We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried 3 times, each worst than the last!”
Review of County Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
County Inn
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Reviewed 10 September 2012

First time they couldn't find my reservation, no room. Second time they charged my credit card twice and it took months to get money refunded (the room was ok). Third time bait and switch, as the owners have another dumpy motel a few miles away and tried to have us stay there (there was no way we were staying there), I never did get my first nights $ refunded. Plus this same tactic happened with others I know. The owners and workers were awful in the way they treated us. You may ask why try three times. They are close to where I needd to be, and I hoped the first two times were just mistakes, but NO, Just don't do it!!!! I would sleep in my car before entering their doors again...

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ckshah, Manager at County Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Th.ank you for your input. We have had our share of interface problems with OTA/GDS interface problem with the property management system. We are working on it very diligently with all the vendors involved. The property gets overbooked even though the channels are closed. We have hired reputable revenue management firm to help. Please book directly with the hotel and you will not have this problem until we solve interface issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

Do NOT stay here at this Motel. The Front Desk Personnel (all men) treated me like a second class citizen. I guess that in the country that these men are from that is the norm. My first room had a musty/moldy smell to it, so the folllowing morning I asked to switch rooms. My TV was broken in that it was not able to access any Premium TV stations or any Premium Movies, (it was never fixed). There were NO bedspreads on either bed in my second room, and when I asked for bedspreads, the hotel front desk personnel (again, a man) yelled at me in front of a guest standing in line at the front desk. There was used furniture haphazardly placed (I guess in storage) outside of my motel room piled on top of each other for days, it looked trashy. The walls/floorboards were so thin that I could hear and feel the footsteps of the guests on the 2nd floor above me who kept me up several nights during my stay. If it wasn't for the fact that the reservation was prepaid upfront, I would have checked out immediately and asked for a refund. Spend a few extra dollars and stay elsewhere, you will be happy that you did!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank petsitter711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ckshah, Manager at County Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

I regret the fact that you were not treated the way you expected. I have discussed your input with the staff. We have added a female employee on the staff, Since this area is a melting pot of different natiotionalities the customs and culture are different. However basic values are the same.
I promise you that we will try very hard tofollow your suggetions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The pictures of the hotel make it look very cute, although pictures can be deceiving. The area surrounding the hotel was very disturbing, probably not in the nicest area.
When arriving on 8/12 the front desk reception was very rude. We entered the room the smell was moldy, the carpet was sticky and the toilet was not clean. I called the front desk to see if they had another room and they said they were fully booked, I then asked if housekeeping could clean the bathroom and he said housekeeping were gone for the day. So needless to say I couldn’t stay in filth. They would not refund the night stay since it already passed the 24 hour cancellation policy. Go figure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ckshah, Manager at County Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Thank you so much for your input. The area has suffered from prolonged economic slump. Couple of busiinesses have closed near the hotel. However the Gas station is reopening. Houses around the hotel are single family home and there are some apartment buildings. we are right across from NASA Ames research center and Google has occupied several buildings. I apologize that your room was not cleaned. The front desk made an error renting a room that was supposedly vacant dirty. Please let me know and I will refund your money immediately. Once again We are very sorry for this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stay here when we come to visit our children in the area. It is very reasonable in comparison to all others in the area. It is easy to get to because it is just off Hwy 101. We often see people from Europe staying there. Our room has always been clean when we have stayed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ckshah, General Manager at County Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you for your kind compliments. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We have stayed here every time we've gone to a concert at the Shoreline Ampitheater--about 6 times, so this review is based on more than a random, one-night stay.

It is always our first choice when staying anywhere in the area, and we stay elsewhere only if this one is sold out.

It is one of the closest motels to the Shoreline, and very convenient.

On every stay, the staff has always been very friendly and helpful (this last time, even helping us when we came in at 1:30am, with making up an icepack for one of our party who had an injury from the mosh pit!). It's independently owned and not part of a chain, which I think makes the staff really care about their guests' experience.

I see in other reviews that people have had problems with reservations make through third-party sites (Booking.com, kayak.com, etc.). We have always booked directly, and have never had the slightest problem with reservations.

I see a few reviewers have complained about condition, etc.. Well, no, it's not a Hyatt Regency, so if that's the kind of place you're expecting, yes, look for someplace else. This is just a great, basic motel, in a perfect location, at a great price!

Room Tip: All the rooms we've ever stayed in, throughout the property, have been fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ckshah, General Manager at County Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you so much for your returned loyalty, we are glad you enjoy our location and how close it is to the Shoreline Amphitheater. See you when you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I will never. One back this room sucks they almost called the cops on me I had done nothing.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blazenbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ckshah, Manager at County Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

We regret you did not enjoy your lodging experience at our facility. Thank you for sharing your views and comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Booked this room through Booking.com. Will never do that again. Booked for 2 nights and after entering our room realized one night would be enough. Beer bottle caps stuck to the ceiling, stains on the floor and a funky odor. Called booking.com to cancel and they in turn called the on site manager. He was told there was nothing he could do since they had already paid for the two nights. The owner showed up and saw our room and said he could put us in another room but could not refund us for the room. I told him I would write a negative review. Anyways be careful when booking through a site not directly connected to the hotel. I learned my lesson. Also the pictures on the Internet of course made the rooms look good.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jratigan97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ckshah, General Manager at County Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

This guest was checked in the room that was put out of order by mistake. Over the weekend lots of local University graduates and their family had checked into the hotel and it was hectic and hotel staff had their hands full. We regret the fact that our valued guest was given this room. When the guest informed us about the room we immediately gave him another room that was acceptable to him. The guest had problem with his reservation also which he had to take up with the booking OTA agency. We apreciate the comment andwill try very hard to be perfect in our imperfect way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mountain View hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#6 of 18 in Mountain View
331 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Zico
Hotel Zico
#3 of 18 in Mountain View
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites At NASA Ames
2.2 mi away
Mountain View Inn
Mountain View Inn
#11 of 18 in Mountain View
222 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mountain View - S Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Inn

Address: 850 Leong Dr, Mountain View, CA 94043-2062
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Price Range: £68 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — County Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your County Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Mountain View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing