We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Satsuma Restaurant

Satsuma Restaurant
Ranked #56 of 326 Restaurants in Mountain View
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
149 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

I love sushi but can be pretty picky. This was a great place. First suggestion, sit at the bar. Service is super fast - even before I finished my soup my sushi was ready and the sushi chefs are very entertaining. I started with sake sashimi - there were 4 cuts almost a half inch thick. Then I had the ebi crunchy roll and tthe Hawaiian roll - tuna and avocado. The ebi is oddly both crunchy and smooth - shrimp tempura with avocado and tuna (yes I like both tuna and avocado). The price is not out of this world - typical fresh sushi prices.

Helpful?
1 Thank Omni99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    18
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Our go-to sushi restaurant for 7 years”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We've gone to Satsuma 1-2 times per month for the past 7 years. It is consistently good and fresh. We've had sushi of all types, teriyaki dishes, udon and plenty of combination dinners. The service is usually pretty decent. They also have an all-you-can-eat deal on Sunday nights if you want to gorge yourself on sushi (you pick from a preset list of about 15 types).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cac258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I lived in the bay area for a few years but left about 2 years ago. I was back recently on a business trip and decided to go back to Satsuma for dinner.

I was not disappointed at all. I ordered the 3-piece bento set and selected the Salmon Terriyaki, Hamachi sashimi and Chicken Katsu. It was as good as I had tasted it. And the salad (complimentary with the bento set) was as good as I had remembered with its signature salad topping.

I will definitely go back there again the next time I am in the Bay Area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Woon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Great sushi, very fresh, service can be a little slow, but the food is worth the wait. Very nice place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A popular place for a good reason”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Across from the Hilton Garden Inn, so it's convenient. If you like Sushi, or Rolls or just Chicken Teriyaki, this place is a great, convenient location, lunch or dinner place. Note, they close in the middle of the day, and reopen at 5:00 for Dinner. The outside of the place isn't that attractive, nor the inside, but the food makes up for it. I walked in at 5:01, and by 5:30 the sushi bar was half packed with what appeared to be folks who had been there before. Good size portions too. Enjoy

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Satsuma Restaurant also viewed

Mountain View, CA
 
Mountain View, CA
Mountain View, CA
 

Been to Satsuma Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing