We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step Back In Time”
Review of Dunbar House, 1880

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunbar House, 1880
Ranked #3 of 4 Murphys B&B and Inns
Honolulu
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Step Back In Time”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Entering Dunbar House is like being transported to the 1880s, except for the great wifi, TV/DVD, fridge, jacuzzi and keurig coffee maker in your room.

PLUS
Meeting the other guests at breakfast... nice people stay here :)
It is NEAR Main St. but not ON Main St. which is noisy at night
Beautiful garden
Rich's nightly fires in the parlor

MINUS
Not a lot to do in Murphys if you are not a fan of wine tasting
Expensive
Room is a bit cluttered with froufrou

THING TO DO
Eat at Grounds
Visit Brice Station Winery
Drive/hike at Calaveras Big Trees State Park
Visit Angle's Camp

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    10
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
63
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had a great trip to Murphys for our anniversary, and really enjoyed the hospitality at Dunbar House. We will definitely go back. The room was very "B&B" with a lot of gold-rush-era touches, yet still quiet and with modern conveniences. Breakfasts were very tasty and exceptionally well presented. Our host and her staff were very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: The Ponderosa room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cloverdale, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I spent one night at the Dunbar House on our way to Lake Tahoe. We were delighted with our stay at this historical B&B. We stayed in the Sequoia Room and had the porch all to ourselves. The refrigerator was stocked with a bottle of local wine, beer, water and appetizers. The bedroom was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We slept very well on the "angel" bed, as the hostess called it. The breakfast was a work of art, and delicious! I highly recommend staying at this charming B&B when you are traveling in the gold country!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mokena, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My husband and I decide to stay at our first ever B&B on one of the days of our honeymoon. Not knowing what to expect, we were pleasantly surprised at how at HOME we felt. Everyone on staff made us feel so very welcome. From the moment we walked into the front door, while we sat outside on the porch and drank wine all night, or in the most comfortable bed ever- we have never felt more relaxed. Our exquisite breakfast on our own private balcony overlooking the garden was more than words can describe. The beautiful grounds and surroundings made for some great pictures. Located in the heart of town, we loved how everything was in walking distance. Rich and Arline thank you so much for making our stay a memorable one, we WILL be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffern, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Made my yearly visit to Dunbar House. I was delighted to see the upgrades: the Keurig coffee machine in my room! And what could be better---reading on the Kindle they provided while relaxing in the hammock in their beautiful garden! Heaven! I also loved the newly remodeled dining room and the new linens on the bed. I am privileged to say that Arline, the owner, asked me to taste test some new breakfast recipes. Yum! Yum! I am looking forward to coming back again next year.

Room Tip: They are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cts10956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We just returned from our second stay at Dunbar House; it was even better the second time. Arline and Rich are dedicated and gracious hosts. The Cedar room is terrific with its private porch and deck. The daily complimentary wine, appetizers, and cookies are a nice touch. And, the free tickets to the sold out Saturday night concert were a special treat. The grounds are lushly landscaped and provide a wonderful setting for morning breakfast on the patio or deck. The award winning chef creates delicious breakfasts presented very creatively. The Inn is about a 1/4 block from Main St, right in the middle of dozens of shops, wine tasting rooms and restaurants (none of which you hear at night because the town shuts down about 8:00) - perfect place for a quiet, romantic getaway.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agoura Hills
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Beautiful gardens, location couldn't be better, generous daily treats of local wine bottle, water bottles, freshly made cookies, light o'dourves. Breakfast was unbelievably romantic in the gardens, presentation a work of art with fruit, berries, egg soufflé, pastry. We have two criticisms: we stayed two nights and our room was not made during out stay, and the shower is too small and cramped. We still highly recommend this place and will stay there again if we ever come back to the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngParm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunbarHouse, Owner at Dunbar House, 1880, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
I am so sorry; it seems that we may have had an unintentional miscommunication which resulted in your dissatisfaction of how your room was attended.

Upon check-in, I always encourage guests to let me know if there is anything that we can do to make their stay more enjoyable, and to let us know if there are any problems that need to be addressed. I also let them know that housekeeping will be making-over their room while they are enjoying their breakfast. We make notes on our guest card if a guest does not want their room made-over, or inform us that they will call us later, if & when they want the room made over. If housekeeping sees that there is a “Do Not Disturb” sign hanging on the guests’ door, we will always knock and follow up with a phone call, but will respect our guests’ wishes and not enter the room as long as that sign is on the door.

Guest privacy is sacred, and we take it seriously.

I appreciate your thoughtful comments as it gives me an opportunity to step up to our guests expectations of excellence. I look forward to welcoming you into our home once again.

Arline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphys
0.4 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
209 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
11.1 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
221 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Historic Hotel Leger
The Historic Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
157 reviews
13.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunbar House, 1880? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunbar House, 1880

Property: Dunbar House, 1880
Address: 271 Jones St, Murphys, CA 95247
Region: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Murphys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AAA 4 diamond B&B has 5 cozy Victorian King or Queen guest rooms with private bath/showers. Cedar & Sequoia each have a 2 person Jacuzzi, and in-room or private patio dining. Each room has a Norwegian gas burning stove, Direct TV, flat screen TV with an available DVD collection, personal amenities, and a private refrigerator provisioned with bottled water & beer, appetizer plate and a complimentary bottle of local wine. Fresh baked cookies daily. Enjoy our full country breakfast in our charming dining room or in our beautiful gardens. Plan your romantic getaway today! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing