although we are in a very good area we do still use a night window after 10:00pm for the safety and security of our employees. We apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced while a guest at our Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mountain View hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#6 of 18 in Mountain View
324 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.3 mi away
Mountain View Inn
Mountain View Inn
#10 of 18 in Mountain View
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Strata
Hotel Strata
#1 of 18 in Mountain View
395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mountain View - S Palo Alto
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
#3 of 18 in Mountain View
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Mountain View

Address: 1012 West El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040
Region: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Price Range: £82 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn Mountain View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Mountain View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing