We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped breakfast room, service just adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Palo Alto Mountain View
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cramped breakfast room, service just adequate”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel was our last stop on a family trip to California, we used it as a gateway to San Francisco. Since this hotel was the third Residence Inn of a 12 day trip, we really got the feel of a "low end" property.

For people who have stayed at a Residence Inn, most things such as room decor, amenities and breakfast are standardized, but how they are presented and delivered is what makes the difference! Things in this place just didn't flow how they were supposed to. The breakfast area was cramped, yes there is extra space upstairs, but I didn't dare negotiate the steep staircase with my hot cup of coffee and cereal on a tray! I applaud the environmentally responsible thing, but not when there are not enough clean dishes to serve all your guests.

In every other hotel on our trip, staff asked us if there is anything they can get for us - at this hotel we had to find staff and ask them for things which should have been provided. One item I enjoy personally is the complementary daily newspaper, which every other Residence Inn had seven days per week - when I asked for one here, I was told that they don't pay for delivery of the Sunday newspaper. Not a major problem, but it served to underscore the "vibe" of the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AK4700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtnView_ResidenceInn, Manager at Residence Inn Palo Alto Mountain View, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hello AK4700,

It is our pleasure to have accommodated your family travel suites on your San Francisco Trip Getaway! I am glad to hear that you are an avid valued traveler with the Marriott Residence Inn brand as you mention that it was the 3rd one on your family trip! I hope that you were able to accumulate Marriott Rewards Points for your stays! It disheartens me to hear that you felt Residence Inn Mountain View was not up to par as the other hotels throughout your stay.

The Residence Inn Mountain View has lots of room for improvements and I am delighted to say that a Gatehouse Lobby Renovation is in our future. It is imperative that we help our guests feel welcomed in our lobby and make up for the smaller size area. Unfortunately the USA Today Newspaper only provides select weekend newspapers and Wallstreet Journal does not provide weekend newspapers. Our employees are the gems of the hotel and every department strives to enhance guest stays. We ensure growth and improvements, and hope that you and your family will be out for another getaway to give Mountain View a redeeming chance. Thank you very much for your honest review as we can only improve.

Best Regards,

Amy Miyashita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    58
    30
    11
    10
See reviews for
44
11
6
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I don't like this hotel overall. I don't find it comfortable for their prise. It's old and very outdated to the point that things are not working in this hotel.

Very noisy from the street and from A/C outside of each floor unit. Alarm goes on from the bathroom steam. Old small kitchen appliances. Brocken coffee machine.
Room cleaning could be much better.
Small swimming pool facing the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aforp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtnView_ResidenceInn, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Palo Alto Mountain View, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear aforp,

I would first like to thank you for choosing the Residence Inn in Mountain View for your travel accommodations. I am disheartened to hear that our services and hotel were not at best for you, our valued customer and guest. The suites are intended to be your "home away from home" and we value each stay with us. I want to thank you very much for your TripAdvisor review, honest feedback on what we can do to improve our guests’ stays are priceless. The broken coffee pot and cleanliness of your suite is highly important to us and your experience, improving these things to enhance guest visits is the goal of Marriott. Hearing these improvements straight from our guests is how we are going to improve your next stay and future stays for other guests.

Best Regards,

Andrea Brito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mountain View hotels

Kearney, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

As a woman who travels on business every week, safety is important. This hotel is nice, but it's one of the Residence Inns that is more apartment-like than hotel. I made a mistake when booking this, I usually check things like this out. Being "safe" (or neurotic), I checked the sliding glass doors which had a bar, but they were also not opening up to ground. Checked the window next and it slid right up, could not get it to lock with all my might! Could lift it up from the outside, right outside my door. The door has to be leaned on heavily to dead-bolt. Management tried- 2 times a maintenance guy. Then they said no rooms available (correct- no rooms within 45 min.!!!) and then produced some "bolts" that I accepted on the windows. Replace these windows, Marriott. Important to a girl like me!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtnView_ResidenceInn, General Manager at Residence Inn Palo Alto Mountain View, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Gina,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I appreciate the feedback that you provided us. There is always room for improvement and I thank you for bringing your encounter to light. I will make it a priority to ensure all the windows are thoroughly checked and if any have been damaged, are promptly replaced. Your security along with all our other guests is of the utmost imprtance.

Best Regards,
Andrea Brito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We were part of a group that stayed here for a collegiate competition at Stanford. The location was perfect - although if you didn't see the sign from the road you would have missed it - tight turn in to the parking lot. The staff was very friendly. We enjoyed the breakfast - although the room did seem a bit small for a large group of people. We loved our room - it was clean and our location was quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms in the center of the complex away from the road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaJ0585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtnView_ResidenceInn, General Manager at Residence Inn Palo Alto Mountain View, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Andrea,
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review the Residence Inn Mountain View. We were honored to accomodate your Group! I know our Gatehouse is on the quaint side and I hope the next time we accommodate your group, we can offer more seating in our breakfast seating upstairs or (my favorite) near the pool. Thank you again and good luck on the next competition!

Sincerest Regards,
Andrea Brito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We checked in around 3 PM. The room didn't have a working airco. So after some complaining they switched rooms. The room was dark, very little light (you have to get the upstairs rooms here). Although the airco worked, it leaked onto the carpet so every time you walked to the bathroom you walked through soaking wet carpet, and there was an odor of mildew. Desk staff was less than pleasant and not at all accommodating. Would not stay there ever again.

Room Tip: Only stay if you can get an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtnView_ResidenceInn, General Manager at Residence Inn Palo Alto Mountain View, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Susan,
I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I understand that your stay was not up to your expectations. While we try to make every room perfect for our guest's arrival, there are times when things go wrong. And for this, I am truly sorry. If you could please email me at mountainviewgm@ih-corp.com, I would love the chance to make your "not-so-perfect" experience, better.

Thank you again and I look forward to hearing from you.

Best,
Andrea Brito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Overall a very good experiece. I was there for almost 3 months, it felt like home away from home. Amazing and helpful people and the offerings were just amazing. The location of the place was just perfect too, got real good experience with all the good restaurants around in the area.

Room Tip: Chose the rooms which are not on the main road, there is noise on the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepak2614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtnView_ResidenceInn, General Manager at Residence Inn Palo Alto Mountain View, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Deepak,
Thank you for kind words. I am extremely excited to hear that your experience was a great one. When being in a hotel for 3 months, you are able to get to know the great staff that we have here. And our guests are what make our day, every day.

Thank you for being our guest and I hope we can accomodate you again on youre next travels to the area.

Best,
Andrea Brito
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I had travelled to PA last September and stayed at this hotel with last minute booking as the hotel is usually busy during this part of the year. I stayed for a period of 2 months and my stay was very nice, The hotel people had given me rooms closer to the entrance but a peaceful section as my stay was long. I liked the room service with attention to minute details. Evening snacks thrice a week was very nice, but closed a bit early too.
Since I am a partial non-vegetarian I would appreciate if the breakfast included more items in vegetarian.

Room Tip: Buildings 2-4 are best according to me near to the entrance but less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nayak7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtnView_ResidenceInn, General Manager at Residence Inn Palo Alto Mountain View, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Hello Nayak,
I want to thank you for taking the time to review the Residence Inn Mountain View. I am very happy to hear that your stay was pleasant for the 2 months that you were our guest. I would love the opportunity to accommodate you again on your next travels to Palo Alto / Mountain View area. We have had many concerns about the vegetarian options, so please know that we have incorporated more items that add more variety. Hopefully you will be back to enjoy!

Thank you again for being our guest,
Andrea Brito
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#5 of 18 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Strata
Hotel Strata
#1 of 18 in Mountain View
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mountain View - S Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mountain View
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Palo Alto Los Altos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Palo Alto Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Palo Alto Mountain View

Property: Residence Inn Palo Alto Mountain View
Address: 1854 W El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040-2356
Region: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Palo Alto Mountain View 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Palo Alto Mountain View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Palo Alto Mountain View Hotel Mountain View
Mountain View Residence Inn
Residence Inn Mountain View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing