We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed Shiva”

Shiva's Indian Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #47 of 328 Restaurants in Mountain View
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Castro St.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed Shiva”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I am not very knowledgeable about Indian food, but I always enjoy it when I have had it, from now on I hope to become an expert by visiting Shiva over and over until I understand the dishes.

The service was great, I always enjoy fine dining and Shiva definitely offers a fine dining experience. The offer beer wind and cocktails, (I started with a Sapphire martini). Our server was helpful when we were ordering, and we ended up with a vegetarian stuffed potato dish in sauce and a chicken dish in sauce, saffron rice (amazing) and naan, also very good. This was ample food for my BF and I, but you should note we are mature and can't eat as much as we once could.

The atmosphere was lovely, the background music delightful, and they also offer Indian beer. I had the Kingfisher lager which was very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    34
    20
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

After a bad experience on another indian restaurant on same strip, we decided to try out food at Shiva's. Again this place is costly compare to other indian food joints but they score well on Service, food quality. We had Tandoori chicken, Chicken Tikka Masala, Palak Panner, Biryani, and Naans and everything was good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Manodeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bay area
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great family Indian restaurant with a fantastic buffet”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

It can be hard to find a good Indian buffet on the weekends, especially one that's kid friendly. This place has it all, great selection, good food, and reasonable pricing. Only drawback is that's its quite a drive from where I live. I've eaten at lots of Indian restaurants but this one always offers new stuff to try especially when it comes to desserts!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happycamper401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Very good Indian, among strong competition”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We've been here several times - we think it's the best of the Castro St. Indian offerings, at least so far. The food is very good, spice levels are as requested, and the service is inconsistent. We've had 5 star service, and 2 star service - that'd be our suggestion.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food but poor service”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Food is good as well as the ambience.but we felt the service is not up to the mark especially on weekends .we had to wait 15 min just for our glasses refilled with water.Then had to wait another 15 min for salt n pepper.its always better to call ahead n reserve place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TandonSap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shiva's Indian Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Mountain View, CA
Mountain View, CA
 
Mountain View, CA
 

Been to Shiva's Indian Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing